We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel- Not happy With Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #69 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
United kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Hotel- Not happy With Service”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Went to this hotel for 6 nights, the Hotel could only put us in a smoking room when I informed them I would not be happy with this was told no other rooms available, offered a machine to take the smell away, and then had a member of staff banging on our door at approx 12.20am to take this machine away, advised the staff member to come back in the morning, we then had phone calls and had to get out of bed and dressed to give the machine back not very happy with this but....
The hotel was beautiful, clean and the rooms were very good, but felt a little remote in such a big hotel. the area was good easy for the subway, lots of places to eat
Would we stay ion this hotel again, for the area and price yes, for the rooms yes. for the service and indifference no

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,505
    1,967
    691
    328
    176
See reviews for
1,710
1,201
273
2,858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Dick-Karen's review of June 13, 2010, hit the nail on the head, so I'll keep this brief. My wife, teenage daughter, and I stayed at the Omni Shoreham last week for 6 nights. The big, bustling hotel offers grand public spaces, an excellent outdoor pool, and relatively large, comfortable rooms. The bathroom definitely needed an update, however.

Location: The hotel sits in Woodley Park, which is not particularly close to many of the main D.C. sights other than the zoo. True, the convenient metro is close by, but it would have been nice to walk back to the hotel room for a midday break, or at the beginning/end of the day instead of fighting the metro rush hour (e.g., Dupont Circle). Nevertheless, a fine restaurant, Open City, is across the street from the Omni, and the fun Adams Morgan district is within walking distance.

With a "buy two nights get the third night free" deal, the hotel was an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFogSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and were in town for the zoo and a Nationals baseball game. The location was perfect for the zoo (which we walked to), and there were plenty of cute places to eat on the next block. We especially liked Open City. The pool was fabulous and great for kids. The lobby was lovely! Our room had a balcony, which was really a nice treat!

What I really liked about the hotel were the little touches! Kids get a backpack of little toys and a canteen that can be filled at the restaurant. They even brought a cookie and milk to our daughter on the first night!

There was a diverse crowd staying at the hotel-young people, older couples, families, business people.

We really enjoyed ourselves and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSoxGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here for five nights in September 2009. It's a beautiful hotel and we had a nice room. It's right across the road from the trolley tour stop too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedShoesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Great experience! The location was close to the metro and reasonably priced restaurants. The beds were heavenly. I wish we had more time to enjoy the gorgeous pool and grounds. Fireflies abound in the evening and were a treat to watch. The Shoreham is a beautiful historic hotel that is so comfortable and elegant I would rate it 5 star!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed at the Omni Shoreham with our two teen grandsons for four nights. We chose the Zoo package which was well worth the extra considering the appetites of two teens and the WONDERFUL breakfast buffet that was included in the deal as well as free valet parking. We used the metro, one block away, for our transportation so the car sat snugly in the lot until our departure. The metro ride to the monuments was about 20-- 30 minutes including a transfer at Metro City stop. We also rode the double decker tour bus which stopped one block from the hotel. Sitting on top was fun for all of us and the bus stopped at all of the popular sights including Arlington. The boys (as well as my husband and I) were very impressed with the elegance of the hotel, the pool, exercise room and the little amenities such as milk and cookies in room and plenty of linens, pillows, etc. It is a beautiful old hotel and the room was certainly clean and adequate though we noticed a couple of minor needed repairs (leaky tub faucet, wall trim end cap missing). The small refrigerator in our room was barely cool so our water bottles were not kept as cold as we would have liked. The service was great except when we were leaving and waited almost a half hour for our car to be brought up. Other than the "free" breakfast we found the prices in the restaurant to be prohibitive. However there were several reasonable neighborhood restaurants close by that offered a variety of decent ethnic as well as traditonal American food. There is even a Baskin-Robbins nearby!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

we stayed 5 nights in early june 2010

bullet points

2 min walk to metro giving swift access to the centre

big comfortable rooms

beautiful grounds in the hotel

10 minute walk to the zoo

great bar / retaurant literally just opposite the hotel which is much cheaper than the hotel and was open 0600 - 0200

bottom line is whilst we did not eat or drink at (actually I did buy a 2 teas at the starbucks concession and paid well over the odds, so if you need a coffee walk across the street to the bar / restaurant mentioned above it cost much less) the hotel it ticked all the boxes for a comfortable and convenient base for us. we would stay here again

only downside was having to pay $10 for 15 minutes on the internet which I needed to use and resented A) having to pay for and B) having to pay so much for

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,454 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,160 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing