We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed February 15, 2014

One night stay at the Lombardy and loved it. Great character, clean rooms and great service. Only drawback was the noisy heating system, a few decibels too loud IMHO. Will be returning later in March and hopefully get a quieter heating unit! And alas, no view from the room, just alleyway. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGMontreal_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Greetings JohnGMontreal_canada,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hotel Lombardy. I hope we were able to address your issue concerning the heating unit while you were here, if not the next time you visit please mention that to our Front Desk and you can also request if available to be put in a room facing the front of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you in March.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Lombardy this weekend and are already planning to go back then next time we're in DC. Our suite was spacious, clean, and nicely appointed. The best part about the hotel is it's location: about a five minute walk to two metro stations, five blocks from the White House, and in the middle plenty of restaurants in a range of prices. We didn't need a car since the Lombardy was a great home base to visit museums and monuments (even though it was cold out we walked or took the metro and avoided parking fees and car rental fees). Lastly, the general manager, Corrado, was attentive and pleasant. He suggested we check out POV bar at the W hotel because it has a cool view of the White House, and Ebbit Grill for it's oyster bar. Thanks for the suggestions, Corrado. You were right on both accounts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Greetings stormred,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to visit us again. It was my pleasure to offer suggestions and I am happy to hear that you found my recommendations to be of your liking.

Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Staff are helpful at every turn. Rooms are updated and quiet throughout the night. Restaurant is restful, staff is exceedingly attentive and chef is superb.
Location is perfect for downtown DC.

If you are in DC, stay at the Lombardy!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Greetings vaf3,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy for your stay. We appreciate you and are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Handy location near GWU and two metros stations couple blocks away, this is our second stay here. Large suite-like rooms with separate kitchen/fridge and coffee-maker. Waffle bathrobes, nice linens, frette towels. No slippers and too fat pillows. I wish pillows were softer, my neck hurt afterwards all day. Bellboys, bartender in Venetian all super and helpful, thanks. Will stay again, maybe they will get sofert slmmer pillows in the meantime....

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank smartiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Greetings smartiq,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We value your opinions and use them as a tool to improve our service, In fact, our goal in the next 45 days is to have options for our guests to have a softer pillow if they wish.

Having feedback from our guests is crucial for the success of our hotel and we appreciate it.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

First the positives
+Probably best location in town
+spacious rooms
+good food prep areas in the room helpful for longer trips

Negatives:
-expensive parking (particularly as I was not told there was a charge in advance)
- bundled "continental" breakfast was very poor
- front of house staff highly variable quality, doormen and porters often more interested in checking their phones than helping (or even acknowledging) clients
- gym was comically awful
- poor after sales service - I raised many of these points directly with management and my emails were ignored. Will not be returning based on this alone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgecumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Greetings Edgecumbe,

Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We strive to provide outstanding service at all times.

I would like to know more about your concerns, at your convenience can you please contact me directly.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The price is right for this old world, charming hotel. However the paper thin walls are clearly wrong. I had to call down to the front desk to complain at 3am during the first night of my stay becasue of an arguing couple next door. The following night the creaking floor boards from rooms around me also kept me up. Should i be entitled to some sort of compensation for this?
The staff were pleasant and helpful during check in and check out. The room was very well appointed.

Overall I would stay again but I would bring a pair of ear plugs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribecaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Greetings tribecaNY,

Thank you for posting your comments. I am disappointed to hear that your visit was less than perfect. We strive to provide the best service at all times and in this case, what happened was out of our control and the guests were notified immediately and our staff acted quickly in an effort to not have this disturbance linger.

We hope that this does not affect your decision to stay with us again in the future, because we would be delighted to have you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location just a few blocks from the White House. Small and old fashioned, but with lovely big rooms and the bed was really comfortable and dressed with quality linens. Bathroom was huge, with a small dressing area and there was a big closet. It was nice and really quiet (apart from what sounded like a garbage truck at the crack of dawn most mornings).
There is free wifi, you are offered bottled water at night, and a free newspaper in the morning. We had booked the hotel for several nights at the start of a trip and we liked it so much we went back for a couple of nights at the end of the trip, which I think speaks for itself.
Didn’t have much interaction with the staff other than the doormen, who are charming.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RedSoxGirl_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Greetings RedSoxGirl_46,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that you had a nice visit and look forward to you staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,782 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,785 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,283 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,063 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $108 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing