We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Omni Shoreham is a warm and welcoming home away from home, with an elegant atmosphere that takes you back in time. The hotel has a rich history that still seems very alive. There is also a spa, pool, gym etc.. The restaurant is nice and there is a small convenience shop and bakery. Room service is also good and timely. The beds are very comfortable but the pillows are small. Join the Omni select guest program fro free wifi and morning beverage service and newspaper. The staff are very welcoming and accommodating asking you how your day is in passing and coming and going.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCH11062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear MCH11062010,

I am delighted that the Omni Shoreham felt like your home away from home and I appreciate all of your complimentary comments. If you return, please let me know if I can assist you by providing extra pillows or anything else you may need to be comfortable during your time with us. It would be my pleasure.

Kindest Regards,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,994
    1,675
    548
    248
    125
See reviews for
1,393
1,046
239
2,341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was brought here by a business conference and will say I was pleasantly surprised! The check-in was seamless with very friendly hotel hosts. The lobby is grand as in large, but easy to navigate, with east and west wings. The room I stayed in was on the second floor facing the street. The balcony is a nice treat to enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine. It was a roomy and comfortable... easily accommodates a family of 4. The zoo is close by and it's a 10 minute ride to national mall via Potomac parkway which is a scenic ride.

I really enjoyed all the greenery around the hotel surroundings. The grounds are beautiful! There are hammocks in a quite isolated part of the grounds. The back patio is a really nice place to relax at the end of the day with friends & colleagues.

I really enjoyed open city across the street and there are also a few pubs nearby. I'd recommend this hotel to both business travelers and families, I'd suggest ensuring you get a nightly rate of less than $250/night. If you need help getting that nightly rate, rest assured, I can help!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors with a balcony - the view is worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear MelissaBruno,

Thank you for your generous recommendation of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and our grounds. If you return to our hotel please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything I can do to assist with your planning.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had been tavelling from Australia around USA for weeks, and decided to spend two days in Washington. Wow, what a great place to stop, relax and enjoy the beginning of spring, from check in to check out, we were surprised at the friendly professional service, our room for a triple share was comfortable and Paul the concierge was very helpful. Bonus that the cherry blossoms were out everywhere at the hotel, loved the gardens and tranquil feel of the whole place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VonMcGann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear VonMcGann,

Thank you for including the Omni Shoreham as part of your travels through the US. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed one of most beautiful seasons in Washington, DC. If your travels bring you back to the United States and our capitol, I hope you will once again consider staying with us.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

At times it was better than average but overall just average. We paid $320 a night with tax for our room. It was a good sized room but not decorated anyway very special. Clean and in good maintenance. Good bed. Very small bathroom. No grab bars in the shower which was hard in the narrow tub. We got a lot of cigar smoke in our room from the party on the patio. Friendly staff that was helpful. Easy check-in and out. Beautiful neighborhood. Needs to be updated but has an older classy feel. Short walk to the Metro. Decent walk to the zoo. Nice coffee shop close by called Open City. It just didn't wow us for an expensive stay. I would stay again at a lower rate.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Teamhoffmann,

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to read about your experience at our hotel. I apologize that smoke from an outdoor party reached your room. This is an unusual occurrence but I can understand how it made your time with us less enjoyable. If you return, I'd be happy to work with you to make sure that you are in a room away from any outdoor function areas that also is equipped with shower grab bars. Thank you for also sharing your complimentary feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed at the Omni Shoreham during the Nike Women's Half Marathon weekend. I was impressed that there could be so many conferences and large groups at the hotel without it seeming overcrowded. Rooms were nice and you could see elements of updates with old touches too. Overall, it was a great experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sara B,

Thank you for choosing the Omni Shoreham for your accommodations during the Nike Women's Half Marathon. I appreciate your complimentary review and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
(202) 756-5109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed her for a business trip and overall found ourselves trying to give it a better rating than "average." We just can't do it. Our room was small and the bathroom smaller. The closet had a safe that when open collided with my head more than once! We couldn't see out our windows becuase of the condensation and the bed was poor for a higher end hotel. I'd add that the service was decent, but not stellar. We ate at the hotel restaurant - the food and service there not something we'd go back for. It just seems like this dated property is in need of some serious updating. I'm disappointed that Omni hasn't made an effort to bring it in line with their other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMack425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear TravelMack425,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your TripAdvsor review after your recent stay. I'm disappointed to learn we didn't meet your expectations in a way that would justify a higher star rating in your eyes, something you have come to expect from the Omni brand. As a historic hotel configured in the late 1920's, we have a variety of guestroom and bathroom sizes, many of which we are regularly reminded are larger than in most our "younger" competitors. Having said that, we do have a few guestrooms that are on the small side and it was in one of those that you were obviously assigned. I also appreciate your sentiments related to the in-room safe being out of balance, condensation build up in your windows, a mattress that did not make for a good night's sleep, and lackluster food quality and service in our restaurant. I am sorry your wife and you found all of the above disappointing, as I do. Thank you very much taking the time do let us know how we fell short of your expectations.

We're you able to share your feedback with anyone while you were in residence? If so, did the associate(s) you interacted with provide any options to resolve these issues to your satisfaction?

Your continued feedback would be very much appreciated. I'd like to invite you to reach out to me here at the hotel at your convenience so that I can determine what guest room you were in and try to regain your trust in our brand. On the positive side, rest assured we are making an effort to bring the Omni Shoreham in line with many of our sister properties. For starters, we will be upgrading our lobby, public areas and meeting space this summer and hope you'll be able to see the results first hand during what we hope will be many future visits.

Thank you very much for your time and energy. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Kermabon
Hotel Manager
(202) 756-5102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here with my wife while on a city break to Washington DC and found this a beautifully restored hotel. Great location in the leafy suburb with plenty to do nearby, loads of restaurants & lively bars.
Room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed.
Bathroom spotless with a wonderful shower & luxurious towels & robes.
We really enjoyed our stay but free WiFi in the rooms would be a plus (Charge for WiFi in rooms)
Thank you to the very helpful staff, well done all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManUhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear ManUhead,

Thank you very much for your gracious review of our property and your experience while in residence. I am thrilled to hear your wife and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay while visiting our nation's capital and found your accommodation size, bed comfort, cleanliness, and amenities to be to your liking.

With regards to complimentary wifi access, I'd like to invite you to join Omni's Loyalty Program, called Select Guest. For Select Guests members we offer complimentary wifi and an abundance of other amenities, including morning beverage delivery to your guest room, newspapers, pressing, shoe shine, and more which can add up to $50 per day in value. The program is free to join and never costs anything and would, in my opinion, help make any great stay even more memorable.

We are very hopeful of future opportunities to welcome you back to our hotel when your travel plans again bring you to Washington, D.C.

And, GO Man U!

Most sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Hotel Manager
(202) 756-5102
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 2,212 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing