We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location. Fantastic staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added L'Enfant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Lewiston, ME
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Fantastic staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We just spent five fantastic days in DC and 5 fantastic nights at this hotel! Angela at the front desk truly lives up to the angel in her name. We had no problem with Metro (even on the weekend). The food court is great. Breakfast at the Italian pizza booth is great (whoulda thunk?) Our room on the 14th floor had a fantastic view. For what we paid it had to be the best deal in DC!!

Room Tip: Our room face "out" . We could see from the WA monument to the Capital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteLewiston_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    433
    283
    195
    126
See reviews for
395
263
78
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located very close to The Mall and the best part is that it has a Metro station under the Hotel itself.

Mind you however, getting from the hotel to the underground metro station or vis-versa can be a bit confusing but once you know your way, the Mall, Washington and the Airport are all within easy reach.

Ideal prices for rooms are during the weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the North are towards the Mall and West the Tidal Basin, both good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1eprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is starting to show its age but is nice enough. You need to pay for wifi. It's reasonably close to attractions, with a metro station right underneath and a bus to the airport on the street behind. However if you're trying to walk to the front door on foot the roads approaching the hotel are very limited, meaning it's unwise to attempt to make a beeline towards the hotel. Look up a walking route on google maps and stick strictly to that instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

the only good thing about this hotel was the night manger ,I cant remember his name buts he was very nice ,we got there very late and everything was closed he got us some foo and drinks
the room was very old the the water pressure was very low in the shower ,mold all over the place
and either there were ghosts in the hotel or they did constrictions at 1 am ,some one was knocking the all night for the 2 night I stayed there, the hotel is very far from the city and everything is closed by 9 pm
do yourself a favor don't stay in this hotel or I should say motel

Room Tip: just don't stay there for the same price or cheaper stay in holiday in express
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asixtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Nope, never again. First of all, the woman that checked us in was totally unhelpful. I asked if I could just leave my small overnight bag behind the desk while I grabbed lunch before my check-in, and instead she checked me in early for a room that I didn't request. Not what I wanted.

Then she was laughing the entire time she was checking me in at the Asian man who was next to us asking another employee questions about his stay. He didn't look amused.

She didn't tell me the check out time, and she was laughing so hard she didn't tell us that we had to swipe our card to make the elevator work. That piece of information would have been helpful. Grow up, you work in a professional position.

The lobby makes you think you're somewhere nice when you're not. Decorations upstairs are cheap and flimsy. All electronics are outdated or broken, the room had insufficient lighting at night, and our shower was drafty. Getting hot water took forever.

There is nothing in this area. It's such a dead part of town that when I asked my cab driver to drop me off here at night, he was hesitant to let me get out of the car because he thought I didn't know where I actually was. The smithsonian is close, but the short walk is not worth staying in this place.

The only redeeming quality, and I mean THE ONLY ONE, was that there is a metro station directly downstairs.

Basically, this place has a 3 star lobby, but is actually a motel on top of a business building.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jadorejadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Didn't honor the room and bed selection. No late check out. Worn accommodations. Never, ever stay here. Business center couldn't print. Nothing in walking distance. Worst food and drink selection. If you want to waste money on the least value for you money, this is the place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Choice, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

"My wife planned this vacation months in advance. The pictures on the site show what appears to be a pretty swanky hotel for the price, so she jumped on the deal for a two night stay.

Upon arrival the lobby gave the impression of a nice place to stay. Our room was on the 14th floor and according to the the front desk, we were to have a superior view. The elevators only work if you swipe your room card. Nice security feature, but a little unhandy when you are managing luggage. The room hand an awful stench as if it was a room used for travelers with pets. The hallway and room carpets could use a good scrubbing or better yet, replacing. The room carpet was stained and wrinkled. The baseboards were filthy throughout the room and hallway. The curtains on the windows and door on the balcony were also filthy and disgusting. The bathroom must not have been cleaned before we arrived. There were feces on the toilet seat and the sink hand remnants of food or something in the bowl. This room had two telephones. One near the bed and one on the desk. The phone outlet under the desk was pulled from the wall exposing a baseball size hole with wiring. The bed was hard, uncomfortable, and needed flipped. The heat/air conditioning vent desperately needed cleaning and wall/ceiling area around it was black. The exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work. Vending area was nothing more than a soda machine and ice.

Food in this hotel is very expensive, not worth the money, and waiter service was terrible. Took our order, brought our food, and that was it. No drink refills or checking to see if everything was ok.

Shops in the promenade under the hotel closed at 7 pm on Friday and stayed closed all weekend, even though this is a major Metro transfer station. Needless to say the only place to eat is the hotel or hop on the Metro and find something.

Being that we booked so far ahead, we didn't know all the attractions were going to be closed because of the government shutdown. A short trip on the Metro took us downtown to visit the wax museum and other sites.

We also happened to be in town when the remnants of hurricane Karen happened to go through so it rained the entire trip. Just our bad luck.

Be aware that there's no shopping or food near this hotel. We booked this hotel because of its location to the National Mall. Don't expect to go for a stroll and find a restaurant. Getting on the Metro or taking a cab is the only way to find something to do or see.

Bottom line -- this hotel needs some serious upgrading for me to even remotely consider staying here again.

Next time we decide to visit, we will be staying at a hotel near the Metro line outside of the city with better prices, amenities, and clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#118 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Property: L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
Address: 480 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing