We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very attentive, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Short stay for family event and was very pleased with the room. The King bed and multiple pillows were so comfortable. The airconditioning was preset and the ceiling fan gave a bit more comfort for an even temperature of 69. The room had separate minikitchen area with refrigerator, sink and coffee pot. Bar and snack items in room for additional charge. All the staff were pleasant and attentive. They really seemed to enjoy their job and meeting people. The hotel is within walking distance to many local restaurants and attractions. I would stay there again and thought it was a very welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Nighttime sirens fairly loud to nearby hospital. Ask for quietest room if that would disturb your sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Greetings BeeRandy,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. It is our goal to provide excellent service at all times.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    738
    165
    49
    25
See reviews for
422
746
150
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Hotel Lombardy on Pennsylvania Ave just a few blocks from the White House is ideally situated and within walking distance of downtown, Georgetown and The Kennedy Centre. It is also convenient to a subway station and is a pickup point for the hop-on/hop-off bus. Apart from the exquisite bistro style cuisine of the Café Lombardy, there are also several other excellent restaurants nearby. The stylish, eloquent ambience and warm hospitality of this European style hotel combine to offer a most comfortable stay. We had a superior king room with original art, fine furnishings, oriental carpets and exquisite linens and fabrics. The large comfortable room also featured a separate dressing room with dressing table, large bath,, dining area and a stainless wet bar. Complimentary newspaper and Wi-Fi as well as the usual amenities such as bathrobes, coffee maker and in room safe combined with on site fitness room and off site private pool access all combine to make this a wonderful choice for a stay in DC either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Greetings Roy C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We are staying here for a week( (3 days in so far) with my husband and 2 kids (ages 14 and 11). Yes, the rooms are more in line with European scale...so smaller than most Americans my be used to. But, the rooms are clean, comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. We had a room (408) that had a separate kitchenette area and it was really nice to have that given the length of our stay. All of the staff are friendly, professional and more than accommodating.

You can't beat the location. It is an easy walking distance to the White House, the mall, and a metro station (orange and blue.

There are many restaurants nearby of varying price scales. Found a good, cheap ( but good ) couple of places for both breakfast and dinner. Be rue and have at least one dinner t the hotel. The food is good, prices reasonable...and it is worth it just to be able to have your food served by Mohammed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Greetings Travelbug33423,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a chance to dine in our Cafe. We appreciate your business and hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a two day meeting at the Lombardy. Hotel is on I Street not Pennsylvania as advertised. Sleeping Rooms were nice but noise outside Hotel woke us up both mornings at 6:30 am. The air conditioning in the meeting rooms either had us sweating or freezing. Good restaurants within walking distant of hotel. For a boutique hotel, it was good but not great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Greetings Ed W,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you chose to stay here at the Hotel Lombardy and we use your comments as a tool to improve service. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed for a week while on business without question a great location in the heart of it all and convenient to Whole Foods, CVS and a few other local spots for supplies. The staff was very friendly and attentive but the rooms are stuck in a bit of a time warp to the 1930's and need a significant overhaul. My bathtub had rust spots and the toliet ran all the time. Room was large but lacked any warmth to it. The old lady needs a makeover but I still recommend it if you need to be within walking distance to many downtown office spots.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Greetings PMM12,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is our goal to provide a great experience with a comfortable and inviting atmosphere for our guests, while I feel like you did enjoy some aspects of our hotel during your visit, I feel like we may have fallen short of your expectations. We would like to be able to have you stay with us again and so that we can make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in a suite for a wedding and had a great time. It is a city boutique hotel: stop in the street, unload on the sidewalk and carry it up a few steps to a tiny elevator.
However, the location is good, the rate was good and there is a small cafe for food. Sure the rooms are a little dated and have a strange layout but it was quiet.
The staff was also nice. We needed to microwave baby bottles and they gladly did it in the kitchen.
Valet parking was $37/day.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Greetings Reid T,

Thank your for sharing your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you say with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location of this hotel balance some shortcomings which we faced. It is really 5 minutes walk from White House. First one - lack of hot water, we were two, and there were no possibility to take a shower one by one, second - we had only one bathrobe, third - we could not open window because it was in opposite of the building. About room - very cosy, I enjoyed small kitchen, and wardrobe, iron, hair dryer and working table. I would suggest this hotel for business trip or the 1-2 night to see DC center, for longer stay try to find something more roomy.
Service was very nice, all personnel was very friendly and helpful. I liked very much their manners and smiles.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frigla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Greetings Frigla,

Thank you for your feedback. We will research your concerns and will take action to make corrections immediately.
I am glad however that you enjoyed your room and our service. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing