We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Consistently excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family traveled to Washington, DC on vacation and to be there for the 4th of July. This was our third stay at this hotel and we were again impressed by our room and the staff. From the moment we arrived we were treated with great service from the bell staff and front desk. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at the restaurant ( the almond French toast is the best ), and once again were very comfortable in our clean and spacious corner suite. Everyone was very helpful in planning our daily excursions and setting up any transportation needs throughout our stay and for our departure to the airport. The excellent location proved to be another added benefit. After a long day of many activities on July 4th, culminating with the fireworks display, it was good to be able to walk back to the hotel as the traffic congestion leaving the National Mall made a cab ride or even a bus not feasible. It is a great experience bringing our children to Washington, DC and exploring the many museums, monuments, and events. The experience is made even better by having our home away from home at the Hotel Lombardy.

Room Tip: The corner suites are best for families since they are very roomy and have a little kitchen area for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank threek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Greetings threek,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and happy to have a loyal guests.

We really take pride in providing unmatched service to our guests and making them feel at home always.

Thanks again and we hope to see you many more times in the future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    660
    148
    41
    23
See reviews for
367
664
135
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel previously and was looking forward to another superb stay. The last time here was quite special and like something out of the 1930's, with bell boys in the lift and concertina grating over the lift doors,it was fab. However now they have replaced the lifts, which are much faster, but it seems to have lost a little of the charm and old worldliness of the place. Saying that the beds are just so comfortable! Best nights sleep ever. And the rooms are clean , and the one we stayed in was spacious, we had a mini suite so it might be worth asking to upgrade. Very well situated and easily walkable to the White House in about 10minutes, Farragut west is the nearest metro station again about 5 minutes away. Worth a stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shell1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Greetings shell1963,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. In reference to the elevators we missed them too as they were definitely an added charm to the hotel, but unfortunately we had to do away with them and offer a more modern elevator for this high tech, busy world we live in today.

Thank you for choosing to stay here again and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently as the first stop of a road trip. The location is great with a metro only a few blocks from the metro and the valet parking was a huge plus!
The room was very big and clean, with a fridge and sink.
We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was very good and quick!
The only problem we had with this hotel was that my partner left his necklace in the room. We realized it 2 days later once we had already left and called the hotel to see if it had been turned in. The housekeeping manager informed us that it had not. We called back straightaway to ask if someone could just run up and check the room as it was a small silver necklace that could easily blend in and we knew right where it would be. The receptionist told us no, and did not even offer to take our number in case it turned up. She basically left us with a too bad attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a nice place in terms of cleanliness. The hotel advertised in-room refrigerators, but there wasn't one in my room. There was only one bathrobe in the closet, so for people traveling in pairs, make sure you order two.

The location is pretty good. Close to the Foggy Bottom Metro and several good restaurants.

The staff is pretty friendly, but it is with them that I have my quarrel.

My girlfriend and I went site seeing. I had left a note for the maid to not tuck in the comforter. She mistook that as don't make the bed at all. She left us clean sheets folded up on the bed, one of which was soaking wet.

When we returned to our room, it was hanging wide open. Luckily we had utilized the safe in each room.

We brought it to the attention of the manager, but she basically said "oh, well we'll try to remind our housecleaning staff to close the doors." Not good enough in my book...

I will not be staying here again, nor will I recommend this to any of my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a three night weekend at the Lombardy in late June. The service was very good - when I asked for a free upgrade, we were given a very nice suite. Also, the two housekeeping requests (a door knob was not working, and to clear out the refrigerator) were taken care of immediately. It's a great location, very close to Georgetown, the Kennedy Centre, and Dupont Circle. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The reasons I can't give four or five stars are:
a very loud bar scene on Friday night until midnight (even with a white noise machine, we couldn't sleep).
The pillows and mattress were uncomfortable - no pillow top, or soft pillows.
Also, be aware that there are steps to the front door, and then to the lobby and elevators. (There is wheelchair access at the rear of the building.)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anikod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Greetings anikod,

Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. We are happy that you selected the Hotel Lombardy. Our staff takes pride in providing outstanding service to the guests. Usually we get great reviews about how comfy the bed is but this is one of those things where preference is key, sorry that you found them not to your liking.

The loud noise has been addressed and was related to a wedding party that happened to be staying at the hotel, we apologize for any inconvenience you were caused.

Again thanks for your feedback, we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hotel Lombardy on July 4th to experience fireworks
In the Capital on the 4th. I had been on Travelocity and couldn't find what I want, but found this absolute gem through trip advisor. The hotel is funky, in a really good way. When we first got on the elevator with three other people I commented that this must be the world's smallest elevator only to be told that the elevator next to it was even smaller. No matter, it added to the ambience. We stayed in a double room which, though small, was perfectly adequate. Our room had an antique dresser and desk. There was a small kitchenette with fridge and coffee maker off the bedroom. Beds were very comfortable, sheets, bedding and bathroom immaculate. Be warned there is no ice machine in the building but you can call to have it delivered. The price for this hotel was very reasonable considering it is D.C. Foggy bottom metro station is maybe an 8 minute walk. Smithsonian museums probably a 15-20 minute walk. Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Greetings Liz S

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, it's true we do not have ice machines on the floors, however we do offer the service to guest to retrieve ice at anytime.

It sounds like you had a great time in Washington, DC and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fantastic location only a couple of blocks from the White House. Room a little on the small side but with small kitchenette, unfortunately despite buying own breakfast to have in the room there was no crockery or cutlery in the kitchen.....shame as a quick bowl of cereal at the hotel was all that we needed. However, overall would stay again. Handy for Foggy Bottom Metro and with a capital bike share location just around the corner suited our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Greetings mileys,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit here in Washington, DC and at our hotel. In reference to the small kitchenette space you were referring to it is a wonderful addition to our guest rooms, however it is basically a stainless steel wet bar area with cafe seating, because we do not offer the basic kitchen utensils, we do not market it as a kitchenette, however there is a mini refrigerator.

On your next trip to DC, we hope that you will say with us again and look forward to you doing so.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing