We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #63 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Room was large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. I'm not a fan of the giant , mall-like atmosphere of the hotel and the lobby area but appreciated the amenities and overall comfort level of the room. Conveniently located close to a metro and you can easily walk to Adams Morgan for access to restaurants and bars from the hotel (as long as you don't mind about a 15 minute walk). Again, while not personally a fan of the property's general layout and design, I would stay here again as the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,249
    1,831
    616
    292
    147
See reviews for
1,503
1,134
260
2,646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel has a large beautiful lobby. Lots of pictures and history displayed in the hotel. Very beautiful grounds with a wedding during our stay. Lots of meeting rooms for business or other gatherings. Room was a little stale and had a small bathroom but clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We appreciate your complimentary review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. It would be a pleasure for us to have you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern traveler
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have not yet stayed at the Omni Shoreham and am due to check in tomorrow. However, I am sitting at my desk looking at other options for my stay. My online check-in was unsuccessful and I called the 800 number for assistance. Incredibly rude, so I called the hotel directly. If Mary, on the 800 call was rude, there are no to words to describe the rudeness of the woman at the front desk at this hotel. I am still not certain if we have been checked in, but I'm betting against it! As a very frequent traveler, I have to say that this was the worst first impression I have experienced at any hotel! If we do decide to stay at the Omni, I hope my first impression was wrong!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Please accept our apologies for your experience prior to arriving. We truly hope you chose to stay so that we could provide you with the hospitality and service that our guests have come to expect and deserve at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at the Omni Shoreham for a weekend get away in late October. Hotel was away from the hustle and bustle of the city; however, was close enough via the subway to be just perfect. Hotel was only a few blocks from the Zoo, about a 5 minute walk to a subway stop and then less than a 10 minute subway ride to the center of DC. Hotel is older but has so much history, the lobby is filled with poster detailing special events that have been held at the hotel and famous folks who have stayed there. The only negative, was the size of the bathroom in our room, very small but clean. One suggestion if you are a breakfast person, purchase a package that includes the breakfast buffet, it is amazing. We stay their again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Omni Shoreham Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the history and location of our property and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Only stayed the one night for a football game but received a very warm welcome in a huge reception area very well decked out in Christmas decorations. Never seen so many Christmas trees. Staff are universally excellent - concierge very helpful in getting me sorted out. Metro very convenient for trips around, White house only two stops away. Room decoration was a bit dated but very clean. Certainly would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPD444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your quick visit to the Omni Shoreham. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and we hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
269 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a charming part of DC. The hotel has a rich history, with posters around the lobby chronicling the large number of famous folks who frequented the hotel in years past. The room was well-appointed, though the bed wasn't the most comfortable I've seen. In contrast to what most hotel chains offer, there we only two pillows for a king bed. Wrth the stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We appreciate the opportunity to read about your experience at the Omni Shoreham Hotel and hope to have you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is very grand, but the staff are friendly and efficient, not at all stuffy.
The rooms were very comfortable, but showing their age. The included breakfast buffet was very good, including fresh waffles, omlettes, etc.
The location was excellent - very close to a range of restaurants, the Metro, the bus, a Trolley stop. It is walking distance to the zoo, which is a great place to spend some time relaxing.
The lifts were a problem - they were small and there weren't sufficient to efficiently service the number of rooms, so accessing our room took some time at peak periods.

Room Tip: I would suggest joining their free member program for added benefits (eg. morning beverage delivered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_PwMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for allowing us to read about your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and were treated well by our associates. If you return to DC, we hope you will once again consider us for your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing