We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in DC”
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
BRIGHTON
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place in DC”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was such a delightful hotel. The location is perfect, located only a few blocks from the Metro in a very distinctive residential neighborhood. The service at the hotel was outstanding and although the rooms are small, the common areas make up for the lack of room space. We loved coming back here everyday after a hectic sightseeing schedule, it was a quiet and relaxing place to unwind with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHLEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Greetings KATHLEEN P!

I am thrilled to see that your stay with us at The Normandy Hotel was fantastic! Thank you for taking the time to share with the TA community! Our team will be so pleased to hear that they were able to make your stay so pleasurable. Our hotel really is special! Take care and hope to see you soon!

Lee Seiler
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    330
    62
    18
    14
See reviews for
222
266
55
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Tamworth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is located midway between the Dupont Circle and Woodley Park/Zoo Metro stops. I'd advise riding the Metro to Woodley Park when arriving - then it's a short *downhill* walk on Connecticut Ave to Wyoming, and the hotel is one or two buildings in from the corner. And, by the same logic, when you leave by Metro, walk downhill to Dupont Circle stop.
The room with two beds was not large, as others have said, the in room Nespresso machine is a nice touch, as is the 24 hours tea and coffee in the breakfast nook. The room was clean and well decorated, the marble shower with a bench gave a luxury touch.
Breakfast is 16.95. It's a nice, European-style spread, with meat, cheese, fruit, bread, juice, cereal and more, but there's a bazillion good places to eat nearby, including the Dupont Circle branch of Teaism.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Annie R!

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us at The Normandy Hotel! Our location can’t be beat and you are correct, you can always walk downhill to a metro stop! I look forward to sharing your thoughts with our team here, they will be elated to hear you enjoyed! Our breakfast price has actually been reduced and we provide more seasonal and fresh choices as well! Please visit us soon and enjoy our evening wine reception as well. Our cozy patios are ready for relaxing and enjoying!

All the best,

Lee

Lee Seiler
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my weekend stay at this european style hotel. Very comfortable and quiet with lots of lovely common areas to enjoy both inside and outside. If you are very tall you may not be as comfortable as the hallways are low and the rooms are a little on the small side. A double room meant a large bed and a roll away to the proprietors, not 2 queens. The amenities and special touches were top notch. Very nice wine & cheese hour. The view from our room was lovely. This hotel is in walking distance of the zoo and a fantastic French restaurant. I would definitely return to this hotel, maybe even with my 6 foot tall husband.

Room Tip: If you have a tall person in your party, see if they have a slightly larger room. If you want 2 beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorseBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear NorseBride,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us at The Normandy Hotel. It’s great to see that our hotel proved to be comfortable and convenient for you! I am so happy to see that the special touches we focus on made your stay a most pleasurable. Please know that we are always here for you when your travels bring you back to DC!

Best,

Lee

Lee Seiler
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
1,585 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,134 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
286 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,430 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Property: The Normandy Hotel
Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-3906
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing