We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Shoreham was a great location for my business meeting. It was convenient to local restaurants and I enjoyed the short walk to the zoo. The rooms are very large, and i appreciate the history of this beautiful hotel. I also appreciated the special touches for my daughter accompaning me on my business travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,247
    1,830
    616
    292
    147
See reviews for
1,503
1,134
260
2,644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, KS, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent service and an outstanding, friendly staff! The amenities were easy to locate and use. Both the inside and outside staff were extremely helpful and always knew the answers to any questions we had of them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Love visiting Omni Hotels, and being a part of their Select Guest program. Always welcoming, and comfortable - do yourself a favor and stay here! I was very happy with the location as well as the room I stayed in while here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We visited for both business and weekend fun. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. The concierge recommended a couple of cool local restaurants, as well as cheerfully provided me with some after hours printing services. We enjoyed Sunday brunch room service, which wasn't particularly spectacular, but satisfying none-the-less. The mattress and linens were the most comfortable I have enjoyed in awhile and I slept very well here. I also love the history and the architecture. The old world grand scale provided a lovely backdrop for our stay. They definitely need to update the windows, as I could feel the cold March air coming through, but a fluffy bathroom towel rolled up at the sill was a fine trick. My friend parked a car in their lot for two nights, which allowed us to walk to nearby DuPont Circle and then we pressed on in our walking shoes to Georgetown. We had a lovely time and I would return here anytime I am in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phloxMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Of the three US hotels I visited on this trip, the Omni Shoreham was my least favourite. Unlike the other two, I'm sure the Shoreham would be classified as 'luxurious', and I could simply say that it wasn't my cup of tea (literally, see below) and leave it at that. You don't get the feeling that the proprietors and managers take pride in their hotel. For one thing, the Shoreham is somewhat overpriced as most things in DC tend to be. For these rates I would expect more hospitality. Surely you could eg afford to offer free wifi in the rooms without forcing your guests to join a loyalty programme. As a satisfied customer I should want to join because my visit was so pleasurable, not be forced to join in exchange for a very basic service. The building itself is quite nice, from the 1930s I would imagine, and central DC is easily accessible by Metro. The vast lobby and dining room look like a scene from 'The Shining'. At least some effort has been made to decorate the rather spacious rooms to honour the architecture. There are expensively framed sepia photographs of DC on the walls, the kind of prints you find in airline magazines. But once again, at these prices you could afford to support your local artists and get some original art instead. The coffee making facilities were rudimentary, and there weren't enough bags of black tea to serve both inhabitants of the room. Saving on tea bags is probably not a viable model in the hospitality business. The fan of the antiquated air conditioning unit was very noisy. But the most ridiculous feature of all was an empty space in the room nearly the size of a small student flat that for some incomprehensible reason they had decided to decorate with a huge and ugly treadmill. I'm sure they have space for a gym somewhere in this big hotel. I'm told that the conferencing facilities are good. The concierge was priceless. He loved his home town and gave tips and advice to visitors accordingly. If only the hotel proprietors and managers had even half his love for their own establishment, then things could look much better.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived to a disorganized valet service and hesitantly handed our keys over. In entering our room, we found dried urine on the toilet seat. Had to call twice and walk down to the front desk to get help. We never heard from a manager, no offer to change rooms-nothing. We checked out and let them know the problem. They "fixed" the situation with free parking??The main service of a hotel is to provide a clean room! Paying for a dirty hotel room isnt rectified with free parking. Got our car from the valet-back seat was flipped down, no explanation why. Emailed management and response dropped off. Worst. Service. Ever.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryshanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kryshanna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us of the details of your stay through TripAdivsor. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with the cleanliness of your guest bathroom, valet services and promptness of management to rectify the situation in a timely manner. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate department heads for remediation.

As a well respected luxury property in the District, it is our goal to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. I am embarrassed to hear that we have fallen short of this standard. It is crucial for us to absorb your feedback so that we can make the appropriate corrections to strengthen our service standards.

We certainly would like to make this up to you. I ask that you contact me directly so that I can manage your next reservation to ensure you receive an appropriate and upgraded accommodation.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Brooke Romm
LID-Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Omni Shoreham has many very good features - its location is good, rooms are generous and have everything one would require. Yet, it does feel very dated and is a bit tired in some areas - especially the décor. I would have rated the hotel very good had it not been for the wifi charges (which I think should come as standard) and the fact that my room was incredibly cold even with the heating on (leaky windows).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing