We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent choice in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #65 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent choice in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Have stayed here a few times and found it a pleasant hotel. Doesn't have the climb or Byzantine layout of the Marriott up the hill, and certainly better service than the "we don't have to care about you" Wardman Park. Once got a room that opened out to one of the few balconies, which was pretty nice. This time had a smaller but still nice room. Beds were in very good shape, bathroom what you would expect at this price point, and slightly better appointed. Easy access to the Metro, although would take a little work to get there from the airport, for someone unfamiliar with D.C. transit system.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a balcony, that's very nice, but there aren't many of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,195
    1,799
    603
    289
    146
See reviews for
1,491
1,128
258
2,569
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel was, at one time, "the" place to stay in D.C. It still retains some of the early elegance ( the dining room is lovely) but the upgrades to the rooms are nothing more than ordinary and the bathrooms are only just acceptable. The food in the dining room was very good and eating outside on the balcony was lovely. The food at the pool, on the other hand, was dreadful and overpriced!
The metro stop was not too far away but the hotel is certainly removed from D.C.'s attractions.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel has a reputation for being a place where many important people have stayed

and many events taken place in the past. I would not say the hotel is a bad place to stay but I

would not come back now that i know it. Its location is not the best in the city if you want

to visit the monuments and go out at night. Our room, I cannot tell if all the rooms in

the hotel are the same, was old, not only because it had and old style decoration but

because it smelled old and you could see the many coats of paint that the doors

had. The bathtub wasn´t confortable at all. I am not sure but the only way to get wifi was

using the loby"s wifi as the one for guests seemed to have a cost which I cannot accept

in a hotel of this type. The last day of our stay we had to wait for fifteen minutes for the

lift to be available as there were only two for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest possible room in case they have a renovated area which I dont know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel73Hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

I am here for convention and they only have valet parking. ...surprised by authorized and check in was quick & painless. Handicap room with view & balcony. Very busy area with many many restaurants to pick from of all culture.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lollipop3694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Omni Shoreham was a wonderful hotel with great amenities and rooms. The service was impeccable, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The furnishings and accents were stunning and the historical factor also not lost on me. Many famous folks have stayed there, whether from the entertainment realm or the political realm (it is in D.C. after all). The staff was pleasant and professional, and they worked hard to satisfy their guests and seemed to take great pride in what they did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuylar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

if you are looking for a hotel away from the concrete of downtown DC, but still conveniently located by Metro. This is it. Pool and gardens (with hammocks) are very good. Located blocks from the Zoo, the whole area surrounding the hotel is green with vegetation. The hotel itself is an older building with character and updated rooms---the rooms I've had here have had much more space than comparable downtown hotels; doesn't feel cramped. Staff is friendly and competent. Beds are very comfortable. If you get a special package or price break, it is a deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel for our summer vacation. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Mall area. We stayed a total of 9 days, and the experience was less than we had anticipated. Part of the reason we chose this hotel was we had stayed at the Omni Philadelphia and had a wonderful stay so we thought this would be the case for the Omni Shoreham. Boy were we wrong!
The first 2 nights we stayed in a large room and it was nice . At check in they had all of our information correct and breakfast coupon, internet codes, etc. ready for us. That check in process was very smooth. The room was quiet, the room service was okay, and overall it was a good stay. The third day we switched our room to a one bedroom suite. The reservation for this room was made 7 months in advance, and we requested a room with a view of the park. First, our room wasn't ready, so we had to check out of our first room, store our baggage and then come back after 3pm to check in. Okay, a bit of an inconvenience, but we did it. After 3 we went to check in and that process was awful. The girl didn't have our breakfast coupons, or internet codes, and was put off by the fact that I had a service dog with me. We did get our room, and it was the one bedroom suite with a roll away for our daughter. So far so good. But then the room overlooked the front area where all the taxis and buses arrive. When I asked about the room with a view, I was told the hotel was full and they couldn't do anything about it. Next the air conditioning unit in the living area was very loud. So you either had to leave it on and freeze or turn it off (because of the noise) and have be sweltering hot. I called and asked for maintenance to look at it. They came the next day, and did nothing. We were told to leave it running, put up with the noise, and they would replace the unit after we checked out. Not good! Next problem was the laundry service. We sent our laundry down before 8am and it was to be returned by 6pm. My daughter really needed the clean clothes but they didn't return them by 6pm. At 6:30 I called the desk and was told that they were "on there way up" . At 7:30pm still no clothes so I called down and spoke to the manager and she told me the driver forgot some of the clothes and he was on his way to retrieve them. I have NEVER had this much trouble with simple laundry requests. Finally did get the clothes, but too late to make our dinner plans.
This hotel is very large and some kind of conference or meeting was always going on. This makes for lots of extra people in the hotel and the elevators. One night the President and Vice President were both speaking at a meeting. Secret service was all over the place. And let me add, the police and Secret Service dogs were badly behaved, one dog tried to challenge my service dog, making it a bit unnerving to try and come and go from the hotel. It would have been nice if the hotel had advised us of the amount of meetings they host. It would have impacted our hotel choice. Please keep in mind that we were not with a group or wedding. Those people were raving about how great the service was and what a nice hotel. We kept staring at them in disbelief, because our service had not been that good. From lack of service in the breakfast room, to the front desk, to the bellman, and cleaning staff, we seemed to be at the bottom of everyone's priority list.
And second side note, the bellman gave us all kinds of grief because we bypassed the hotel recommended taxis and used Uber. One bellman told me that I should watch myself as Uber was not the way to go and I might get hurt if I use them. What??? Where is it his business to say anything about my transportation choice?
We were very disappointed in this hotel and the service, even though we tried to address our concerns with management, management was not that interested in resolving our issues. Their attitude was, oh well, and because we were there for a week, and the hotel was full, we were stuck.
I wouldn't stay here again, nor would I recommend it. While the hotel is on beautiful grounds and has a great location, the service is up to the standard of the Omni chain of hotels

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing