We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a tourist stay”
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
Ranked #24 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great for a tourist stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We used to live in DC and were returning after seven years. We didn't want a chain hotel, same wherever in the world. We wanted somewhere good for exploring on foot. The Normandy was just right. A stroll down the hill to DuPont Circle with its upmarket slightly bohemian feel, interesting food and drink, bookshops etc. not so far to walk to the White House and Mall. Car hire too, nearby, at the Hilton and Marriott on Calvert Street.

The staff are so helpful. The wine-and-cheese hour is a lovely social occasion. Our room was not the largest and the neighbours noisy but we were at home. The lift is a bit old and needs some of the lights on the floor indicators fixing but in a small hotel we weren't inconvenienced. We shall return

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank GBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear GBeef, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was nice to read that it felt like home. That's how we want our guests to feel. It was also nice to read that you found it so easy to get around from here and that the staff was so helpful to you. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you through the area, you choose to stay with us again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    318
    60
    17
    13
See reviews for
212
261
54
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was booked for me by someone else - I would never have found it. Although a bit hard to find initially (because it is off the main road), the atmosphere was very residential outside and it felt like I as visiting a friend's home, rather than a hotel. The front desk staff was more helpful than any 5-star hotel. The rooms were comfortable, although the mattress was a bit old and the bedside reading lights were almost falling out of the walls. All in all though, I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel4buisness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear travel4business, Thank you for your recent review of The Normandy. We were very glad that you found our staff so helpful and that you felt like you were a t a friend's house. That's the way we want everyone to feel. We'd also like to apologize for the bedside lights. Sorry we missed that. Thank you again and we hope to see you back with us again, very soon
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great atmosphere, it is relaxed and the staff do a very good job. I
I would happily give it a 'very good', but for the breakfast. This is meant to be a continental breakfast, but lacks cheese, ham or salami, tomatoes, and is graced with terrible sliced bread. The breakfast consists of dusty looking cereal, some pastries, and hard boiled eggs. An odd meal, and far from healthy. On the first day we set off to get breakfast down at Dupont Circle. This was fine, but since my hotel bill included breakfast it meant I was paying twice.
For those of you who read other reviews here: the Wifi worked perfectly and the room was clean. Use this happy hotel as a base in DC. But eat your breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank walton_rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear walton_rebecca, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were glad to read that you had a good stay with us and found us a good home base to explore Washington. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the breakfast offerings. The items you said we were lacking are generally not typical of a continental breakfast in the states but it is something were are considering switching to. Thank you for the honest feedback. This really helps us grow. We truly hope that the next time you visit Washington, you choose to stay with us again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We had rooms facing the street, and in a week stay did not hear one vehicle or voice during the night. Bed was very comfortable, cookies during happy hour were a bonus for the non-wine drinkers, and the motion night light in the bathroom was a genius safety bonus for travelers. The hotel is in a tree lined safe feeling neighborhood conveniently located between two Metro stops. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We faced the front on the second floor and found it to be quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cautiousfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear cautiousfoodie, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. We're also very glad that you enjoyed our fresh baked cookies, as well. Whenever your travels bring you through the DC area, we hope you choose to stay at The Normandy again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Generally older hotels have to rely on panache rather than scale and the Normandy feels like the perfect size in that regard. It is tucked into a "neighborhood" just off some main shopping streets in downtown Washington DC. There is valet parking with in and out privileges and it is also close enough to walk to the Metro station. We arrived a little early, and they were quick to accommodate us. There is no fitness facility on-site but there is access to a very nice facility at no charge. It is a short walk away and although I set off with the best intentions of working out, I got sidetracked by a boutique that offered hair-braiding services. :-) There were restaurants and shops within walking distance. The rooms were small but comfortable. The bedding was fantastic. Everybody was very friendly. They had a good breakfast in a dining area that was more like a living room than a cafeteria style which was nice because it facilitated comfortable conversation with other guests. I did not partake of the wine tasting, but was told that they provide wine tasting in the evening so that guests can enjoy the hotel and the company. Overall I give Normandy 5 stars. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor on the street side. I thought it was fine. It was quiet and the windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNOtoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear MNOtoole, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of The Normandy. It was great to read that you found everyone friendly and that you enjoyed our breakfast. Hopefully, the next time you visit us, you'll actually make it to Mint, our fully service fitness and spa partner. Hope to see you very soon.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

From the moment that we arrived we were treated like family. The staff could not be any more pleasant or professional. They offered every possible kindness. Our room was absolutely clean. We are sure to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BDuhaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear BDuhaime, Thank you for the wonderful review of The Normandy. Personalized service is what we strive for daily and it's great to know we've succeeded. We look forward to your next visit with us (hopefully very soon).
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh N Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Close walk to Dupont Circle and all the great restaurants. I used the Diner on 18 St for breakfast. Staff uber friendly. When I was confirming my booking I asked for good weather and cold beer. Lo and behold when my wife and I arrived in the room there were two beers on ice and a lovely note. Thank you Normandy Hotel I cannot commend you enough. We will return

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DeanNullec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear DeanNullec, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was fantastic to see that you had such a great stay. We were very pleased to read that you were delighted by the surprise of the cold beers upon your arrival. We truly hope to see you back with us in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#43 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Property: The Normandy Hotel
Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-3906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing