We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old world hotel”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently stayed as part of a two-day business trip where I attended a conference at the GWU Marvin Center.

The location for getting to GWU is excellent, and it is also close to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop and to the Foggy Bottom Whole Foods.

The hotel itself is more like an old-school European experience. Tiny lobby, slow elevators, older hotel, smaller spaces, but done very nicely. For example, my room (regular King-size bed) came with a small kitchen and small dressing area. The bathroom is indeed very small, and I would have traded my dressing area for a bit more elbow-room in the bath.

My room was near the front of the hotel, and I had no problem with street noise.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the huge mini-bar fridge to store your own food and wine from the Foggy Bottom Who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UMich_traveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Greetings Bryan B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and tell us about your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a wonderful surprise. After taking a little while to find the hotel we were pleasently surprised what we found. An extremely friendly bell boy who took our car to park and brought our luggage up and later brought us ice . The front desk guy was also very friendly. We were "upgraded" to a double queen room with a kitchenette. Beware these are not queen beds but double beds. The kitchenette had a small fridge that was stocked with drinks but there was lots of space for us to put our own drinks. There is no ice machine - you need to call for ice.

The room was lovely with a dresser that looked like my grandmothers and a desk. Beds were ver very comfortable but the pillows were too fluffy for me but you never know what people like. The bathroom was small but had everything you need with a rain shower which I love. The shampoo and lotions came from Bed and Bath.

Now the location: We were planning on borrowing the dc bicycles to ride around the city. There were 2 lots with these bicycles within 1 block of th hotel. There also is a Metrostation 2 blocks away. Lots of good food close by and easy access (via the dc bicycles) to the smithsonian and all the monuments. The days we were there it was 90+ degrees and riding the bikes was better than walking.

overall we would stay there again. My only issue was that I thought we were getting Queen beds but got doubles.

Room Tip: DON"T take the Double Queen unless you can sleep in a double bed. Get the "inside" r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Greetings momofmultipleboys,

Thank you for posting your comments. We appreciate you and are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had a wonderful stay here, I wish it had been for longer than one night! This hotel has a lot of old-world charm, but it's clearly been renovated. We did get a room upgrade, which meant a bigger room with fridge and sink area. It was in the front of the building but noise was not an issue. The bed was super soft and comfortable and everything was very clean. The best part of this hotel is it's easy walking distance to a lot of DC's attractions, including the National Mall, and there are lots of great restaurants. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myradith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Greetings Myradith,

Thank you for sharing your experience and your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to do so and are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We first stayed at the Hotel Lombardy 4 or 5 years ago when visiting the area. We were impressed by the historical feel of the building, the spacious and updated rooms, and the friendliness of the staff we encountered. All this amounts to a great experience for a very reasonable price.

Now that we live in the DC area, we always recommend this hotel to out-of-town visitors. The hotel is a gem in its own right but it is also just blocks away from Foggy Bottom metro, Whole Foods, and there are a number of good restaurants in the immediate area.

We were saddened to discover on our most recent visit, however, that the elevator has been modernized a bit so that it no longer needs an operator to run. The elevator still has the same tight fit though- keep that in mind when selecting which luggage to bring along!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia7178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Greetings julia7178,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to hear that we are your Hotel of choice in Washington, DC.

Like you we were all sad to see the elevator go and the decision was hard but was something that needed to be done.

We look forward to having you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I was in Washington DC for an event at the State Department. The Lombardy hotel was nearby, I was very pleased with my stay. The receptionist was particularly helpful when I needed help changing my train reservation. The room -- and especially the bed -- were super comfortable. A friend and I enjoyed a quiet conversation in the cocktail lounge. I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Provence73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Greetings Provence73,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to visit our lounge.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

All in all, it served it's and our purpose for a couple of days. We took a r a quick city trip from New York by train for the MLK 50th March on Washington. I liked the "boutiqueness" of the hotel (converted small one-bedroom apartments); staff was okay -- basically stayed their distance but responded well to requests; liked that the windows opened and the supposed "kitchette" -- which it is not -- but served us well as a small bar. I did not like (a) the view -- an empty building construction site adjacent to the hotel -- not good. The bed was okay but would agree with a previous reviewer that it was a little "hard for my taste". The location was okay but we took taxis everywhere. Went down to the bar and did not get a good reception. The bartender said they were closing although it was several people still sitting at the bar drinking at 10:30 pm (I think he was just ready to go home). Ate out all the time so can't comment on the restaurant, although I never smelled it tempting aromas coming out of it. Tip: For great food and atmosphere, try Georgia Brown's -- a 8-10 minute taxi ride down the street. Reservations necessary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassieisqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Greetings Cassieisqueen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad that you chose to stay here with us during the celebration of MLK.

Please know that we value your opinion and use your comments as a tool to improve guest service so we appreciate you giving us your feed back.

It is always our goal to provide the best service and to make our guests feel welcomed and at home.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

An old building, with all of the beauty and charm...our every need was met from check-in to departure We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2013. The staff was very nice, polite and helpful. We came to Washington for our anniversary and they upgraded our room from one King bed to suite without any charge. . Room was quaint with a king size and lovely old world furniture Also,the rooms was lovely, clean, and comfortable. Also, hotel just a few blocks from the Metro station at Foggy Bottom and within easy walking distance of all Washingtons main attractions and only five blocks from the White House. . Highly recommend the Hotel Lombardy
Thanks a lot for wonderful time at Hotel Lombardy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Greetings Peter L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your visit and that the staff here was a pleasure as well. We hope that on your next visit you will choose to stay with us again.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,779 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,784 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,283 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,058 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $108 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing