We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can not say enough about this hotel. Our room was fantastic! There were 3 of us (all women), so we shared a bathroom. It got a little tricky, but we managed. Hotel staff was wonderful! Concierge staff was so knowledgable! Very very helpful. On our last day, after checking out of our room, while we were waiting for the shuttle to the airport, one person in our party wasn't feeling well. The manager not only managed to get us back in our room, but had soup and ginger ale sent to the room so she could rest and eat a little. I felt that was going above and beyond what was expected. I would LOVE to come back to this lovely hotel again soon. Open City restaurant across the street ROCKS! We spent the morning of Hurricane Sandy in Open City. They were awesome! Metro station is convenient for travel too. I can't think of one bad thing to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

What a pleasure for us to read your glowing review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope that you will think of us if your travels bring you back to the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,659 - 5,665 of 7,284 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

It has been 25+ years since I last stayed here and Wow!, what a difference. Not sure when it was renovated, but this is now a most gracious, but comfortable and unpretentious property. The rooms are nice, the meeting spaces huge and the staff incredibly friendly and gracious.

Steps away from the Metro, this is a great jumping off point for tourists or business people.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing south have best views and are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We are delighted to read that you were pleasantly surprised by your return to the Omni Shoreham. Thank you for allowing us to read about your stay and we hope you will be our guest again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The rooms, the lobby, it all hardens back to the hotel's glory days when Sinatra and presidents made it their haunt. As rooms go, it's just fine if unsurprising. The hospitality is of a higher order and the concierge staff is particularly good. Likewise the bar staff. Fitness room actually over-equipped. Can't turn around without bumping into high-end gear. The neighborhood contains a few good restaurants and the metro station. Georgetown is nearby but you'll need a cab or healthy legs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnabonian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to read about your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed our history and your stay and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel exists present day solely upon its reputation steeped in its historical guests. However, this reliance on decades old guests of the hotel is to be short lived if it does not change its existing policies and guest relationship strategy.

I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone based on several factors. It is not family friendly as a required fee for the use of a microwave is extremely non-conducive to those families traveling with children who must heat bottles for babies or re-heat food purchased in town for those traveling on a budget. This doesn't even address the $16 dollar breakfast for a bagel and some fruit.

People on business have much better options regarding business friendly hotels as well. The price to use the business center is an old business model given that in this technology rich environment, even the budget hotels offer better access to the Internet and more affordable, if not free use of a printer and wireless connectivity. The requirement to sign up for hotel membership to obtain free wireless is asinine and totally unacceptable today. 49 cents for a single black and white photocopy is absurdly expensive.

In addition, the most serious of reasons is the lack of guest relations. Several days in a row multiple rooms were left open and unlocked after been visited by housekeeping. This is even after bringing this fact to hotel management not once, but two days in a row, the rooms were still left open. One of the rooms was left open three days in a row. This lack of security leaves guests exposed to personal theft, businesses exposed to corporate espionage and the Omni open to liability law suits. In any event, a non-acceptable situation and one, which could have dire consequences for all parties, involved.
Lastly the room phone was extremely old, had faded writing on it and when used to leave a wake up call went to a disconnected number, the bath towels provided had numerous visible stains on them, and front desk personnel were unfamiliar with the requirements to reserve a cab in the morning with the operator conflicting the front desk regarding the procedures. This hotel needs to invest in an updated business model and spend some funding on its infrastructure before I could recommend this hotel. Clearly it freely takes every advantage of any/all opportunities to get money from hotel guests, but the return on investment is transparent to those same hotel guests.

We booked through Expedia and as a consequence were treated as second- class citizens. We contacted local management, received no response, and finally contacted Corporate for resolution.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We regret to read about your experience at our hotel and have reached out to you privately in hopes that we will have the opportunity to learn more about your stay. Thank you for giving us the chance to read your feedback and we hope to hear back from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had such a pleasant 1 night stay... Felt fortunate to ge a Priceline deal. Think spacious, bright and comfortable while being classic and elegant. Room had lots of light, comfortable bed and open.Convenient to Metro and lots of great DC eateries and energy. Great breakfast @ Open City right across street.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Cecy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Shoreham and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Sandy turned what had intended to be a 2 night stay into just 1 night. Location is slightly away from the major sights but the Woodley Park metro is just 2 mins walk from the hotel so going around the city isn't an issue. It is also situated just beside Rock Creek park which is an absolute joy to stroll in. Rooms are clean and comfortable with all the amentities you would expect. The hotel comes with a decently sized pool which looked quite inviting but it was too cold for a swim during my stay. Hotel exterior looks rather dated as it was built in the 1930s. However, the interior looked fresh and grand.
This property was my favorite during my 2 week trip of the NE. My only regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgguy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Although we regret that Hurricane Sandy shortened your stay we are glad to read that you enjoyed what time you did have our hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and we hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've stayed at the Omni Shoreham a few times for various business meetings and have enjoyed my stay every time. It has a quiet location near the zoo yet is close enough to the metro and good local restaurants to have the convenience of a big city location. It has the feel of an old world hotel with classic decor, high ceilings and spacious rooms. It feels like stepping back in time in some ways although you can get wireless internet. The rooms do not have mini-bars. Bathrooms too are spacious and nicely appointed. The rooms tend to be very quiet, insulated from inside and outside noise. Cell service can be tricky in some locations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed all of your stays at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We appreciate all of your kind words and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#106 of 141 in Washington DC
2,646 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
327 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,273 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $136 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing