We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
memphis
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is older but warm and inviting. The doorman are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The housekeeping personnel are fantastic and quick to provide you with what you need. Room service was so nice? Only two negatives. One is that some of the front desk people need to be a little more friendly. Very clean and great location. The second is the pillows. Way too thick and uncomfortable to sleep on. Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, we do take these comments serious and they will be addressed. In reference to the pillows, you will be happy to know that we are in the process of switching out the pillows.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    759
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
434
764
153
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came for a quick weekend getaway. The quarters were clean and fairly comfortable. It was worth the sale price we got but not the full price. The location is great for the restaurants and activities around Foggy Bottom - it's a bit of a walk for Capitol Hill, though. The staff was modestly helpful - perhaps a bit below average in DC. Unfortunately, our room was above the kitchen - so it was a fairly stinky experience. I don't think we would stay here again but I wouldn't avoid it, either.

Room Tip: Ask for something not over the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4buisness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is our goal to provide you with outstanding service, and I am sorry to hear that your experience was less than that. We take all of our guest concerns serious and use them as a tool to improve where needed. We hope to get the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

ReShell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 4 nights here, including during the hurricane, a lovely hotel, very large rooms, clean, welcoming and friendly. Restaurant was good and location is great. A very nice hotel to stay at the only drawback is the bathrooms are older style and in need of a bit off a re-do. They're perfectly clean and serviceable but older in style. A lovely hotel, would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palezona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent a few weeks here back in July. It is 3 blocks from the White House next to IMF and WB on Pennsylvania Ave. A number of good restaurants nearby – Founding Farmers across the street is superb. Walking distance to the Mall and George Town. A CVS and metro nearby.

Service was above average for US standards – I am use to thai/ asian hospitality. It is not opulent and fairly expensive, but such is DC. Great value if you can get an upgrade to Dlx/ Suites with kitchenette - avoid the standard rooms though. Overall, definitely a quality “boutique hotel” in downtown DC. Look forward to staying here again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasfq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate you and value your opinions. We do happen to have one of the best locations in D.C. in terms of attractions. We look forward to having you stay with us again as well. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and were given a quiet room away from the main street on the top 11th floor. Very clean and average sized room. Looks like the hotel has had a recent refurbishment. Perfect for our stay. Minor gripe is no in room bar refrigerator but not major.

Staff was excellent, polite and friendly, particularly the concierges.

Location wise was good; quite close to the subway and within walking distance to the whitehouse and then to the mall. Need to take the subway to the Capitol though.

All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: They do hold mail for you for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eteo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. In reference to the in- room refrigerator, we do have mini refrigerators in all of our guests rooms that is also used to stock mini bar items. Perhaps, on your next visit you will see. We look forward to you staying again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Staying at this clean, comfy, old-style hotel was an experience in itself! The furnishings wer warm and comfortable. We felt so welcome and cared for there. The concierge service was very friendly, helpful and efficient and the food in the restaurant is excellent! Not to mention the wonderful waiter who much enlivened our experience. We especially appreciated the refrigerator, the provided bottled water which we took with us each day and having the excellent Washington Post delivered outside our door each morning.

The hotel is easy walking distance to the White House, the Lincoln, Vietnam and other memorials, Georgetown, and only two blocks from the nearest Metro station. We were able to spend nine days in the DC, area, acitvely seeing everthing we had wanted to, without having to rent a car or take a taxi.

If we ever return to DC we will certainly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a refrigerator. Rooms on the higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value your opinions and are happy that we were able to meet your expectations. Wee look forward to having you back with us!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a delightful historical hotel in the heart of DC, walking distance to the White House and attractions, with easy access to numerous museums and parks. The suites are generously sized with comfortable beds and pillows. The bathroom, while small by current standards, is light filled and spotless with an updated shower head. There was a charming vanity area, a roomy and modern desk, and a dining nook separated from the sleeping area with a heavy curtain sufficient to protect sleeping eyes. The entire hotel is filled with beautiful woodwork and moldings, high ceilings and well-trained staff. We had a delightful late lunch of superb crab cakes in the cheerful dining room. All in all, it was a luxurious and well-appointed hotel with all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay. It is well worth the price and a grand change to the formulaic hotels that abound. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit here with us. Our staff works so hard to ensure that all of our guests leave with a memorable experience and wanting to come back. There are so many choices for food near our hotel, but for a "crab cake"...you definitely chose the right place!
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,723 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing