We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Hotel in a great location!”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a Great Hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in Washington and found this hotel's location was amazing - we walked everywhere and didnt need our hire car! Beautiful hotel, amazingly pleasing decor with luxury and style. Service was fantastic and it made our stay in DC something special. We will certainly stay there again when we visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobHelen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back! We are delighted to have you stay with us and it gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to have you back with us again!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    748
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
427
756
151
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for three nights at the start of our US holiday. We flew into Dulles and caught the 5A bus to Rosslyn and then the metro to Foggy Bottom and the hotel was just a five minute walk from there. We booked a kingsize standard and were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a nice sitting room (with sofa bed), large hallway plus bedroom and bathroom. The bed was really comfy.
We didn't eat at the hotel, as we got our breakfast each morning from the Whole Food Market in Eye street - a real find.
We ate the first evening just across the road at the Founding Farmer's restaurant - very good.
We walked everywhere from the hotel, Georgetown - 20 mins, Arlington - 35 mins, Whitehouse 10 mins and Capitol 45 mins.
The only slight downside were the reception staff who were not very welcoming given we had just arrived after a long journey from the UK. They just checked us in, provided no local information and we had to ask for a map! The rest of the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for you feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. We take your concerns very serious and we value your opinion. Our goal is to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guest all of the time! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here at the last minute after being very disappointed with another hotel so it was a great change so perhaps my review is a little biased!

Cons: The room wasn't huge and the view was of the adjacent building so it made the room dark and it didn't get enough light.The air-conditioning was really strong which is good for hot summers but it was facing the bed directly and you cannot move the vents, because I'm sensitive this made me really sick.

Pros: GREAT location. Walking distance to absolutely everything from the quaint shops of M street and the cafes of Georgetown, to the monuments and museums to the bars of downtown and the trendy area of DuPont. Everything was within reach and it was extremely easy to catch a cab.
The staff were very helpful and accommodating and made the room available even though we checked in at 10am.
The cafe near the lobby area is known for it's great brunch and had lovely fresh breads and bagels.

All in all, especially after our bad experience it was a great stay and I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traceler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great location to the metro--friendly staff--amazingly comfortable beds

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

While moving my daughter to DC in late May, we had the opportunity to stay at the Lombardy. Great location near GW Univ., perfect rooms, helpful staff, flexible response tour special request, reasonable price, and terrific (al la carte) breakfasts. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: less street noise up higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caper1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Quaint, charming, quirky, and vintage feeling hotel in downtown DC. A book in the room stated that the hotel has been designated a "historic hotel" by the preservation society. The antique furnishings and heavy, rich fabrics used everywhere gave me the feeling that I was staying at a rich relative's house rather than a hotel. The room was incredibly spacious with an entryway, dressing area, small dining area, and kitchenette in addition to the sleeping area and bathroom.

Things I liked: downtown location, the best hotel pillows EVER, free WiFi, good shower water pressure, lots of mirrors, nice smelling Bath&Body Works toiletries, nice staff, and a hotel bar with lots of dark woods and plenty of character.

Things I did not like: only 2 tiny elevators for 11 floors, no driveway (cabs drop you off on the street and you have to navigate some sidewalk foot traffic to get to the hotel), difficult to hail cabs from this location, hard to open my room door with my key card, and the flat-screen TV in my room did not work.

Overall, this hotel was a great deal for a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khp_infairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I hope you were able to address your concerns with our staff while you were here so that the issue could have been resolved. We value your opinions and take your concerns seriously, because it is our goal to provide outstanding service to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Lombardy Hotel has a very good position, on Pennsylvania Avenue, close to George Washington University and International Monetary Fund.
The decor is interesting with old furniture chosen with taste.
The staff offers a standard service, without worrying too much on customer needs.
The rooms are spacious with a nice bathroom, in my opinion they could remove the carpet and use the existing wooden floor.
In many rooms (all those on left side of the hotel) starting from the 5 AM (!!) there is a terrible noise made by a transport company on the ground floor, which move by mechanical loading do not know what. My room was at 8th floor and the noise was enough to wake me up (I have a deep sleeper).
Breakfast with little choice and very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
485 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing