We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a five star hotel...but a great deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a five star hotel...but a great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Yes, the hotel is older. Yes, the tvs are older. Yes, the decor is outdated (but nice). Yes, we paid half of what other hotels were charging. Yes, we had a FANTASTIC location. Yes, we had an AMAZING view for the 4th of July fireworks. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and kind. Our room was older but clean. I almost cancelled our reservations because of the reviews but I am so glad that we stayed. I will stay here again when visiting DC. If you come in knowing you are staying at an older, family owned hotel, you will not be sorry. We spent very little time in the hotel, anyway. We were out sightseeing. When we returned, our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. That's all we needed for our lovely vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 15 room 121. It has a balcony that overlooks the Washington monument and the Cap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gretchen409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    433
    283
    195
    126
See reviews for
395
263
78
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Contrary to several previous reviews, we had excellent service upon checking in. The desk clerk was extremely helpful, the bell staff also quite helpful. The location of the hotel is superb; walking distance to monuments, DC Mall, The Capitol, the White House, Union Station, etc. The hotel is old, and could use a make over, but the rooms were clean, quite large, and the outdoor pool was in service. There is a promenade level which has good fast food restaurants for a quick, reasonably priced breakfast, and the Metro is also a level below that. All in all, I would recommend staying there; good price, clean, easy access to transportation.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that faces pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sycamoresue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Sycamoresue49,
We would definitely like for you to stay with us again! We love to hear great feedback from our guests and it brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. At L'Enfant Plaza we stress quality customer service and we are glad that we were able to provide it while you were here. We look forward to having you during your next trip to the DC area.

Best Regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We travel frequently as a family and have stayed in all caliber of hotels... with that said we still decided to book because of the location, regardless of bad reviews... um popcorn ceiling, soiled sheets.. soiled pink light blue and gold pictures from the early 90's, 13 inch tv, pink 1980's lamps, peeling wall paper, missing baseboards, does not look anything like the the pictures online, we abandoned our reservation, we couldn't even stay, trust me when I tell you even if a hotel is ugly and old.. the most important is cleanliness. Not the Case.. its the least they can do after all. . They are supposed yo be a hotel, more like a motel you rent by the hour. My advise, find a Westin.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Junpau,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we could not make your stay at L'Enfant a better one. We thank you for your business and your comments which we will use to better serve future guests.

Best Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a horrible experience upon check-in. We had a livingsocial deal displayed on our cell phone but the front desk made us go down the hall to the Business Center to print it. Then, we had to wait in line again-- this delayed our check-in for 45 minutes. Also, the livingsocial deal said we were to get a "superior view" room, but we had a view of the heating vent. We called the front desk, but they could not give us what we reserved. In addition, before check-in, when we called for more specific directions, the operator transferred us to the front desk who never answered the phone. We called three times, but could not get in touch with the main desk. We travel a lot, and come to Washington DC frequently, but we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Mary M,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay at L'Enfant Plaza was disappointing. Please know we have addressed each department concerning your issues while staying here especially not being able to get through to the Front Desk. Again, thank you for your feedback. It is our hope that you would try staying with us again. Thank you for your business.

Kind regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a 1 star bc of the great location but other then that I would give this hotel 0 stars if I could. We had to switch rooms bc the 1st one had a broken ac motor that was so loud. In the new room the next day, the toilet started overflowing. The customer service (manager) was rude and wasn't a bit apologetic for our inconveniences. There was a person who claimed to be a lifeguard at their pool who looked more of a gangster than a lifeguard. What type of lifeguard wears shoes and talks on the phone at the pool?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear May Y,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay at L'Enfant Plaza was unsatisfactory. Please know we have addressed each department concerning your issues while staying here. We have also replaced the previous lifeguard. It is our hope that you would try staying with us again. Again, thank you for your feedback and for your patronage.

Kind regards,


Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Telephone contact with the reservation staff to confirm my reservation was rude and lacking. Heather and George were the only civil employees I spoke with.. The rest were in need of serious customer service training. I was berated by one of the staff because I made my reservations through a third party. Another friend of mine received the same treatment and felt compelled to lodge a complaint.
I am not looking forward to my stay at the L'Enfant next week but I'm locked into a contract and the room is paid for. I requested double beds but they refuse to accommodate me. I pray my stay isn't as bad as the reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank vshdst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear vshdst;

Thank you for your comments. Let me apologize for any rude behavior that may have been exhibited; as this is not how we do business. We appreciate your feedback and we will use it to better serve future guests.

Regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The L'Enfant Plaza Hotel is 2 block South of the Smithsonian Castle which is great if you have a couple days to visit all the mall has to offer. We went East one day and West the other.

The shops and eateries below provide a variety of choices to get a quick bite to eat. The Hotel is on top of the Metrorail station and very easily accessible. There are offices between the 2nd and 11th floors so the weekend was not full of tourist traffic.

The staff at L'Enfant were all friendly and helpful. We will stay here again when we have the opportunity to visit the country's capital.

Room Tip: We stayed on the North side of the building. From our balcony we could see the Capital building, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rider_walt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEnfantPlazaHotel, General Manager at L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear rider_walt,

We were thrilled to read your review of our hotel. We are so glad that you found our hotel wonderful. Customer Service is a priority to us and we are glad that we were able to make you feel welcome and at home. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback. Please socialize with us on Facebook and Twitter.

Kind regards,

Dwayne Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,160 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enfant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enfant Plaza Hotel

Property: L'Enfant Plaza Hotel
Address: 480 Lenfant Plz SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2253
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Enfant Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homey and comfortable hotel within walking distance of major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Enfant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Enfant Plaza
Lenfant Plaza Hotel
l Enfant Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing