We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #70 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My son and I loved this hotel. The location was great - minutes from the metro which was easy to use and to get around. The room was comfortable And the beds very comfy!! There was a great coffee maker and on the first evening my son was served a cookie and milk in the room!! There were restaurants close by and a McDonald's - useful for breakfast as the breakfast is expensive in the hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room in the garden area which was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,580
    1,999
    707
    341
    184
See reviews for
1,755
1,221
278
2,921
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed four nights in this great old hotel, from the moment we walked through the door we knew it would be a good stay, from the guy who insisted on helping us with our bags to the warm welcome at check in, staff were always friendly & helpful, we stayed in the main building so it was very convenient for the lobby & down to the pool, I read many reviews leading up to our own trip & have to agree with most everything said before, really nice old hotel, our room had a large closet & a small bathroom but the room was a good size even with two queen beds & four of us, very fresh & clean, as said many times in other reviews close to metro stop (Woodley Park) close to zoo (we walked over to the zoo on our 1st day & used the Metro system to get around the city during our stay .Open city diner as most people mention is very good & in sight of the hotel, plenty of other restaurants ,takeaways, stores very near , the area feels very safe day & night, the hotel is set in lovely grounds, the pool is very nice also, quite big, freeform not very deep but very pleasant after a day walking around the City, a real oasis after a busy day, also as said before the lifts are small so a bit of a wait at busy times but they are the old wood panelled type and add to the character of this historic building , everything was just great & no complaints at all, would be my 1st choice if I ever return to DC & would highly recommend without any hesitation especially if like us you get a good deal we booked online & got it for a great price for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirelad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel! Not only can you say that the location is TOPS, but the staff do their best to ensure that your time at their facility is top notch as well! This hotel is considered one of the grand hotels with an amazing history. I'm glad to have stayed here. My one and only suggestion to the hotel is that they lower the daily rate for guest parking. The current rate of 35.00 is too steep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Imogene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a conference going on in this hotel so I have chosen the venue as the option. The hotel looks very nice and hosted many VIP persons. I felt very excited to stay in such a precious place. Unfortunately, behind the curtains there are several issues which made our stay unconfortable. As we were there in sommer time, there was some construction going on in the lobby area (changing the carpet, etc.) It was noisy and smelled like glues for days. This might be a temporal issue, but also if you walk the stairways instead of taking the elevator you will see that not everything is that shiny as it looks. The rooms are nice, big and comfortable. However, the isolation of the building inside is not that good. I heard every step they were making in the room above, every door opened in another room, every word said in the rooms besides. This makes your sleeping experience dropping, especially when you would like to sleep. Minor issues: slow internet connection which stopped several times. For this price I would expect a much better experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sonad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sonad S,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and apologize that you felt as if in the background there were some details missing. While somethings like the creaking floors are characteristic of a historic hotel we are addressing many of your other concerns with a $5 million public space renovation that is on the verge of concluding.

All of your comments are important and will be shared with our management team and I truly hope we will have a future opportunity to welcome you back for a better experience.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location. Close to Metro and adjacent to Rock Creek Park. Feels a little removed from the hustle and bustle of the Mall. Wonderful pool to come home to after a hot August day of sightseeing. Offering great rates, particularly on the weekends. Will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Love, love, Love this hotel. The staff was very accommodating, friendly and very personable. I will choose an Omni Hotel every time I travel. The price maybe a bit more than other hotels, however I’ve learned you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rooms are large and always clean. Enjoyed having a gift shop and coffee shop in the hotel. Convenient location for my business trip. I have attended a couple conferences at this hotel and the grounds are beautiful. It is a great place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,133 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
2,534 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing