We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice but understaffed hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice but understaffed hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a very well situated hotel with reasonable rates. Unfortunately I think they save money by cutting staff! Our breakfast dishes stayed in the hallway till almost supper time and the harried staff at breakfast suggested on the phone to come down to pick up my own breakfast as it would take him about 45 minutes before he could bring it up! I did.BTW- he stil charged me an in-room service charge!
The beds were comfortable and all door staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    716
    157
    46
    23
See reviews for
408
720
147
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
No. America
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Lombardy. The first night we spent in a deluxe king room with a small kitchenette; sink and fridge in sleek stainless steel. Our DC daughter decided that she wanted to stay with us the rest of our stay and the very accommodating desk staff moved us to a two-room suite with a pull out couch, which apparently was quite comfortable. The move allowed us a view of the park and Penn. Avenue activity.

One complaint: the pillows are hard as a rock, although there were alot of them. I'd rather have two great pillows than six hard ones.

We loved the feel of this hotel--it is a Historic Hotel of America, through the National Trust for Historic Preservation. These hotels are generally one of a kind and so much more interesting to visit than the vanilla chains. The Lombardy was once an apartment building and the rooms feel like small apartments.

We were very impressed with everyone who we came in contact with on staff--very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful but expensive (the french toast is amazing.) We spent some time in the dark and intimate bar and had a dinner in the Venetian Room. The crab cakes did not disappoint. Mohemmed was a very cordial and attentive waiter.

Location of the Lombardy is excellent for visits to both the National Mall and the White House.

Thanks, Lombardy, for a memorable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. In reference to the pillows, you will be happy to know that we are in the process of switching out the pillows in our guests rooms to a much better pillow. I will be sure to let Mohammad know that you enjoyed his service. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used this hotel as a base from which to explore DC and were not disappointed in our choice. Much of the old character of the building has been retained which gives the hotel a nice feel lacking in the larger chains. Our room was a perfectly adequate size, in good condition and very clean. Surprisingly the hotel has no pc facilities available for guests' use, which I would have thought was pretty much mandatory these days. Guests have to forward emails to the front desk to get any printing done; what a waste of their time! The White House area is within an easy walk as are good restaurants. We went into the bar a couple of times, pleasant enough but watch the $s fly away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Codamarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We value your opinions and use them as a tool to improve our service. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Old fashioned hotel in downtown DC between White House and Georgetown. Enjoyed a charming corner room.
A delicious breakfast in the elegant cafe.
Friendly and helpful staff.
A quiet inside bar for relaxing after strolling museums. Here you can fall asleep with no worry :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is older but warm and inviting. The doorman are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The housekeeping personnel are fantastic and quick to provide you with what you need. Room service was so nice? Only two negatives. One is that some of the front desk people need to be a little more friendly. Very clean and great location. The second is the pillows. Way too thick and uncomfortable to sleep on. Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, we do take these comments serious and they will be addressed. In reference to the pillows, you will be happy to know that we are in the process of switching out the pillows.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came for a quick weekend getaway. The quarters were clean and fairly comfortable. It was worth the sale price we got but not the full price. The location is great for the restaurants and activities around Foggy Bottom - it's a bit of a walk for Capitol Hill, though. The staff was modestly helpful - perhaps a bit below average in DC. Unfortunately, our room was above the kitchen - so it was a fairly stinky experience. I don't think we would stay here again but I wouldn't avoid it, either.

Room Tip: Ask for something not over the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4buisness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is our goal to provide you with outstanding service, and I am sorry to hear that your experience was less than that. We take all of our guest concerns serious and use them as a tool to improve where needed. We hope to get the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

ReShell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 4 nights here, including during the hurricane, a lovely hotel, very large rooms, clean, welcoming and friendly. Restaurant was good and location is great. A very nice hotel to stay at the only drawback is the bathrooms are older style and in need of a bit off a re-do. They're perfectly clean and serviceable but older in style. A lovely hotel, would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palezona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing