We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Anti-Chain Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Anti-Chain Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Very lovely boutique experience in nice part of NW, on the edge of GWU. While the ambience is a bit Old World (and the elevators are outdated), the room itself was appropriately up to date to make an enjoyable stay. Well-outfitted room was comparable to much more expensive properties. My room had a 'kitchennette' but it was essentially a sink, mini-fridge, and coffeemaker (no microwave to heat those leftovers you you brought back from dinner and stored in the fridge!). Included a small dining nook with wonderful natural ighting, greatplace to sit and have coffee without feeling like you were in a hotel room.

Number of dining options close by with a wide variety of choices -- and quality! I enjoyed trying several of the GWU neighborhood joints (especially Foggy Bottom Grocery), but you'll find Au Bon Pain, TGI Fridays, and Johhny Rockets within a block or so as well.

Close enough to walk to the Mall and White House, although Metro stations were 5-6 blocks away in any direction.

No pool although they give you passes to another hotel's pool that is a 20-minute walk away. Probably not worth the trek. Although reasonably family-friendly, this is a place you use as base to enjoy all hat DC has to offer, it's not a place you count to provide your recreation while you are here. The fitness center is minimally adequate with a couple of machines and no free weights (that I could see).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Gomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    734
    164
    48
    25
See reviews for
420
738
150
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Loved everything about this hotel...It is old and romantic. We had a huge room with a lounge area which did come in handy for tv viewing..And the staff are beautiful, so friendly and so accomodating. Old style charm is what this hotel showed me and if we visit DC again, we need no longer to search for accomodation again as Hotel Lombardy will be our choice...Oh, and the walk to the White House and Lincoln memorial is very easy and beautiful

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay a little more for a king room, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Location is very convenient for business in downtown - just accross World Bank, IMF, close to State Department, GW University, etc.
Nice old style hotel with friendly and competent staff. Spacious rooms - some with kitchenette and fridge.
Breakfast for my taste too much old style: ham and eggs, omlettes, sausages; I prefer fruits and musli.

Room Tip: Breakfast on teh pricey side and too much green eggs and ham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Lombardy for a weekend escape. The desk staff was attentive and accomodating throughout our stay, and the room well appointed in this small boutique hotel. But my favorite was the hotel restaurant's breakfast service. We felt pampered by the waitstaff and the menu sellections were great. After a long day touring the area, we'd settle in the lounge to relax, and found the same good service there from a wonderful bartender.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mqrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deauville, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

well, this was one of the best hotels we stayed in, when travelling in the USA. room was very big, very quiet, service was also great. there were some issues with the Internet connection which couldn't be resolved on the 10th (?) floor, as the router was in the neighboring room, and it was always DND, but generally the experience was great.

Room Tip: make sure you got your beer before all liquor shops nearby are closed, which is really early. and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I recently traveled to DC, and stayed at the Hotel Lombardy. The hotel is just as lovely and charming in person as it appears in pictures. The hotel staff was marvelous, in particular the concierge/ doormen, housekeeping, and the very charming bartender. My hotel room was very quaint, and comfortable, I loved the decor and feel of this historic boutique hotel. I loved my trip to DC, and the Hotel Lombardy helped to make my trip very memorable. I'm looking forward to my next stay at The Hotel Lombardy.

Sandra

Room Tip: My room was one of the rooms shown on the official website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandsi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Lombardy for a weekend for our anniversary and purchased the special package that included champagne and chocolates and Sunday brunch. Overall it was a very nice stay and we would highly recommend this hotel to others.

We did start out our stay with a bit of a hiccup, although the hotel staff was very good at responding to it. We arrived to the hotel around 9PM and after checking in to our Parkview Suite, we inquired at the desk about the champagne and chocolates. They apparently should have been in our room but we said it was fine to wait until the next night. We also were not given the complimentary bottled water. The hotel promptly delivered that to our room. After sightseeing the next day, we returned to our room and did not have our champagne and chocolates or bottled water that day. We called down to the desk and they delivered both within 15 minutes. These small issues did not take away from our stay, but it would have been really nice to not have to keep asking for things included in our package.

That issue aside, our room was huge and very clean with a nice view of the park across the street. The beds were very comfortable, and the kitchenette was a nice feature to have. The Venetian Room bar had the nicest bartender and we stopped in for a drink both nights. Sunday brunch was incredible--I had the cinnamon brioche french toast, and my husband had the smoked salmon eggs benedict. Service was very good at breakfast as well.
The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the White House, a five minute walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station, and less than 10 minutes to the Farrugat North Metro which takes you to Union Station.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor to take away street noise. We had a great view and a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing