We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, short staffed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #70 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, short staffed.”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

The hotel lobby was beautiful, and the rooms were large and clean. very small bathrooms. We arrived late at night, and there was no space to self park, we had to use the valet. There was no bellman available, so we had to unload the car ourselves, along with the front desk person, and carry our luggage down stairs because the floor was being cleaned and the bellman was gone. The front desk clerk finally decided to bring our bags up for us. Our room did not get cleaned after the first night because someone reversed the "please clean room" to "do not disturb". We called housekeeping around 5 pm because the beds were still not made and we were out of towels. We left so they could clean, and when we returned they had not made the beds or emptied trash, or carried away breakfast tray. The merely dropped off some clean towels and shampoo, etc. We had someone banging on our door in the middle of the second night, called security, and it stopped but we could not get back to sleep. While waiting for our room to get "cleaned", we went down to the bar. It took at least 20 to 25 minutes to get a drink and there were only about 10 guests in the room. We had to go to the bar to get someone so we could pay the bill. I think they are simply understaffed. The front desk employees were very nice, the room was fine, the hotel is lovely, but they simply do not have enough people to take care of the hotel. Also, we went across the street to get coffee. They offer coffee and a paper delivered to the door, but the coffee was stale and not very hot. The rooms do have refridgerators, but no snacks for purchase. We did get it at a great price, and the staff there were great, there were just not enough of them.

  • Liked — Hotel Lobby
  • Disliked — Lack of service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Laurie2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,580
    1,999
    707
    341
    184
See reviews for
1,755
1,221
278
2,921
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at the Omni Shoreham from July 9-14. After reading reviews I too was a bit nervous. We took the metro to the hotel and had a short walk to the Omni from the Woodley-Park stop. We arrived about 10:00 am and our room was ready. Our room was WONDERFUL. It was clean and spacious. Huge windows, nicely decorated, plenty of space. Our room was in the main section. We had a corner room, king-sized bed. There was a large walk-in closet and plenty of space. The bathroom was large (especially the tub that my 10 year old daughter loved) but not lots of shelf space in the bathroom as others have mentioned. We had plenty of space but my daughter and I don’t tend to have lots of “things”. We didn’t have a spectacular view; it was OK (However, we didn’t spend more than a minute or two actually looking out the windows while in the room.). The AC worked very well and was refreshing after the summer heat. I signed up for the Omni Membership Rewards (on the website) and received complimentary beverages in the morning as well as a daily newspaper. Each day we received what we requested in the time frame requested. We liked that they just left the tray outside the door and gave a little knock and left. (No need to greet someone at your door without having had your coffee!). We requested extra towels our first day and an extra pillow, they were delivered within a few minutes and we were provided extra towels without further requests for our entire stay.

The pool was very nice. Lots of chairs, sun, shade, plenty of space inside and outside the pool. They have a pool bar/snack restaurant open in the afternoons. We ordered drinks (no food), drinks were good.

We ate at Robert’s Restaurant (hotel restaurant) once for lunch. The food was OK. It was pricey but convenient. We didn’t get room service other than the complimentary beverages in the am. EVERYONE that worked at the hotel seemed very friendly, responsive, and helpful. (The one exception would be the concierge desk. On two different occasions we didn’t seem to have the best service.)

There is a restaurant on the corner outside the hotel called, Open City (I think?). We went there for breakfast once; it was very good and reasonably priced. We also stopped one evening and my daughter got a dessert “to go”. Open City seemed to be verrrry busy all day.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Omni for others. We would gladly stay again.

  • Liked — Great Room & Hotel in a Great Location
  • Disliked — concierge
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E&HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Hotel dates to the 1930s and has a lot of history (political events including Clinton's Inaug. Ball, movies filmed there, etc.) -- very large hotel with large lobby. You can tell the by the rooms that it's an older hotel in that our king room was very large, bathroom somewhat small, but had a huge walk-in closet and a large flat screen tv. We were there during 4th of July weekend, used price line and got this regularly $249 a night room for $105 a night and the front desk didn't treat us any differently as we have experienced in other places where we have used priceline -- very friendly, gave us a nice view on a higher floor, etc. Elevators are small for such a large hotel, but they come quickly. The neighborhood is GREAT -- walking distance to the Zoo, 1 block from the Metro station and LOTS of very nice little restaurants within 1-2 blocks -- very safe feeling area too. For those that don't like chinese or Thai food, there is also a McDonalds and Chipotle Grill. Great breakfast restaurants nearby as well -- never had a bad meal anywhere.

  • Liked — location was great -- easy to get around DC with the meto train and the station was a block away
  • Disliked — everything was great -- no complaints at all
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wherewegoingnext?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Our family stayed only one night at the Omni. It was free for us as we used our Membership Rewards points through American Express. I was nervous reading the negative reviews, but thought since it's free I'll suffer through.
We used the check-in from home link emailed to us. We walked right past the line at the front desk and picked up our key at 1pm. Room was ready and parking a breeze! Valet charge $28, but we were able to keep our car parked until 4pm the next day even though we were checked out. That saved parking fees at the garage in the city, and the metro is a breeze to use!
The room itself seemed clean and comfy. The bathroom counter is very small, no room for cosmetic bags, but for the single night we stayed, not using amenities or room service, we had a great time.

  • Liked — Close to metro
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DebC1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for four nights five days attending a conference. The building has a lot of historical character and the public rooms are beautifully decorated. There are food options...a convenient light food carry-out shop named Morsels (convenient and $$$$) in addition to the restaurant, Robert's. If you are driving, parking is valet only and it is $$$.

The rooms are updated with good beds but mine was awfully loud. The room was on the top floor, with a small balcony through glass doors and faced the street. Whenever the AC fan was off I could hear every car and siren on the street as if the doors were open. It appears that the old glass and the lack of caulking around those doors allow in the noise. When the AC fan is on it is one speed...high and loud. But, it did cool the room on four hot and muggy DC days. The headboard of my bed was on the wall with the TV in the adjoining room so there was a great deal of noise from that...especially early in the morning and late at night.

Housekeeping was very erratic. Day one I had a floor rug in the bathroom but lost it never for it to return. Day one I had a full set of towels. Never had a full set again. There were items from previous guests in the room on the floor- token for a free drink, ticket stubs from a Museum, a hotel glass. Dirty glasses were left in my room and clean ones never put in their places.

From a business traveler perspective - they are going to fleece you for any copy, printing, etc. Cannot go into the Business Center with a flash drive and use a PC to print a document. Had to go to my room, pull out my PC, log onto an OMNI website and upload my document to be printed back in the Business Center. Boggles the efficient mind. If you are an OMNI Select Guest member you do get free Wifi on a daily basis. That is a good deal - most hotels charge $10+ on a daily basis. The rooms are not set up for business travelers....dearth of plugs and a horrible desk chair. Select Guest members get complimentary newspaper and beverage of choice on a daily basis. Out of the four mornings, it was correct two times. The other times I did not get the newspaper I requested. Lots of foreign staff with limited English skills and bad attitudes.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowrose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My friend and I arrived early and they said they would call our cell when our room was ready. We asked for a nice room with a view- the front desk said no problem. When we came back later in the day when our room was ready, they gave us a room with NO view just a big green box that housed all the utilities. They gave us a new room - nice view over the pool - but no air conditioning and no refrigerator that worked! There is also no fan in the bathroom, or at least ours wasn't working.
It took them a long time to get the air fixed and at that point it was very late that night, so we waited in the bar until they fixed it - and they never offered to comp our drinks - $17.....big deal.
The concierge gave us the wrong directions to the Vietnam Wall - we ended up walking 17 blocks rather than 6! The bartender in the lounge had no personality and made bad drinks. They had a happy hour at the pool but it was open to people outside of the hotel and the appetizers were still $7 for happy hour!
Good points:
Beds were very comfy, room was clean, (they could use a small table in the rooms,) pool was nice even though it's only 3ft. deep, the grounds are lovely. The little coffee shop has Starbucks and the lady that worked there was really sweet.
I'm glad we got a cheap rate on Travel Zoo, or I would have been very unhappy with the price, maybe that's why we got the bad rooms!!!!!

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We got a good deal via travelzoo.com for $100/night and would stay here again. It was only two blocks from the metro and quite a few restaurants. If you go over the bridge a few extra blocks, there is a very lively scene with such eclectic restaurants and people.

The hotel was quite large but the signage was pretty good, fairly quiet and clean room. We only had one glass which was odd but other than that the closet was large and the beds comfy. There was a large humming which we later figured out was the air venting system and the staff adjusted that,

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — a bit loud air ventilation system
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lmbunl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,133 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
2,534 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing