We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brian Says, This is a Great Buy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lombardy to your Saves list
Hotel Lombardy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
“Brian Says, This is a Great Buy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent location. Very nice large rooms with excellent view from both the bedroom and living room. Exceptionally clean (like new) baths. Excellent bedding and very good TV's, sofa, coffee table and desk. Super staff. Cozy bar and nice restaurant. Fast elevators.
The wife and I go to Washington often and have stayed at many hotels in the area. This is by far the best value in the area. I rank it over the JW Marriot AND Ritz Carlton in Georgetown on all counts ( though if you prefer glitz and shiny chandeliers over location and old school charm, you might have a different opinion). Will definitely make Hotel Lombardy our first call next time.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if every room is a suite, but ask for a suite because I didn't see where it cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCOVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greetings BCOVB,

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you consider our hotel to be amongst some of the best.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are just back from 5 nights at this hotel and our stay couldn't have been better. We splurged for the suite and it was like having our own small apartment (if it had only had a stove, we could have moved in!). We were steps from the elevator and never heard it once. The room was clean and well appointed. The fold-out velour sofa was a bit of a throw-back to another time and wasn't very comfortable to sit on, but that is the worst thing to say about our stay. The staff was fabulous, attentive but not over-bearing. Very genuine in their willingness to serve. Seeing the old woodwork and the glass doorknobs told us this was the real thing in terms of history. All in all, I loved the place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greeting beckperson,

Thank you for your feed back. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. The Hotel Lombardy is a registered hotel with the Preferred Hotel Group - Historic Hotels of America and we take pride in keeping up that culture throughout the hotel.

Again we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again soon.


Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location for us to visit GWU. It is also an easy walk to Georgetown, the White House, the Mall, etc.
The staff was friendly and quite helpful.
The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is nice and clean, but only able to accommodate one person at a time. Lighting in the vanity area isn't really sufficient for applying makeup. We had a good size refrigerator and a sink in our kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2goldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy for your stay in Washington, DC. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will return soon.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just had the most wonderful stay at the Hotel Lombardy. This is truly a hidden gem. We stayed right next to the elevator -- heard not a sound. Our room was so large, the three of us felt like we had all the space in the world. A dressing room, kitchenete and bedroom. Luxury. This historic hotel had all the charm in the world. The lobby is very small -- almost a foyer, but there were always staff in that space willing to greet you, help with bags or directions. The restaurant was spectacular! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit here at the Hotel Lombardy and would like to Thank You for choosing to stay with us. It's great to hear when our guests have a wonderful experience and it looks like you had a chance to also experience our dining facility, which we think is definitely something all guest should indulge in.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel while we toured the sights of Washington. It is well sited for this purpose being only 5 mins from the Metro, 20 mins walk from Georgetown and 30 minutes to the Washington Monument,
The hotel is older on ten floors with lots of character, The room we had on the 10 floor was quiet, well furnished and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.
They have a restaurant which served a good breakfast but, be warned, coffee is extra and there is a service charge as well as local taxes. It is way cheaper and quicker to use the local restaurants like Wholefoods near the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger123Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here with my in-laws for 4th of July last year, and we all loved it! A charming hotel in a good location...close to attractions but quiet. If you know when you'll be visiting, pay up-front and it's a great deal! Trust me getting a nice hotel in the District at our under $200 per night is a deal, I couldn't believe how nice this place is for the money. Also right down the block is the best breakfast around...Founding Farmers...a must!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reber92702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and we hope to see you back this year for the 4th of July!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#18 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,652 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 138 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing