We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
Ranked #23 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stopped at the Normandy for 5 nights arriving at about 11pm due to the ridiculous queue at immigration for 2 hrs. I took a Super Shuttle from the airport, and I am glad I did. The hotel is located on a side road tucked away, so it is very quiet, but not the easiest to find at 11pm at night in a new city. The hotel is a 10 min walk (uphill) along from DuPoint Circle and an equal distance the other direction to Woodley Park - both are on the red line.
The room was really clean, spotless - but very warm. As mentioned by other reviewers this is due to the fact the air con can't be turned down below 18.5, and the windows only open a few inches. In the end I got the front desk to open the window and I left the air con turned off to cool the room. It wasn't what I needed after a long journey late at night. But it got sorted. Breakfast was nice enough, maybe not a lot for $ 13. I found by walking up the road to Adams Morgan (toward Woodley Park) a lot more places doing decent breakfasts for similar prices.
I didn't spend a great deal of time at the hotel, but the people on the desk always answered any questions about transport or DC in general.
The best thing about this hotel is it's a lot cheaper than it's peers, and it's quite well connected (metro lines as mentioned), so a good base to explore DC from. I enjoyed my break at Normandy hotel and I would stay here again if I visited DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    240
    47
    14
    11
See reviews for
146
182
38
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This quaint little hotel is located in the Dupont Circle area just off of Connecticut in a residential area not far from a Metro stop. For the price it could not be beat . The staff was especially wonderful and , in particular, David was most helpful facilitating our departure. Our room did not have much of a view but the price made up for that . The room was nicely appointed and radiantly clean. We would recommend it to anyone and will stay here again on our next trip to DC if a comparable room rate is available then.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall, we loved the hotel. While small, the rooms had updated furnishings and a comfortable bed. It is an older hotel, but I very good condition. It is close to the DuPont Circle and metro. The neighborhood is beautiful, several Embassy's on the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative was the climate control. We could not get our room to cool off. Fortunately it was cool enough to sleep with the window open. We did advise the front desk after the first night, but no improvement. While checking out, I overheard another guest making the same complaint. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bfh195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A friend and myself stayed here while attending a conference in Washington, DC. I cannot say enough about this hotel. Clean, safe, and friendly staff. Some names that I remember are Aj, Lamiae, and Lamia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToniH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was very nice we arrived around midnight and had no issue to get to our room. We stayed only one night. Rooms are decorated very nicely and clean however they are on the small side just like the European hotels. Bed was very comfortable.
The staff can use some training in customer service. As we arrived we asked for extra towels, the front desk person told me that he will bring them up. However after 10 minutes in the room the phone rang and he said that he cannot bring them up until the morning.
When we arrived we tried to get coffee from the free machine that they have next to the lobby but the machine did not function and had no coffee in it. There is also an espresso machine in the room. The machine did not have any coffee pods even though the morning front desk person told me that they should be in the machine. The water reservoir was missing from the machine so, no coffee could be made. When I expressed my disappointment on the subject with the front desk they had nothing to say.
A guest at such hotel might expect the front desk to order coffee for the guest before they leave the hotel. However, at the Normandy it appears that staff care less if guests are satisfied or return to stay with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doronbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had its ups and downs. Helpful hotel staff is definitely an up. Arrived on a red eye and was able to check in early (around 8am) which was great. Staff was super friendly, although was unaware of a deal available on the hotel website. Room was warm when I entered, so I turned the air down as far as possible. Took a nap and when I awoke it was 80 degrees in the room. Tried to open windows only to discover they only opened about 4 inches and that what I thought was the air conditioning unit was right outside my window (the noise when it kicked on every 30 minutes or so was so loud I had to shut the window). Went to use the iron discovered it was broken, asked for a new one to be delivered and it wasn't. Next morning the temperature in my room was 80 degrees. Called and had the front desk deliver the iron and check on the lack of air. They said the engineer would come after I left for the day. Returned at 3pm to find out that because it was an old building it was either heat or air and the building was set to heat. After pointing out that I wasn't paying this much to be in a room that was now even warmer, I asked to be moved to a room where windows opened. I was given another room, moved my stuff, only to be told that the room was promised to someone else I was moved again.

Overall the customer service was good. The rooms were great (warning standard queen is tiny, but superior queen is normal size). Everything was queen and the hotel was quiet. Only other downside was the mediocre wifi. I called several times and was told it was something wrong with my equipment (I had 3 devices with wifi so I'm pretty sure that wasn't it).

I would stay here agin, but only if it were much lower priced than other area hotels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a great find.Quiet area but a couple of minutes walk from restaurants,shops etc.The hotel is boutique style.Lovely lounge area,free coffee and tea available all day plus wine on some evenings.Rooms are good size with great bathrooms.Staff go out of their way to be helpful and nothing was too much trouble.It is possible to walk to most major attractions. We walked to The White House,it took about 30 mins, stopping at shops on route.It is also about 15 mins from the zoo which is free!There is a metro close by and the metro system in D.C. is really good and easy to follow.
We were looking at larger hotels and were so pleased we chose this instead.Hope one day to return.

Room Tip: Had a room on first floor which was fine so could use the stairs when we wanted to. Quiet area so ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Property: The Normandy Hotel
Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing