We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasurable stay in historic, stately hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasurable stay in historic, stately hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family stayed in a suite at the Omni Shoreham while visiting DC. The hotel is a historic hotel on a lovely piece of property, which is perfect for families traveling who want to escape to a neighborhood out of hussle and bussle downtown. Being only 2 blocks from the Metro and about 4 blocks from the National Zoo, the hotel is very convenient. The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful situated along the Rock Creek Park. We enjoyed the outdoor pool after sight-seeing. The suite we had was quite spacious and nicely decorated. The front desk, concierge, and pool attendants were professional and courteous. We had a wonderful stay! If you do stay, make sure also to check out Open City diner across the street; it has wonderful choice of fresh options.

Room Tip: Being part of the Omni loyalty program gives you definite perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for allowing us to read about your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are glad your family found our 11 acres overlooking Rock Creek Park as a beautiful and relaxing place to unwind from the hustle and bustle of the city. It would be a pleasure for us to have you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,993
    1,673
    548
    246
    124
See reviews for
1,393
1,044
238
2,338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Everything we experienced here was great. The pool and garden areas are beautiful. Very short walk to the Woodley Metro station. Room was more spacious than I thought. Staff was very attentive. I highly recommend the Omni Shoreham.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorback87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We appreciate your generous recommendation of the Omni Shoreham Hotel on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to provide you with a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The Omni Shoreham was a very pleasant place to stay in Washington. it was close to the subway line and had many good restaurants surrounding it. Although a bit impersonal being such a large hotel the too s was massive by usual hotel standard and if you joined their loyalty program (which is free) then you are able to get free wifi in your room. It is also a conference hotel which can make the lifts slower than normal. Overall I had a very pleasant stay and would stay the again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jlo9907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are glad you had a good stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The Omni-Shoreham is the stately grand dame of DC hotels - and I love it the once a year Im there for an annual conference. 

You want to avoid the new wing, but the old hotel is lovely and the substantially sized rooms have been updated very nicely.

Try to get a room facing the expansive, lush gardens, preferably with a balcony! It's quiet and lovely.
The Omni Shoreham also has a nice, large outside pool and a good-sized (for a hotel) gym space with a good range of equipment.

What I've learned, however, is to avoid the elevators - try to get a relatively low floor and take the stairs as the elevator is particularly s-l-o-www.

The surrounding area is increasingly vibrant and has changed significantly in recent years - there are some by nice restaurants, DuPont Circle is about a 15 minute walk and the Metro is just a block away too.

If I could change anything... Well, I'd speed up the elevator, but that's unlikely. It's that the chair at the desk isn't very desk friendly (not height adjustable) and. I ended up dragging the chair out to the balcony to read the paper and do some work in the early morning... They could use a decent desk chair on wheels and something that can sit outside.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank penrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 8 nights at the end of June 2012 and had a wonderful stay. From the moment we stepped on to the property -- we were treated as valued guests ....I've never seen service like theirs and it was a pleasure.
A special thank you to Schpat (one of the doormen) and Urselle (housekeeping) and Norbert (CS Mgr) -- they went above and beyond making us feel welcomed.
The room was wonderful and comfy ...we only have one complaint -- the Wireless internet was a royal pain and after a while we just gave up and took our devices to the lobby. They are addressing this issue and I am sure they will get it resolved.
The trip was a birthday gift for us both and they had two wonderfully decorated cupcakes and a bottle of champagne waiting for us the first evening we got back which was very much appreciated.
The turn down service was nice and the complimentary beverage in the morning was a great way to start our day. (Sign up for the Preferred Guest program --it's well worth the time)
All of our requests were cheerfully handled and we will not hesitate to come back (although maybe not while they are having a heat way!!).
The location was perfect for getting around -- the Metro is just a short walk away.
Lots of really nice little places to eat in the area as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for allowing us to share your birthday celebration. We are thrilled that Schpat, Urselle, and Norbert helped to make it a special occasion for you. It would be our good fortune to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Check in was very smooth by a very nice chap. We had booked a suite, which was huge. It was our anniversary celebration and on the first night we had a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne delivered to our room. The next evening we had a plate of cheese/fruit and biscuits sent along with sparkling water, such kind and thoughtful gestures! Thank You! My daughter had milk and cookies sent to the room too on our first night. We are part of the Omni Select programme and had chosen free morning beverages to be delivered at 7.15am, but we were so jet lagged that they kindly bought them to our room at 6am when I called to ask.

The service in this hotel is outstanding. The pool and grounds were gorgeous and our suite was huge and so well maintained. After a day sightseeing, it was lovely to return for a swim and relax in the hammocks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGMANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for including us as part of your anniversary holiday. We enjoyed making it a memorable celebration and hope for a future opportunity to have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here during our sightseeing Washington DC tour this past week and loved this hotel! Although it was large, it still had a small hotel feel. The service was outstanding! The rooms were comfortable and we absolutely loved the REAL throw on the beds. Plenty of soft towels and real throw rugs in the bathrooms. The bathrooms are small but big enough. Be sure to ask for a room where the bath has a counter top. Our first room did not have one and we had little space to store our toiletries. The elevators are smal but they come fast enough., We did not have long waits. I had read olf complaints about the valet service but we had excellent service. Our car was ready when we asked for them and the personnel was very courteous. The only negative would be the concierges. I really thought they were a bit snooty and acted as though they were above some of the questions. We did have problems with wireless but switched rooms and had no further problems. They get an A plus for the breakfast buffet though. If you can get a package that includes the breakfast everyday, it is well worth it. IT WAS AWESOME! The omelet lady was the best I've seen and I have been everywhere. The salsa for the omelets was the best I've tasted. It was just great! Would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with odd number for a better view. We were disappointed with out view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pittword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Omni Shoreham. We are glad that everything about your stay, especially your breakfast was awesome. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 2,210 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing