We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #65 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We picked this hotel for its excellent location and we were pleasantly surprised to find it exceeded our expectations. It is in a great location. It is within close walking distance to many DC landmarks and it is just a block or so from the White House.

The rates for our room were very competitive, in fact, after staying here, I think it was a real bargain.

Check in was very fast, our room was very clean, nicely decorated, and we were given plenty of towels. It's nicely furnished and it somehow doesn't look like a cookie cutter hotel. It is elegant without being stuffy.

We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and we were quite surprised by how good the food was. Breakfast was equally good, but sometimes a little slow. Also, they offer gluten free bread, which is highly unusual and a wonderful plus for those of us who can't tolerate gluten.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PVH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 3,072 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a very good conference experience in the JW. The location is perfect and with the Cherry Blossom Festival in full swing, very much appreciated. The staff was friendly and helpful but the business centre was dismal - no privacy and completely overpriced. Food was decent though the concierges' restaurant recommendation close to useless.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Not up to snuff from what I have experienced at other JW properties! Parking was deplorable to say the least. Check In was fantastic as was the Avenue restaurant. There were three of us in the room and we called down for extra toiletries. After fifteen minutes of waiting we had to call again and housekeeping showed up ten minutes later. Asked for a late checkout and our room was made up while we took a walk. We were not done and showered when we came back. I don't know if they got the room ready for the next guests or not! The value of the hotel was its access to the sights of our nations capital! Walking distanced to everything. Over all the property needs a little face lift to bring it to the standards of the JW brand!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

After our drive from Williamsburg Va, we old timers were beat and let's say we could use some refreshments...when checking in the young lady noticed and politely suggested maybe we would like to visit the lounge before heading to our room..well, nothing else needed to be said..except she saw to it that our luggage was taken to our very nice room on the 11 th floor over looking the Washington monument( pa. ave side). She also saw to it that we got our request for a room with a view on a floor higher than the 5 th.gave us directions for the following day for the trolley tour.the concierge room for breakfast was excellent. The grill could be upgraded but it is ok. If you like small plates, I recommend just heading to the lounge where the service is good and the calamari super good. There is a Starbucks for the coffee fanatic and if you want those shoes shined after a day of walking, the shoeshine sta. is right by the lounge. There is " free " water and coffee ,tea in the room. Room service is 24 hrs. we would stay there again .,so give it a try..you can always go next door to the Willard for that great dinner.

Room Tip: Opt for Pa. ave and higher floors for the views of the city and for catching the presidents motorcad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I've stayed at many J.W. Marriotts over the years, and have come to anticipate a very good experience. The D.C. Marriott was a bit rough. First, the parking situation is extremely difficult. As a guest, be prepared to add 20 to 25 minutes to your arrival and departure plans. The layout is extremely tight, so the traffic backs up onto the road. When the valet brings your car around, depending on congestion, it can take you another 10 minutes just to get onto the road. Not sure they can do much about it, but is sure was frustrating to be late for meetings at first because I did not know. The valet ticket says to give them 15 minutes to get your car, but the rest of the delay is not included in that time frame. Just fyi…

The concierge lounge is a very uninviting place, reminiscent of a college cafeteria. There were no comfortable "lounge" areas like sofas or stuffed chairs. Instead they were baron tables, shoe horned in, with no ambiance at all. We only used it once, and left within 10 minutes. Among other reasons, these lounges are provided as a benefit to Marriott's best customers. In this case, no lounge would be better.

We ended up frequenting the bar downstairs, which was fantastic. The only strange thing here is that at 11:30 they start running the vacuum cleaners in the lobby upstairs. These are extremely loud and we found ourselves shouting to have a conversation. I thought it must be 2 or 3 AM, but it was not. They really should wait until later.

Finally, ordered room service for breakfast, and the pot of coffee that i ordered was delivered as two paper cups of coffee. If you are a coffee person like me, that just doesn't work. The first cup was warm at best, and the second was discarded because it was cold.

Great location, comfortable rooms with a fabulous view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the JW Marriott Washington, DC.

You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

All of your comments are being taken under consideration so that we may improve our product and service to meet our guests expectations.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Disclosure - we are big Marriott loyalists, and stayed at this property primarily with our points.
This was a family vacation with our teenagers on their spring break.
The location can't be beat. A couple of blocks from White House, few blocks from Washington memorial and the mall. Plenty of restaurants and such in area. We walked everywhere - never had to use a taxi. Love this location and would consider hotel again just because of that.
In terms of the hotel itself, here is the balance sheet
Pluses: impressive lobby, liked the 1331 bar because it's big and has nice private spaces in back, room service food quality was good, exercise facility had good modern equipment selection, appreciated safe in room and good TV channels when we wanted to relax
Could be improved: while this place was probably remodeled not many years ago in terms of style, it shows it's age in bathrooms which are very small and could be at any holiday inn. Everything was showing it's age - rust on bathroom light fixtures, chips on every piece of furniture, tired carpet. The "I don't trust you" mini bar with automated sensors, including admonishing letter left in room when we put something or our own in the fridge. Itchy sheets. Concierge didn't give us any advice we couldn't find ourselves on internet.
In general, not up to standard of other JW properties we've stayed at.

Room Tip: ideally the top floors and toward intersection of penn and 14th for best view. I'd avoid interi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCHKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your stay here at the JW Marriott Washington DC.

I can certainly understand your concerns over your in room experience. We have a scheduled renovation for all of our guest rooms later this year.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and I’m glad to hear our premier location was ideal for your traveling needs.

Whatever works for each guest, we strive to provide the level of convenience and service they desire. It is my hope that you will return in the future to experience our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This Marriot is located right on Pennsylvania Avenue, within easy walking distance of the Smithstonian Museums, National Gallery ,the Holocaust Museum ;it's about i.5 miles from the Supreme Court and Capitol. The rooms are large, nicely decorated, and unlike many hotels today, there is a coffee maker in the room. Meals in the main dining room are quite good and reasonably priced, both unusual for hotels. The only drawback is that it is about 6-7 blocks from the nearest Metro station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bahia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 142 in Washington DC
2,307 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#69 of 142 in Washington DC
4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1330 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $196 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 777 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Stop by our all-day dining restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order a signature cocktail & light fare from 1331 Lounge. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing