We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel, very nice staff”
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
Ranked #34 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I recently stayed at The Normandy for a convention. The price was very reasonable compared to many of the hotels in the surrounding area. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed and the bathrooms were very luxurious. The staff were incredibly friendly and always welcomed you with a smile and a question about how your day is going when entering and leaving the hotel. I can't find anything to complain about other than maybe the weak water pressure in the showers - if you can call that a complaint. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Amy G, thank you for your review of our hotel. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff incredibly friendly. We would also like to thank you for mentioning the water pressure issue you experienced. Since this is an issue we don't usually hear about, we will seriously look into it. Thank you again, and we hope that we can welcome you back to The Normandy in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in November 13 and found the hotel to be ideal and very reasonably priced for the capital. Interesting room decor and nice quiet location. We found it to be a pleasant walk down to the monuments and museums and also easy enough to walk to the Smithsonian zoo which is well worth a visit. The subway is within 10 minutes walk. There is an incredible variety of eateries if you decide to have a wander around some of the neighborhoods.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear SteHenderson, thank you for your recent review. We were pleased that you found our decor interesting and enjoyed the quiet of our location. We hope that the next time you visit Washington, you choose The Normandy.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013. We were two adults and two teenagers travelling to Washington, and we needed an affordable hotel that was situated close to the CBD.

This is a small hotel, and the entrance/lobby is a bit dark and not very well lit, but the staff are all very friendly and the service was excellent. We stayed in a front room that was facing the road, and it was a great room. In fact is was the best hotel room that we had in our entire trip to the USA. The room was a decent size (it had two queen size beds), and looked very modern. It had a flat screen TV, aircon, and en-suite bathroom, plus a coffee machine.

This is a well priced hotel, and I think it is great value for money. If we needed to travel to Washington DC in the future I would definitely stay here again, and I would also recommend this hotel to any friends and family that are travelling there.

The hotel is in a residential area, and just off the main road, so it was well placed and the surroundings were quiet.

The walk to the DuPont circle metro was downhill and about 10-15 mins (depending on how fast you walk), you can then catch the metro into the CBD. Our family enjoys walking, so we actually walked the whole way in to the CBD every day of our visit, I think it was about 5kms walk and took about 45mins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear LizaAnn, thank you for taking the time to do a review of The Normandy. We were ecstatic to read that you found our rooms the best in the USA, well priced and that you would recommend us to others. We truly hope that the next time you come to DC, you choose The Normandy as your home away from home.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed in a room on 3rd floor for 4 nights for business. There was intermittent minimal cell phone reception. I requested a different room and was told they were "at capacity". My TV did not work- the remote had no batteries. I called down to request batteries and was told they would be 'right there";-- no one ever showed; I had housekeeping take care of it the next day. Front desk attendees are untrained, casual and seem to lack resources for problem solving. The location is great, I got a reduced rate through booking.com; but in the end, got what I paid for.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces a street. Rooms on both sides of the hotel have limited view except the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear RobynDB, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Batteries should not have taken that long to reach your room and we are sorry about that. Your feed back will definitely help us improve and train our very new Front Desk staff. As far as telephone reception goes, there isn't much we can do about that, unfortunately. That is dependent on the proximity of a cell tower for your particular carrier. We have found that Verizon, T-Mobile and Sprint seem to be the strongest carriers in this area of town.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is my second time to stay here. Both times, the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was taken care of. Upon returning to the hotel before dinner every afternoon, the folks at the front desk would ask how the day was going and if there was anything they could do. I had recommended this hotel to several friends, and all of them spoke very highly of the experience. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcmayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Rcmayes, thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our staff and felt well taken care of. We'd also like to thank you for recommending us to your friends. We hope to see you back here in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have tried to book accommodation at this hotel and sent 2 emails asking for price clarification as I am in the UK.
Such a shame they don't reply to prospective clients as they do reviews. Will I get a response from this

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank gibbs2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear gibbs2009, we are hoping that you have, by now, received a response from our Reservations Department and had your questions answered. We do truly apologize for not getting back to you in a timely manner. In all honesty your emails were just simply overlooked in the mass of emails that department received. No excuses, we made a mistake. We now have more than one person monitoring that mailbox and trust that we shouldn't have that issue again. Thank you for pointing it out to us and we hope to see you at The Normandy in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ohoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed one night at the Normandy, in town for a conference. While the room was a little small (with a giant flat-panel TV) it was comfy and had a luxurious bathroom with excellent shower. Wine in the lobby during the evening and espresso machine in the room were all appreciated. . Since the room was rather European in nature I expected the breakfast to follow suit and was disappointed that it didn't. Too many carbs and not enough protein, or coffee. For $12, the breakfast could use some improvement. My room was on the 6th floor and, most importantly, very quiet! Staff very friendly, and the room very clean. All in all, a good place and I'd return again.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairfax28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear fairfax28, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Normandy. We were pleased to read that you found our rooms comfortable, clean and quiet. We were doubly pleased that you found the staff very friendly. We also want to thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. It's through comment like yours that we can improve our overall product. Once again, thank you for choosing The Normandy and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
543 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,786 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,326 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-3906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $86 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing