We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudely awoken”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Please do not come here if you want a restful nights sleep, I was woken up at 7am today by work men laughing and shouting at each other directly outside my door and then window. I understood that there were construction works going on at the hotel but I didn't expect to be rudely awoken by it directly outside my door and window on the 4th floor. I can deal with background construction noise (as I had previous mornings) but this was just inconsiderate builders being extremely noisy.

Another problem I had with the hotel was extremely poor wifi. The only place I could get a signal was sitting on the toilet which isn't very helpful! I did complain about this to the staff who sent a nice maintenance man to try sort the problem but to no avail. I did ask to move room but they could only offer me a basement room directly under our previous room with equally as poor signal. In the end we just had to deal with no wifi in our room but it has been extremely frustrating!

Our room was fine otherwise, comfortable bed, good bathroom. The breakfast was a let down, barely continental- a few muffins, croissants, toast, apples, oranges, juices and cereal. Overall the hotel was pretty average. The hotel would have scored higher if not for the crazy loud drilling at 7am directly outside my window!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Emzshea,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the construction crew was noisy one of the mornings you were staying with us. We have spoken with them and we don't anticipate it happening again. I was glad to hear our staff was kind and attentive to your WiFi issue, although I'm sorry that the limitations of our current technology prevented us from being able to fully resolve the issue. We are very much looking forward to our updated amenities, including better WiFi, with the launch of the new addition this Fall.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring to you back to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 745 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I liked the fact it is a historic hotel; it has character. I stayed here for 4 days recently and would stay here again if in Washington. Staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast included is a bonus. I had a large room and living room for around $220 per night, which is good for a hotel in Washington so close to the White House and other attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Simon,
Many thanks for you review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and always love to hear about how friendly and attentive our staff is. We look forward to having you back for your next visit to Washington, DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We flew in to Washington DC Sunday May 18 2014. We were greeted by Teshome & he made every effort to make us feel welcome and at home. We've traveled together to Mexico, New York, Florida, Las Vegas, etc. for years and are used to staying at the bigger hotel resorts. I must say it was refreshing to stay at a smaller more personable Inn for a change. We absolutely loved this place! This location is ideal for those coming to Washington to really take in the sights. Easy walks to the downtown & a short bus ride to anywhere else! When we returned each day from lots of walking we were greeted with fresh made cookies & drinks. Really felt like we were staying at a "Bed & Breakfast" Must say the guys running Morrison-Clark made every effort to make it one of the best vacations we've ever had! Truly a 'best kept secret' in the D.C. area! Everybody there did a great job! Thanks guys! Ron & Susie C

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We enjoyed having you as our guests as much as you enjoyed staying with us! Teshome is a wonderful asset to our team and I’m so happy to hear that he made a great connection with you. As you said, staying at the Inn is a much more personal experience than with big box hotels, while still enjoying all the modern amenities and our great location. Please, don’t keep us a “secret!” We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home the next time you visit Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

traveling on business and looking for more than a generic hotel. the Morrison Clark, is like taking a step back in time. I was met at the door morning and night with a pleasant greeting form the doorman. The decor is simple, yet elegant and classy. the room smelled clean and fresh and was very comfortable. Location is very convenient.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Clark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Clark K,
I’m so glad you decided to find a hotel outside of the standard chain hotel brands. We often find that business people who travel frequently, our “road warriors”, are so use to being just a room number when staying at other hotels. Our staff is dedicated to making each of our guests feel welcomed and at home. Our old world décor matches our traditional style of genuine hospitality, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed them both. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Washington, DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights. Staff was amazing, Room was very comfortable. They were renovating and doing major construction and you would have never known from our room. Great location and great history in the building.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Our staff is amazing! From the Front Desk to Housekeeping to Engineering, and everywhere in between, we couldn't agree with you more. Thank you for recognizing their efforts; I’ll be sure to share your review with them. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our first visit to DC...we chose the Morrison-Clark Inn because the reviews sounded like a place we could call home for 4 days...SO perfect for us! We love a place we can feel warm and safe, but we don't need a pool, dining, and other fancy frills. From the moment the doorman greeted us after a long bus ride until the morning we left, it was more personal than we expected. EVERY staff person had a smile and a genuine interest in helping us find our way. We regret not writing writing down ALL their names??? Phyllis and Jessica at the front desk, Casseed (sp?) at the door...WHO is their customer service trainer???? A+ in customer service! Did the Morrison-Clark train their staff or were they just lucky to find outstanding people?
A fifteen minute walk to the central metro or Mt Vernon metro and a few early-closing eateries. Not much going on late night in this neighborhood but it was OK for us since we spent the entire day elsewhere and returned to the Inn at night for a quiet time.

We were told upon booking that there was construction going on, no problem for us, we made a positive out of that. Casseed showed us around and we learned a lot about the history of Morrison-Clark as well as seeing plans for the future addition (hope the OLD decor and courtyard gardens stay in the Inn though).

Our 4th floor parlor suite was awesome, a view of 11th street with a morning waking-view of trees and sunrise through French doors. All amenities you need with Wi-Fi, fridge, in-room safe (fyi, if it matters, the TV is in parlor, not bedroom). Anything else you need, just ask at the front desk!

Continental breakfast was enough for us, muffins, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, and coffee was delicious! If we were forced to make a request, we probably would ask for yogurt, a trashcan and a cart to place used dishes.
Overall, an excellent hotel experience! We hope the Morrison-Clark keeps their prices in the "value" range for future visits.

Room Tip: During construction the 11th street view is better than L street. Otherwise, it doesn't matter...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensJ416GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Helen S,
It’s great to hear that our Inn was such a perfect fit for you during your trip to DC. Feedback about our team is always the best compliment and Phyllis, Jessica, and Gadessa will be grateful to know you recognized them in your review. We strive to provide the very best customer service and it’s always wonderful to hear our guests acknowledge the team’s accomplishments. Our Historic Inn - the original two townhouses and the addition put on by the Soldiers’ Sailors’, Marines’ and Airmens’ Club, has a colorful history filled with local entrepreneurs, first ladies, armed forces, celebrities, and many political figures. As we expand into the 1700s carriage house (one of the oldest buildings in DC), and into the former Chinese Community Church, we are looking forward to adding to the pages of our history book. These new properties are of great historical significance and we intend to keep it alive just as we have the original buildings. We look forward to having you back the next time you visit DC so that you may see how we kept our Asian-Victorian décor and expanded our Courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Morrison-Clark Inn exceeded my expectations at every turn. The room was very large and well appointed with a bed that I could sleep in for several days (I don't normally sleep well in hotels.) The location downtown is close to many businesses as well as Chinatown and the Verizon Center.

The staff anticipated my needs and provided superior service in every case.

Room Tip: There is construction ongoing for the expansion and also in the street. Ask for a room away from the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fusedmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Fusedmind,
Thank you for your great review! Our beds are very comfortable and with Italian Frette linens freshly made daily, it makes for a luxurious night’s sleep. As you mentioned, we are just a few blocks from Chinatown and the Verizon center – a hub for great food of all cuisines. I hope you were able to get around town to enjoy what the neighborhood has to offer. We look forward to having you back and once again exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Henley Park Hotel
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
788 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,687 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1011 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $122 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from top Washington, DC attractions, the Morrison Clark Historic Inn and Restaurant is an iconic landmark that captures the true essence of the nation's capital. This beautiful Victorian-era mansion features well-appointed accommodations, complimentary Wi-Fi and valet parking. Dine on inspired American cuisine at our luxurious hotel restaurant. From historic charm to modern comforts, this extraordinary property sets a new luxury standard for Washington, DC boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison-Clark Historic Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Morrison Clark Historic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing