We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, comfortable, funky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Historic, comfortable, funky”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here over a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a fascinating historical property, with rooms that feel unique, not cookie cutter or sterile. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in in a long time, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The restaurant is quite good, if a little pricey. Good, southern-inspired cuisine. I particularly recommend the shrimp and grits appetizer.

The free wifi wasn't good, but the wired connection was free and quite stable. I had a room that was a bit small, but I wasn't in it that much, and it had really good reading lights - a rarity. Next time I'm in DC, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MC_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonClark, Director of Sales at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Morrison-Clark Inn.

Thank you for your comments on the internet access. We do offer wired internet access in all of the rooms which make the connection faster. We are currently working on our wireless connection and hopefully by the time you visit us again we can make sure to have this issue resolved.

Sincerely,

Neda Lewis
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    240
    74
    42
    33
See reviews for
70
276
63
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spend a "night in the city" with dinner and a show. The room we had included a separate living area which made pre-show cocktails more enjoyable. Service was prompt with valet parking readily available. The rooms were very quiet and nicely appointed. Bathroom was a bit older and could probably use updating, but it was otherwise a fantastic stay! We will be back....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvingmywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonClark, Director of Sales at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are so delighted to have had you for our guest.

The room that you were in is our Parlor Suite with the separate living room area. This is great for guests that are traveling to DC and are staying for a longer period, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope that you come back and visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Neda Lewis
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I travel often to Washington and usually stay in the chain hotels. For a change stayed in the Morrison Clark. The charm, location, staff and size of hotel room gave me a new perspective on these older but updated hotels. Would stay there again when in DC.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonClark, Director of Sales at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We pride ourselves in our customer service and are glad to hear that you received the level of quality that you deserve. Even though we are a historic property we make sure to offer the same updates that the larger properties offer such as complimentary internet access, flat screen televisions, and brand new mattresses with frette linens.

Looking forward to hosting you again at our beautiful Historic property in the near future!

Sincerely,
Neda Lewis
Director of Sales and Marketing
nlewis@rbpropertiesinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This place is a DC gem and I would stay here again for future trips to DC. It is close enough to all of central DC by car, and most parts by foot (depending on how you walk!). The only negative was expensive parking, though it was in line with most DC hotels. We managed street parking but it’s not so easy around the location. The building is delightful and all of it is decorated to a period theme, the lobby and reception area being one of the nicest I’ve ever seen. We were in one of their downstairs rooms that albeit very small, was as lovely as the rest of the hotel and themed accordingly. I imagine the suites are very impressive. Didn’t pay for breakfast so can’t comment. Friendly staff and free wi-fi worked well. We managed to get a good rate but even for more I’d stay here again because no other hotels in town have ‘added’ to my DC experience.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BorderRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonClark, Director of Sales at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Historic Morrison-Clark Inn!

We hope you come back and visit us again soon. We have opened our Courtyard and front porch for happy hour and dinner now that the weather in Washington DC is warming up again. Hopefully the next time you visit us you can take advantage of sitting on our front porch with a glass of our famous mint juleps while you overlook beautiful Massachusetts Avenue.

Looking forward to meeting you in the near future!

Sincerely,
Neda Lewis
Director of Sales and Marketing
nlewis@rbpropertiesinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I was in Washington for a two week business trip. Because I was staying for such a long time, for the second time, they gave me a parlor room. Service was impeccable, the room was clean and charming. They even received me with a plate of cheeses and fruits! The restaurant is very pleasant and quiet. Food was OK and a bit expensive but the ravioli are to die for. Staff were always helpful and friendly. One drawback; Wi-Fi is not available in the rooms but a connection is possible if you bring your wire. I will definitely come back. It's home way from home.

Room Tip: Airport transportation is more than what the front desk said; nearly double of what a taxi would cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonClark, Director of Sales at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your two weeks business trip at the Historic Morrison-Clark Inn. We are lucky to have a lot of guests such as yourself which return to our property because they feel that it is their home away from home. This helps our staff get to know each guest by their name as well as what room they prefer, or what their favorite drink or snack is. We hope that you will continue to visit us so that our staff gets to know you the same way.

I do apologize on the wireless connection issues in your guest room, but just for future reference we do offer complimentary wireless internet access in our lobby which also works on our front porch. A lot of our guests take advantage of the beautiful weather during the summer and use our front porch to grab a drink while they work on their laptop.

We are currently working on the wireless internet access, and hope to have a solution for you the next time you visit us.

Sincerely,
Neda Lewis
Director of Sales and Marketing
nlewis@rbpropertiesinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Inn is a heritage building that was restored beautifully,. In the inside of the hotel reminds one of splendour from day for Scarlett O;Hara. from the reception to the rooms. It added the Omph to my short trip to DC,

The staff were absolutely delightful, very helpgul and very much in character.
I will recommend this to anyone who wants an enhance experience of DC.

It is also within easy walking distance of all major sights such as the White House, the Treasury building etc...

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and it was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starrynight88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We received a lovely welcome from pleasant helpful staff and assisted with where to go for a late night drink, having arrived at around 23.00hrs.
The room was a bargain for Washington and was very well appointed, very clean and very comfortable.
We had a great time and an excellent breakfast completed the picture !

Room Tip: No need, leave it to the staff, they will do a great job !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Henley Park Hotel
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
775 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
428 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant

Property: Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Address: 1011 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison-Clark Historic Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Morrison Clark Historic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing