We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Regal Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The history of this hotel provides a lot of its character and charm. It is still elegant and beautiful and boasts a nice sports/bar and restaurant as well as a coffee shop (Starbucks) inside. It is great for conventions and high-end entertaining, but as with most older hotels needs improvements in the rooms, such as self-closing doors that do not slam, sound proof window, a vanity with the sink, and more closet space. The staff and service here are exceptional. It is located a distance from downtown, but the Metro makes it very easy and fast. Overall the hotel is above average, but not for the price, which brings it back down to average.

If you are staying here definitely walk the 1.4 miles to the National Cathedral up the road it is well worth it.

Room Tip: This is a tough one at this hotel. I would say one that overlooks the park and pool behind the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masci_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,071 - 5,077 of 7,289 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited the Omni for a fall wedding and really enjoyed our stay. The outdoor pool entertained our boys and the room was clean and decently sized. We did upgrade to a larger room to give ourselves some extra space. The seating area was divided from our beds. Room service was also good. The lobby has a coffee shop with a nice selection of snacks and healthy options too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmccrtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently got to accompany my husband on a business trip and we stayed at the Omni Shoreham. Wow! What a grand old hotel! I loved the spacious and opulent foyer that had a flavor of decades past, including big band music playing in the background. I don't know if every room is the same, but ours was very spacious and comfortable and quiet. I loved all the history surrounding this hotel, too. It has hosted famous people and events and has placards detailing this history in various places throughout the lobby and hallways. Their workout facility was also very spacious and clean. One tip: join their loyalty club to get free internet and free in room morning coffee. :)

My only slight complaints were the small elevators (which often meant they arrived full) and the very small bathrooms (nicely appointed, just very tiny.) All bathrooms might not be this way but ours was. Still, I would most definitely stay here again if our travel plans allowed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D'Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Old, non-working doors, poor paint...this hotel needs to stop seeing itself as some sort of 4 star resort and take a realistic look at its condition....and the fact that elevators cannot get elderly people to many places in the building was highly disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Room was poorly lit and walls and carpet seemed tired, which gave an overall impression of uncleanliness. Smelled of too much air freshener-- perhaps masking something? Walls and floors seemed thin, as neighbors were easily audible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Owen W Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be a really nice hotel. It was convenient for the local restaurants, bars and the metro. The hotel was quite luxurious, and the staff polite and helpful. If I have one negative comment it would be the cost of the meals. Fortunately we were just across the road from a superb diner, which was very reasonable and the food was good. However I felt that if the hotel prices were more reasonable they would have benefited from more guests staying in to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the Omni for 3 nights - what a nice place to be at. This hotel has the perfect combination of old charm and luxury. The service was great and the location very convenient to the DuPont Circle area, which is a few minutes away from this location. Several nice restaurants are within a very short walking distance from the hotel and the metro (red line) is almost across the street. The last time I stayed at the Omni, was almost 20 years ago. It was great to be back again after such a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
2,647 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,275 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $135 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing