We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in DC!”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in DC!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Lombardy during Inauguration week, and overall, had a great experience! Our room was actually a one bedroom suite, with a nice foyer, and a good sized living room overlooking Pennsylvania Ave, where we were able to view some of the bands who performed in the Inaugural Parade, as they came to the end of the parade route. Living room had sofabed, desk/chair, nice sized coffee table, and extra parlor chair. Bathroom was small, but adequate, pantry area was nice, with mini-bar, coffeemaker, and frig. Microwave would have been even better! Bed was very comfortable, flat-screen TV's in both rooms, and newspaper delivered daily. There was very little housekeeping noise during the early morning, and that, combined with great blackout drapes, caused us to oversleep nicely on a couple of mornings, when we didn't set the alarm. (: Housekeeping service overall was outstanding. Location is excellent, about 3 level blocks (yay! no hills!) from the Foggy Bottom Metro, with a few restaurants and a Whole Foods market just down the street, which came in VERY handy! One thing that did not go well was that on the one night that we called for a cab (Inauguration night, which was super busy) we specified to doorman that we wanted a regular cab, but we ended up in a "gypsy" cab with no meter, and ended up being charged an outrageous rate. We did not notice this until we were on our way, as it was bitterly cold that evening, and we just jumped in, trusting that the doorman had heeded our requests. We expressed this concern to the front desk clerk upon checkout, but she didn't seem too concerned, just said, "Well, that happens at inauguration and other busy times." Other than that one thing, the hotel was lovely, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely get the Parkview Suite---it cost only a little more than regular King, and it was much ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanster93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. In reference to the taxi cab service, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and wish that things could have worked out to your satisfaction, I do know that during an extremely busy time in the city especially in the winter months taxi cab availability can be much more limited due to high demand than it would be under normal circumstances.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    759
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
434
763
153
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Lombardy during the hectic Inauguration Weekend. Lombardy is a great location right on Pennsylvania Avenue five blocks from the White House. It is very convenient to the Farragut West and Farragut North Metro stations and comfortable walking distance to all of the Washington attractions. It is also on the edge of the GWU urban campus. The room was spacious and substantially larger than most big city hotel rooms, the bathroom was enormous complete with a small vanity table with mirror. We were on the second floor overlooking the courtyards of the adjacent buildings and was quiet. All of the staff was very helpful and accommodating, especially the bellman who stored our bags on Inauguration Day. We would definitely stay at the Lombardy again on our next visit to Washington.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BraintreeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice old hotel, with a great location. The rooms are very confortable and mine had a small dinning area with a fridge and coffee brewer (I don´t know if this is a standard with all the rooms). The room was very expensive (may be the time of the year?) and the amenties very basic and cheap.
There is only ONE bottle of complementary water per stay, so you have to buy your own. One drawback is the noise. I stayed at the 9th floor (but I´ll guess it will be the same for all) you can hear doors slamming, floor cracking, people talking, sirens, construction noises at 4 or 5 AM, so BEWARE. The bell boys and restaurant waiters were very nice and helpful, front desk attendants not so. I will give this hotel another try on my next trip to DC before making up my mind weather to keep it on my list or discard it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take pride in providing outstanding service to all of our guests. I take your comments very seriously and would like to investigate further, please contact me at your convenience. Also in reference to the construction noise, we were not aware that our neighbor had construction happening at this hour and the city is looking into it to assure that the construction ceases at that hour of the morning. Thank you for giving us another opportunity to host you as our guest and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned yesterday from a 3 night stay. Exellent location about 2 blocks from Metro station. Nice size room, extremely comfortable bed. Complimentary bottled water and fruit provided. One criticism is that there needs to be a ramp in the lobby or multiple doormen because I has to lug my heavy bags up several stairs to reach the front desk. Also, the front desk staff seemed inexperienced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dionnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your business and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you were caused during your stay. It appears that you were here during the Presidential Inauguration and the hotel was extremely busy, this is however no excuse for there not being a bellman available to assist you when you arrived. We strive to provide all of our guests with the best service and we hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on 9 floor. Some negatives are 0 outlets for electric in the bathroom. They did have a vanity just outside of the bathroom with 1 available outlet socket. There were no bell carts so you had to hauleverything up by hand or ask an attendant for help to haul your stuff by hand. However this is a historic hotel, so you're not going to see a lot of ramps for handicap accessible features that might allow you to use a bell cart. We paid a premium over and inauguration weekend. Great location. Valet parking was $42 per 24 hours incl

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hla7er45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you chose to stay at the Hotel Lombardy. Our Front Desk staff is always happy to assist our guest in any way. The bell staff is also available for assistance and if you choose to take your own luggage up in the bell cart that is also a preference and we do have carts available.

In relation to the handicapped rooms you are absolutely correct, we are a registered member of the Historic Hotels of America and are grandfathered out of the ADA clause.

We thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Lombardy and hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have been staying at the Lombardy on and off for years now! Its a warm cosy place thats upgraded its rooms over the last few years with losing its quaint charm. I do miss the clanging lift with the shutter doors though! Very well located, central and accessible. Restaurants. metro stations, the sights - all closeby. The cafe is also very good --and uh hmm menu unchanged for at least 10 years! After so many breakfasta at the Cafe, I still keel over in shock when I see the 18percent gratutity on the breakfast....Good wifi, worked very well. Friendly staff. I only wish that they would include a cooktop in their kitchnettees or at least a microwave. That way there would be no reason to go anywhere else ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandanaMehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. We are happy to have long time guests like you and we look forward to providing you with great service consistently. The elevators unfortunately are a thing of the past that we all miss and wish we could have been able to keep and just make them a little faster. Again, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After 7 years of traveling to DC a couple times a year, I'm shocked to find that I suddenly have a single hotel where I plan to stay every time I am in DC. What is so great? Where to start? In no particular order...

1) It is on the orange and blue METRO lines at Foggy Bottom - blue line from the airport (DCA), orange line to the locations I typically have to visit in Arlington.

2) It is a great value. At $159/night, when the hotels in Arlington were charging $240/night, it is easy to justify waking up a little earlier to hop on the train. Especially with complimentary wi-fi and use of the small fitness center on site.

3) It is a great neighborhood - Whole Foods a block away, and wonderful restaurants are very close (e.g. Rasika West, Founding Farmers).

4) The hotel is beautiful - historic and extremely well-maintained - and the room was just perfect. Comfortable, dignified, laid out well, well-maintained.

5) The staff are incredibly professional and friendly in a way that seems entirely sincere - everyone from the desk to the bellmen to housekeeping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you. It is a great compliment to know that you consider our hotel your go-to hotel. We value all of guests and strive to provide a place that you can call your home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,724 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing