We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic vaction hotel there were problems but staff sorted out very quickly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
stafford England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic vaction hotel there were problems but staff sorted out very quickly”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

my freind and i stayed here 13 18 april on our first night the room was really noisey with sounds coming from i assume air conditioning fans so my freind and i had no sleep all night ,i telephoned down at 7.00am and delt with Christabel on the front desk who was excellent she gave us an upgarade room change and gave us a free breakfast in there wonderfull restaurant, also got us a porter to help us move which was a good help and we were still on time to start our sightseeing., when we returned from sight seeing she had left a message in the room to check that all was now well which we replied to and thanked her for her help. when we returned back to the hotel after our night out we found she had sent us a plate of fruit and cheese. We were very impressed as we know problems happen but it is how they are delt with and i can only say top maks to christobel she was brilliant. On our last night we booked through scott nichols the concierge a night tour of the monuments this was to be our last night and a trip we had left untill the end for a special end to our holiday the company we were to be picked up at the hotel on a small bus and shown the sights we waited 2 hours and no one arrived scott and christobel phoned the company many times and kept getting told it was on its way it was by now 8.00pm and as we were planning to eat after the trip we spoke to scott nichols and said we would cancel as it was now to late he was very angry with the company who he had reccomended to us and was really upset it had ruined our last evening in washington he offered us dinner and wine in the restaurant as a gesture of goodwill which we were delighted with. It was not the hotels fault the tour bus never arrived and not up to the hotel to rectify but they tried there best to make us happy, So again full marks to scott nichols and christobel.
We plant to return one day to washing and will most definately stay the omni shoreham it was in an excellent postion for walking and metro to see all the sights the shoreham rewards package is not to be missed fresh coffee every morning and free wifi was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiesmith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Although we were disappointed to read that there were a few hiccups during your time with us we are thrilled to hear how well they were handled by Christabel and Scott. We are glad to hear that their attentiveness reflected so well on your experience and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,410
    1,914
    663
    307
    160
See reviews for
1,623
1,177
266
2,787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding in Washington. We were completely impressed by the hotel and its staff. The place itself is immense, with beautiful gardens and a huge heated outdoor pool. This was not at all what I would expect to find in a major city! The gym is excellent, too, and the breakfast buffet--a bargain at $20 pp, believe it or not--was generous and impeccable.
Every person we encountered during our stay was friendly and helpful.
The only thing I'd alert a potential visitor to is the style of decor, which is historically appropriate but to some may seem a little stuffy. Our room was immaculate, as was the whole hotel.
If you do choose to stay here, take advantage of the Zoo, which is a couple of blocks away. They have pandas, and as part of the Smithsonian, the zoo is free.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
56 Thank Travelsalot05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We are so happy to read that you attendance at a wedding allowed you to experience The Omni Shoreham Hotel. We appreciate all of your kind words and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I stayed May 3-7, 2011. This hotel is excellent in all respects. It is located with 1/2 block of a Metro station, which make it easy to get to the hotel from the airport. We flew into Reagan National, walked from baggage claim directly into the Metro station. We purchased 7-day unlimited Metro tickets for $32,35 and found that the Metro met all of out transportion needs while we were there.

The Omni Shoreham has very much history, be sure to take time to read the information on the banners in the lobby about some of the famous guest that have been there. There are also display cases with interesting items.

We found the staff to be very helpful and willing to answer any questions and make suggestions on things to do and see while in the area.

Be sure to sign up for the Omni awards program and you will receive free internet access while there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgampp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed learning about the history of the Omni Shoreham while you were with us and we appreciate your kind compliments of our staff. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We got a wedding party rate and a room that could fit a mini copper in it. The person on the left side of the bed could not get up unless they crawled over the person on the right. The refrigerator was very small and could not hold a 12 pack of 12oz soda cans. The bathroom did not have an exhaust fan and the room was like an oven so we had to keep the windows open to stay cool.
THEY ARE NOT GREEN ABOUT THE HEAT IN APRIL

The $4.00 muffin in the hotel lobby was not worth it. Go to DD!

The average age of the guests are AARP and above.

This place is No where near the monuments.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomRIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We truly regret to hear that your experience at The Omni Shoreham fell short of your expectations. Due to the historic nature of our property we do have rooms of varying sizes. If you return, do not hesitate to let us know your preference for a larger room and we will make all efforts to accommodate your request. All of your feedback will be shared with our management team as it presents us with an opportunity to make improvements. Please accept our apologies for a less than satisfactory stay and we hope you will reconsider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2011

An adult hotel is the way my granddaughter described this to her mother as soon as she entered the lobby. "You should see this place". The first night she received cookies and milk at bedtime. The pool was a huge hit after a day of sightseeing and the beds were sink into comfort quality. Neither of us-over 50 and under 13-could complain about one thing. Cleanliness, spaciousness and service are all here at a reasonable price. The Sunday buffet was delicious and served outdoors facing the park with overhead fans. A perfect weekend get away. I have another trip coming up in May of 2011 and you can bet this is my home.

Room Tip: Be polite and smile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohtheplacesugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We are thrilled to read that you left The Omni Shoreham Hotel with no complaints. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed here for Easter weekend and found the Omni Shorham and its staff to be just as we'd hoped! The proximity to Rock Creek Park, the metro and neighborhood cafes made the Omni Shorham very convenient. The room quality and amenities pleased us....the only flaw being an unpleasant smell from the HVAC system on a warm & muggy day. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Canopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We are glad that all of your expectations were met during your stay at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel was fantastic, beautiful lobby and rooms, very clean and very spacious. No complaints aside from the fact that so many conventions were held in the hotel that at times the lobby was insane and way to busy.

The staff was very nice and willing to go above and beyond for the guests.

Great classic hotel but very modern, I loved this hotel and I will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich3677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for sharing your praise of our hotel on TripAdvisor. At times, the lobby can be quite a flurry of activity but we are glad to read that this did not detract from your stay. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing