We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this hotel”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We love this hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We first stayed at the Hotel Lombardy 4 or 5 years ago when visiting the area. We were impressed by the historical feel of the building, the spacious and updated rooms, and the friendliness of the staff we encountered. All this amounts to a great experience for a very reasonable price.

Now that we live in the DC area, we always recommend this hotel to out-of-town visitors. The hotel is a gem in its own right but it is also just blocks away from Foggy Bottom metro, Whole Foods, and there are a number of good restaurants in the immediate area.

We were saddened to discover on our most recent visit, however, that the elevator has been modernized a bit so that it no longer needs an operator to run. The elevator still has the same tight fit though- keep that in mind when selecting which luggage to bring along!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia7178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings julia7178,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to hear that we are your Hotel of choice in Washington, DC.

Like you we were all sad to see the elevator go and the decision was hard but was something that needed to be done.

We look forward to having you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    738
    165
    49
    25
See reviews for
422
746
150
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I was in Washington DC for an event at the State Department. The Lombardy hotel was nearby, I was very pleased with my stay. The receptionist was particularly helpful when I needed help changing my train reservation. The room -- and especially the bed -- were super comfortable. A friend and I enjoyed a quiet conversation in the cocktail lounge. I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Provence73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings Provence73,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to visit our lounge.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

All in all, it served it's and our purpose for a couple of days. We took a r a quick city trip from New York by train for the MLK 50th March on Washington. I liked the "boutiqueness" of the hotel (converted small one-bedroom apartments); staff was okay -- basically stayed their distance but responded well to requests; liked that the windows opened and the supposed "kitchette" -- which it is not -- but served us well as a small bar. I did not like (a) the view -- an empty building construction site adjacent to the hotel -- not good. The bed was okay but would agree with a previous reviewer that it was a little "hard for my taste". The location was okay but we took taxis everywhere. Went down to the bar and did not get a good reception. The bartender said they were closing although it was several people still sitting at the bar drinking at 10:30 pm (I think he was just ready to go home). Ate out all the time so can't comment on the restaurant, although I never smelled it tempting aromas coming out of it. Tip: For great food and atmosphere, try Georgia Brown's -- a 8-10 minute taxi ride down the street. Reservations necessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassieisqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Greetings Cassieisqueen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad that you chose to stay here with us during the celebration of MLK.

Please know that we value your opinion and use your comments as a tool to improve guest service so we appreciate you giving us your feed back.

It is always our goal to provide the best service and to make our guests feel welcomed and at home.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

An old building, with all of the beauty and charm...our every need was met from check-in to departure We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2013. The staff was very nice, polite and helpful. We came to Washington for our anniversary and they upgraded our room from one King bed to suite without any charge. . Room was quaint with a king size and lovely old world furniture Also,the rooms was lovely, clean, and comfortable. Also, hotel just a few blocks from the Metro station at Foggy Bottom and within easy walking distance of all Washingtons main attractions and only five blocks from the White House. . Highly recommend the Hotel Lombardy
Thanks a lot for wonderful time at Hotel Lombardy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Greetings Peter L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your visit and that the staff here was a pleasure as well. We hope that on your next visit you will choose to stay with us again.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2013. The staff were very nice, polite and helpful. They upgraded our room from one King bed to two doubles without any charge.
The room was spacious and clean and had a separate place as a small semi-kitchen and dining place.The bathroom was nice and very clean. The only thing was that it only had a shower head and not a hand shower.
Although the hotel gives you a sense of historic charm, the facilities are modern and handy. There is a small bar and restaurant at the first floor that we did not use.
The location was also very convenient. it is very near to foggy Bottom Subway station, George Washington University and a Whole Foods Market.There is a star Bucks and Pret-à-Manger just few blocks away.It is around 10-15 minutes walk to white house.
There is free wireless internet that is of course really useful and the hotel provides complimentary bottle of water daily.
I really recommend it if you want to stay in a great and calm place at the heart of Washington DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonlighting_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Greetings Moonlighting_MTL,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your accommodations over all.

It was our pleasure to have you here with us and we look forward to having you stay with us agian soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is an old building that was converted into a hotel. I would not stay in this hotel again. I only stayed there for the location. The hotel is near GW University, so there is much to do, but it is loud.

On the plus side, the air conditioned room was a good size with a small table in a small kitchenette that has a sink, coffee maker and a refrigerator. I was able to buy dinner and keep the leftovers for lunch the next day.

On the negative side, the bathroom is so small that you can bump your head on the door if you are on the toilet. There is a sitting area between the closet and the bathroom, so the closet is partially blocked. Very awkward. Also the room smelled awful and was dusty, as if it had not been rented recently. The room was on the front of the building which faced the street so I heard sirens and street traffic well into the morning.

Also the front desk staff does not have the best customer service. While I was there, I asked for a taxi, a place to print my boarding pass, directions to a local area establishment and a late departure. The staff was either not responsive or took a lot of time to respond. One exception was a place to print a boarding pass. There is no business office to print your boarding pass at the hotel, so I was told to go around the corner to FedEx.

If you like old world hotels with few amenities in a good location, you will like this place.

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the hotel get loud street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanladytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Greetings leanladytraveler,

Thanks you for your feedback. It appears we have missed a chance to show you that we are a great hotel with great service and for that I apologize. I would like to hope that you would give us another opportunity to show you who we really are and what we represent.

Again I apologize that your stay was less than expected and we hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights - the staff is very helpful and friendly. Room was impeccably clean - not huge - but just fine. Free Internet, great little bar and lovely restaurant. Only down side is very weak water pressure! Most sights within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mbsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Greetings mbsh,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a chance to experience our dining outlets.

We like to know about the good things and the not so good things that can help us to improve, so again thanks for sharing.


We look forward to having you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing