We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Magnificent hotel w/ shockingly low rates & wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent hotel w/ shockingly low rates & wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending 8 nights here for a work related event and was really pleased with the staff and valet of the hotel who were courteous, incredibly nice, and expedient with any demand.

There were great rates on hotel sites, I would pick them over many other hotels and the cheap rates were an added bonus. The hotel is within a block of some great restaurants (lebanese, japanese, indian, mexican) and right behind the gorgeous Rock Creek Park which is a quick way to bypass some DC traffic if headed to the airport or over the Arlington Memorial Bridge.

The brunch buffet on the weekends is an absolute deal. They have a waffle and omelet station as well as plenty of fresh fruit and juices.

Join the Omni Rewards program for free and you get free wifi, free juice/coffee/newspaper delivery to your room EACH morning, free shoe shining, 2 free pressings each day, etc. It is one of the better hotel rewards programs I have come across so join online before you show up to save time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navsingh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel as well as the benefits of our Select Guest Program. Thank you for taking the time to share all of your complimentary comments and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,995
    1,675
    548
    249
    125
See reviews for
1,394
1,046
239
2,342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights for a conference. Loved this hotel. It is an EXCELLENT location, walking distance to restaurants and the metro. Quick taxi rides to other locations around DC. I would definitely stay here again. My room was huge with a little balcony. Loved having the coffee in the room, and the little coffee shop inside the hotel with snacks was very convenient. Very helpful staff when I wanted to explore the city one night. They gave great recommendations and told me exactly how to get there. Also recommend for a family, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camacita202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are grateful for your generous recommendation of the Omni Shoreham on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at Omnishoreham for 2 nights. The hotel is imposing from the outside. Once inside the visitor is greeted with a large atmospheric lobby that makes a immediate positive impression. The dining room is a delight as is the Marquee bar lounge. All in all downstairs is impressive reminiscent of a 1930's period hotel.
However a hotel of this size and rating needs to splash out on a serious refurbishment of its bedrooms which to say the least are tired and dated, particularly the bathrooms which are far from 4 star rating. Wallpaper is old, bathtubs scratched and stained, doors old and marked giving a rather depressing and dour feel to the place. Beds in all fairness were comfortable. In short the rooms were a major let down and far from what one would encounter in a similar rated property in europe. So I would urge the management to recognise this shortfall and not let the accommodation bring this hotel s reputation down.
To sum up OK place to stay, but could be so much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polonaiseWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We appreciate your comments and can assure you that our renovation team is actively planning ways to address the areas of our rooms that are in need of an update. We are committed to doing what is needed to provide our guests with a comfortable stay and we hope that we will have a future opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we were holed up in the Omni during Hurricane Sandy , cannot think of a better place.
Rooms were large and the bed the most comfortable I have experienced.

staff very helpful and the facility has a nice gym
local eateries are nearby - with the Irish Pub one of our favourites

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Although we regret the circumstances during your time with us, we are glad you had a wonderful stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just back from DC and stayed 4 nights in the Omni, lovely hotel, nice big spacious rooms, good location and excellent local food places.

Its just outwith the tourist area but with the underground across the street travelling isn't a problem. $20 for cab fare from Union Station so not bad.

Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to DC for the weekend and decided on this hotel because of its close location to both the subway and the zoo. It was a beautiful hotel and we loved staying there. The rooms were so big and were equipped with a mini fridge and safe. There was also coffee/tea in the room for morning. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imabusy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your weekend getaway to the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is not the kind of hotel I would choose for my vacation; too sterile and impersonal, grandma style furniture ...
However, I was on a business trip attending a conference organized in this hotel. As a conference venue it was perfect. The large lobby space and wide alleys are ideal to meet and chat with people between or outside the sessions.
I liked my large bedroom. However, the bathroom was tiny. You have to leave the bathroom to have space to towel yourself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thoiry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Although we regret that there were some aspects of your stay that didn't meet your expectations we appreciate the opportunity to hear about them. We are glad that you were impressed by the conference facilities and hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing