We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at the OMNI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great time at the OMNI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2005

As soon as we pulled up in the car we were excited about staying. I am a Omni Select guest and I had a coupon for a Free upgrade for a room. I was given a very large one bedroom suite. It has a nice living room with a large table. The door staff at the hotel is great too. I was there on my first trip to DC ever. Every time I came in for the day they asked me how every thing was going for the day. My girlfriend had a 75 min massage given to her at the fitness center and loved it. The pool closes early, at 9 pm. I didnt have a chance to use it. The Metro is very close 2 min walk one block very nice to have close by after a day on the town. The room service was great too. Being a select guest they had free drinks every morning at our door for us with a paper. They have happy hour in the bar at 5 to 7. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPTexan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,249
    1,831
    616
    292
    147
See reviews for
1,503
1,134
260
2,646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2005

I just checked out of the Shoreham. The hotel is splendid, but Robert's restaurant is a ptomaine trap. I had breakfast there on Aug. 3 and have been spending a lot of time on the toilet since then. I'd rate the hotel four stars, but the restaurant should be inspected by the Department of Health!

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2005

We stayed at the Omni Shoreham for 3 nights in August 2005. Right from the start we were impressed. The building itself is impressive and cannot be missed. The staff were friendly and attentive at all times. The hotel is clean, spacious and welcoming. We didn't make use of the fitness centre as we were only in DC for a short time doing the tourist bit, but from what I saw it was well equipped. There is a fee to pay for it's use. There is a large outdoor pool with plenty of sunbeds which are free of charge and pool towels are provided. The pool bar is a little pricey - $9 for a cocktail which was week and mainly ice.
Over all, I would recommend this hotel if you want easy access to the main attractions but don't want to stay among them. It's an easy 5 minute walk to the metro and after 0930hrs a daily pass card costs $6.50 and takes you wherever you need to go.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2005

This was our 3rd visit to the Omni having previously visited in 1999 and 2000 and found the hotel as good as ever. The concierge and reception desks were very professional and helpful though there seemed to be some conflict as to the value of travellers cheques they could cash on a daily basis ranging from $50-200. The in house shop had salads, hot coffees, fruit and sweets available throughout the day and the gift shop opened till late in the evening for papers and cards. We made use of a hire car in the second week and found the valet parking very good but expensive at $26 per night. Our bedroom was on the 6th floor and overlooked the rear garden where we witnessed several weddings throughout our 2 week stay. Our room was pretty clean albeit the carpet showed some staining. The en suite was very clean and the room attendant changed the linen including bed sheets daily as well as replenishing toilet rolls, shampoo etc. We made use of the Select Guest option which we joined on line prior to the holiday and this provided us with free morning beverages and a newspaper delivered to the bedroom at a time of our choice every morning. All in all the hotel was very clean with friendly attentive staff and on any future visits to Washington DC we will return to the Omni which we consider value for money.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2005

Ok, the hotel is on the older side, but try finding another hotel in DC like this one for $99 a night. It's not going to happen. The room is a very decent size and was for the most part clean. The metro is about a 2 minute walk, maybe a little over a city block, very convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant/bar/in-hotel stores were extremely over priced. ($3.00 for a small bottle of water). Go to CVS across the street for stuff like that, or go to one of the many different types of restaurants around the city. Parking was steep - $22/day, but that's how it is all over the city. all in all, i enjoyed the hotel and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meg1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2005

My son and I stayed at the Omni Shoreham for two nights in August. The room I had requested was ready upon my arrival,it was roomy and clean. The fornt desk receptionist was very friendly and courteous. Metro train station is only two blocks away from the hotel,and plenty of restaurants to choose from within the vincinity of the Omni.The parking fee at the hotel (self parking $22.00Per Day) is what I had expected. Overall this is a excellent hotel for a short weekend stay. P.S.My son misplaced his toy in our room(a stuffed parrot,traveled with us on all our vacations),it holds a lot of sentimental values.when we contacted the Omni hotel,the representative at the Omni was very courteous and promised us if the parrot was found,they will mail to us within couple of days. I was genuinely suprised we actually received the parrot within a week after the call was made. I will definitely return to this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2005

We got the Omni for $100. per night. I'm glad we only spend one night there. There were ants in the bathroom, blood on the bedskirt, and a dirty sock under the bedskirt.

The hotel staff was very friendly, but nothing was taken off of the bill when the problems were reported. We had no problem with the air cond. as others have reported here.

Parking is $22.00 a day - much more than hotels that are closer to town.
The zoo is pretty far and uphill from the hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank ldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing