We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #71 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed July 20, 2007

This was my first visit to the Omni Shoreham and I would definitely return. The rooms are very large, clean, and quiet. The bathroom, while not large, was comfortable with everything in good working order. We had a large walk-in closet which could have accommodated a large family's luggage. By joining the Omni's Select membership club (free) one receives not only free wireless internet access, but also free coffee, tea, and/or juice delivered daily. An additional charge of $2.50 is added for a bagel, muffin or toast (a much cheaper alternative to many similar hotels). The hotel is located in Woodley Park with several restaurants within a two block radius. A Metro stop is one block away. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our only negative while staying there was that the restaurant staff were inattentive and the food so-so. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelingTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,471 - 6,477 of 7,034 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

I stay at this Omni at least twice a year, for different events. Stayed here with children and without. I would not recommend paying over $125.00 for the room, call me cheap but they offer too many great deals to pay much more than that. Love this hotel for our annual trip to the ZOO. The Zoo is in walking distance for a four year old child. The Zoo it self is a beast for a small child to walk so bring a wagon. CVS near by for any small personal/medical needs, came in handy when the little got sick. McDonald's also right there, quick and easy food for the little's. Can not miss out on the $5.00 martinis and veggie pasta at the resturant around the corner. Great adult nightlife across the bridge.

The room is a nice size. Someone complained about the small sink with no countertop (there are other ways to work that out). staff has always been very accomdating to me. I like a room with a balcony when I don't have the kids and they are always able to fullfill my request. Also someone mentioned WiFi not being free, i personally have never had to pay for internet service while staying at the hotel. The pool is shallow, great if you are traveling with children, adults may wish they could go deeper. I have a great time with the children in the outdoor pool. I do wish they had an indoor pool and hot tub for the winter months.

My only real complaint would be the elevators, after three years of stay I still can't figure it out. You have multitple elevators that take you to different places and the two main hotel elevators are very small.

Sign up with omni before you stay, this way you will be assured to have a waiting room of your liking.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stayed for 109.xx for the evening and thought the hotel was spectacular. The charm is in the age of the hotel and it's grandeur -from the chandeliers to the carpets, from the small wood paneled elevators to the glass handled door knobs in the room that speak of another time. We ate on the terrace overlooking incredible gardens. The meal was fabulous. We opted for the Special Menu (Changes countries every 2 months). We so impressed with the pricing and presentation. Fried Green tomatoe appetizer /w cheese - delicous was 5.50. The menu was Mexican and had the grilled flat iron steak with gulf shrimp, rice and beans, and payaya and melon relish. $18.00. Parking is pricey at 23.00 for self park 28.00 for valet. Staff was friendly (thought not Southern charm friendly). We will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathyfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

I stayed at the Omni June 28 and 29 with my two boys, ages 11 and 13. I had earned a travel voucher through my sales job and selected the Omni from a very limited number of DC hotels listed in their brochure. I chose it because it looked nice and it was close to a Metro stop. The cost was free to me. I looked into staying an additional night, but: 1) They had no rooms available for the third night, and 2) If they had, the going rate was between $300 and $400. OUCH!

Upon arriving, we were very impressed by the gorgeous lobby. Beautiful marble floors, crystal chandeliers and floral arrangements. Doormen were welcoming and friendly. Check in was very smooth. Our room was ready, even though we were a little early (2pm). The room was pretty standard. Not as opulant as the lobby, but very nice. The biggest plus-factor was the size...a good 4-5 feet longer than a basic room you might be used to. There was a walk-in closet at one end and a makeup/dressing room outside the bathroom. The two Queen size beds were very comfy.

The bathroom was done in marble with a pedistal sink. Glass shelves over the sink and toilet made up for not having vanity space. There was a window in the shower, covered by faux wood blinds. Very clean...no mold or icky grout.

The room also featured a balcony (4th floor) accessed by a door (not a sliding glass door, just a single French door). Judging from the exterior, there are not a lot of balcony rooms.

The carpet was in pretty good shape, bedspreads a little worse for wear and the upholstered chair was faded and a little stained. They appear to be renovating little by little...our balcony overlooked several large dumpsters holding rolled up carpet and chairs that looked like our stained one!

The location could not be beat.... we had easy access to the Metro (Adams-Morgan/Zoo stop) and it was a short walk to the Zoo. There are lots of restaurants around, including a 24-hour McDonald's and a WONDERFUL cafe/diner called Open City. We ate breakfast there both mornings.

We did not eat in the hotel, due to the price, but the restaurant looked pretty. We wanted to order pizza delivered to the room one night, and the concierge happily provided the names of local places that would deliver.

We also used the pool and hot tub, which were well-maintainted and attractively landscaped.

The staff was very pleasant and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again, but it is not worth the standard rates. I would highly recommend this hotel if you can get it for around $150 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Booked this hotel through Priceline (bid $85) for a last minute stay in DC overnight after a play. We literally just stayed there to sleep, and can't comment on many facilities in the hotel. That said, our stay was really excellent--room was extremely comfortable, spacious, and clean. The bed was very comfortable with crisp cotton sheets. Bath had good water pressure and several large, plush towels. And--this the surprise to me--the room was very quiet! There was a huge convention at the hotel while we were there, but we didn't hear a thing in our room, which was only on the second floor. Didn't have any problem with check-in lines as other reviewers have had, but I guess we just lucked out. Valet parking efficient and polite, and worth the price. The neighborhood is very nice also-short block or two away from the metro, near the zoo, etc. Great stay, and we would definitely stay there again at that price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AuntNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

I booked this hotel for our summer vacation in for $120/night, (through Priceline) and then became concerned when i saw such positive and negative reviews on this site. Now that I have stayed there, I think I understand why this property is rated so differently. First and foremost, this is a great hotel, in the best/safest neighborhood in DC (Northwest -- Woodley Park). We felt very safe walking the streets at night. This property is less than 2 blocks from a Metro Rail Station, which is a must in DC, and has several good cheap restaurants within the same 2 blocks (including a McDonalds - think breakfast, and Chipolte - get full for $5.00). You are less than 3 train stops to any of the monuments, museums, or attractions you want to visit. We attended a Sunday service at the National Cathedral (a 30 minute uphill walk from hotel), which I highly recommend, regardless of which faith you are or aren't (we dressed up, but there were several people in jeans/shorts). The hotel is showing it's age, and I would rate the rooms at closer to 3 star, not 4 or 5 star (Think Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn). Which is why I think it gets some negative reviews: If you are paying over $200-300/night for this hotel, or if you see your hotel as a major part of your vacation (like when you go to the beach) , you will be very dissapointed.
If you are paying less than $ 150/night, and can see your hotel as "just the place you sleep and shower" (the attitude you should have for DC), you will love this property. The rooms are large and clean, they are just showing their age (Hotel is celebrating its 76th anniversary this year).

I recommend signing up as an OMNI Select Member (free) before your stay, as this will get you complimentary newspapers and beverages in the morning, and possibly allow for a late check-out time. If this is your first stay in DC, I would not pick any other property, as LOCATION, PRICE, and SAFETY should be your primary concerns when choosing a DC hotel. If you can get this hotel for less than $150/night, your decision is a no-brainer. Only negatives: Pool is only 3 foot deep and is outdoor. This hotel seems to attract an older and/or business clientele; if you have small kids, you might want to choose a different location. If you don't want to be around screaming kids, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank miketeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Very nice looking htoel, Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of DC and the surrounding areas.
Nicely laid out spacious room with a nice view, all was going well until we tried Roberts restuarant attached to the hotel.It was a slow affair and not an impressive menu.I would recommend trying the cafe on the corner aacross the road from the hotel. Otherwise I thought it was a lovely place! If its good enough for the Beatles.....!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Majiktripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#106 of 142 in Washington DC
2,591 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,242 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $113 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing