We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #80 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very big hotel, very nice spacious room, great bathroom, beds better than the usual hotel bed, huge attractive lobby. Expect to wait for elevators; too small and too few for the size of the hotel. A/C unit in our room was quite loud. I'm a light sleeper, woke me up every time it came on during the night. Excellent location, near subway and within walking distance of good restaurants, a few of the DC tourist sites. Overall good value; promotion rate we got was excellent (July).

Room Tip: Ask for a room near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nancy29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,245 - 4,251 of 7,358 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent three nights in a family room ( 2 double beds) in the Omni Shoreham in July 2014. Spacious room and well appointed. Location is outside city centre but 5 minute walk to the metro and within a 10-15 minute walk of the excellent zoo. Lots of good restaurants nearby with a range of cuisine and a McD too. Ice available on the floor, and the bathroom was spotless. We loved having a balcony outside our room too!
Only small quibble was the fact that the room was set up for adjoining room access so acoustics to the noisy neighbours' TV through the door was a bit of an annoyance.
We would definitely stay here again if we got a similar deal. Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TonyDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Best hotel I've stayed in, in a long time. They even provided a foam pillow. Yay! They also had a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. The distance to the zoo was walkable making this a good place to stay for National Zoo visitors; there were local restaurants and their pool was beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 293sharons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Everything about this hotel was excellent…service, room, staff, the pool and workout gym…everything. Great neighborhood (quiet, away from the "big city" noise with a park bordering the hotel property) with plenty of restaurants just across the street…the Metro station is maybe a 3 min walk. The Metro takes about 15-20mins to the National Mall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Mikol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable. The stay was extremely nice and attentive. The hotel is charming, elegant, clean and welcoming. It is close to major attractions and in a safe neighborhood. The other guests were pleasant and very international!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Leontyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in mid July as part of a 14 day tour of Eastern USA and Canada. Checkin time is 3pm and we arrived at 4.40pm. We were part of an organised coach tour with 47 people on board. There were two other coaches from the same company doing the tour as well. Our tour guide called ahead to say we would be late (we were due to be there at 4pm) and to make sure we had a quick turnaround on arrival as we had to be out again for 6pm for evening tour of the city & booking at a restaurant for tea. She was told all the rooms were not ready but hoped they would be by time we got there. On arrival there were no porters to collect our luggage & we were told we would have to take it ourselves if we needed it before 6pm. This involved carrying it up a set of about 10 steps, which was difficult especially for the more elderly in the group. When our tour guide went to get our room keys it quickly became clear that a lot of the rooms were not ready. From the 3 coaches arriving, there were about 25 rooms not ready(about a third). The guides from all 3 coaches tried to get an information from reception staff & the manager on duty and were treated with disdain. I have never experienced such bad customer service as that from the female manager on duty that night, she left our tour guide in tears. Some people from our group did get their roomd straight away & about 4 others got their rooms by 6pm. This still left a lot of us without rooms or anywhere to freshen up to get ready to go out again at 6pm (I would say there there were about 12 rooms still not ready at 6.15pm). At this point we just had to leave or we would have missed our evening city tour & dinner reservations. Most of us had to go in the clothes we had been in all day (we had been travelling from 7am that morning). Some people changed in the rest rooms but this was unpleasant & there was not room for everyone to do this. Even after all of that, the tour guide had to argue to get a porter to take & store our luggage (they would not take our smaller hand luggage bags as these had no labels on them & we had to take these back on the bus with us). Some of our group were not going on the evening tour & they were not even offered a drink or refreshments while they waited (they eventually got their room about 7.15pm but had tocancel their dinner plans for thst evening). The headquarters of the tour company phoned to complain & demand complimentary breakfast & dinner vouchers & we were told we would get these but only got breakfast vouchers. When we arrived back at 11pm the staff at reception dudnt know anything about our rooms & had to go get the same female manager (who never once spoke to us). No one from the hotel apologised for the inconvenience. When we go to our room (about 11,30pm) our luggage was there but we were short a set of towels & had to phone to get these. The people on the tour who got their rooms late but begore 8pm were not even offered complimentary breakfast & had to argue to get it. While we were there we saw two airline flight crews waiting for a long time to get their rooms (these were both after 5pm, well after checkin times) and they did not look too happy with having to wait either. There seemed to be large groups of students staying in the hotel which disturbed some of the others on our tour with noise during the night but we did not experience this. Hotel room was a good size as was bathroom, but we found opened packets of crisps in drawers in room so hasty preparation of room was obviously not too thorough. I realise these problems can arise, but it was the arrogant and unhelpful attitude of the staff that I was astounded at, especially when the tour company was bringing 150 guests to them. it is only the size of the rooms which stopped me giving this a terrible rating rather than poor.

Room Tip: Go somewhere elsr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rareNItraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great location. Noisy customers. Elevators too small for the number of guests. Beautiful lobby. Lobby with many seats for sitting. Concierge helped with ideas to enjoy the city. Convenient access to McDonalds. National zoo in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
2,664 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,427 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,100 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $132 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, bedfinder AG, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing