We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #72 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend in this opulent hotel. It sits high and sparkles with days of old. We easily walked to Dupont and better yet, Adams Morgan. Not to mention the metro which is 3 minutes and away takes you anywhere. Our room was huge and the mini-fridge, bathrobes, gym, sauna, wood bar, cheerful staff and elegant lobby made our home away from home welcoming after our event filled days. Find: Jack Rose on 18th Street and S-ish.

Room Tip: We asked for a King Bed and are glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,518 - 4,524 of 7,048 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Extremely helpful & cordial staffers - throughout the entire establishment - conference prep staff were exceptional! The bell hop very friendly and great smiles - very welcoming attitudes! The cookies at the front desk were a good touch and just in time! The hotel is in an ideal location - many options for dining in and more affordable venues outside and around. Walking distance to the Zoo excellent for kids - big & small alike.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I atended a conference for work. The hotel was very pretty but the food was really bad and the service average at best. I even got my purse stolen from one of the conference rooms and the security team didnt do much of anything to help find it. The location is also not the best because you get the worst traffic to get in and out of that area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Amaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear "Amaya M,"

We were alarmed last week after being informed your purse had gone missing from a meeting room in our hotel. Our Security team responded immediately and upon investigating the matter further in partnership with local law enforcement, learned you'd left your purse unattended in a busy ballroom for over an hour, a ballroom filled with hundreds of both hotel guests and non-guests alike. I hope you and the TripAdvisor readership can appreciate that while we are empathetic to and concerned for your loss, we can't reasonably accept responsibility for what we feel was your failure to observe common safety practices in this day and age. We used every resource at our disposal to try and recover your lost purse, but ultimately we don't know what happened to it.

I am sorry you did not enjoy the food the meeting planners decided upon and that you found our location problematic.

Best regards,

Tom Kermabon
Hotel Manager
Omni Shoreham Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A truly world-class place to stay in DC and a great place for meetings and conferences. The staff seem to love to work there which speaks volumes. Breakfast was diverse and service is prompt. There was never a problem getting transportation even when it was 4 degrees. Starbucks was open often and gift shop items were not cheesy nor unreasonable. Rooms were very comfortable. The walls a little thin but not surprising due to the age of the building. I still will not hesitate to book there in the future. I am very pleased with their location, service, food, and finally they have the best fitness facility anywhere. This is probably the 3-4 review in my 20 years of travel. The Omni on Calvert in DC is truly a resort quality hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is by far the best hotel we've stayed in during our Eastcoast trip. This is the last leg of our trip, and saved our quite stressful trip in NY. I was quite hesitant at first knowing its literally an old, historic hotel. But considering its value for money, a 5 star hotel, with good location, we go for it. The hotel itself is situated in a very relaxing surrounding. Lots of of greneeries, parks, and a zoo. Their lobby is big in size, while the room is a bit smaller, it is very tidy. I can see that despite of being old, their property is very well-maintained. Front desk is also cheerful and friendly. The hotel is about 3mins walk to Woodley Park Metro, which is a convenient way to stroll around the city. There's also a bike rental station nearby. We so love it, that after we went to Georgetown, we took a bike and rode back to the hotel, passing through a beautiful park trail. What a heavenly sight! There are also numerous restaurants around the area, among of which, our favorite is Open City, just across the street. We didn't get to eat at the hotel's restaurant, just the Starbucks inside the hotel lobby. Overall, i'm very satisfied with our stay. We can't wait to go back, and stay a little bit longer.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the hotel garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybella88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the Omni to finish up our New Year's holiday. The hotel is huge - over 800 rooms. The public rooms are gorgeous and had lovely holiday decorations. The room, while large, was fairly basic. The bathroom was tiny and had no heat (except for what came from the heat lamp.) We got a good rate; I would not have wanted to pay any more. The room was relatively quiet, even though it faced the street. When we first checked in, the hotel was basically deserted; the next day, a large convention arrived and the hotel was busy for the next three days. Once he convention was over, it was deserted. The staff is pleasant and helpful, but they were stretched when the hotel was full. Thank goodness we didn't need the bellman when the convention was checking out. It's convenient to the metro and the Adams Morgan neighborhood. Great gym and a coffee bar on the first floor serves early morning coffee needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Rock Creek Park; it should be quiet and is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnalsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip / vacation with my wife and kids. Service was great, hotel is very clean and the staff was friendly and attentive. Food was very good at the hotel and lots of good restaurants close by (walking or short cab ride). Workout facility has everything you need. Will definitely stay here again when in DC!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasStateWildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#106 of 142 in Washington DC
2,594 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,247 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $85 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing