We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the monuments and White House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #64 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Marriott is well appointed and the rooms were well-equipped. The hotel's front desk staff was not very efficient and check. Even though my reservations were done well in advance, the check-in process seemed endless. The location was excellent. Two blocks away from the White House and within walking distance of several very nice restaurants. Also, the monuments were very close in proximity to the hotel. The amenities were as expected at the JW Marriott Hotel.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,043)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Washington, DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,642 - 1,648 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great service great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful upon check in. Pennsylvania Ave rooms are great. On my first visit we had one but this time we were just off so could see the Washington Monument but it was a stretch. Bottom line: get the avenue view. It's spectacular

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

i was looking forward to this business trip and when I arrived the lobby was great, the staff was awesome, but when i checked into my room i couldn't believe my eyes, for two expensive nights
the rooms were quite average, infact very disappointing. Apparently more about location then the rooms. the Ballroom and other meeting rooms were very nice. Back to the room, the adjoining door to the next room isn't very sound proof, i had a man on a conference call that was basically yelling and i heard the whole argument. If it was on my dime, not here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitty3742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

I apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to provide the service that allows you to relax and enjoy your stay. It is certainly agitating to have loud conversations next door when you are seeking peace and quiet.

If business or pleasure takes you back t Washington DC, please contact me and allow me to ensure a great experience.

Thank you for your feedback.

Dan McKeon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have stayed here twice. The first time we got lucky and they bumped us up to a room off the balcony which was magical! We had a view from the Capital all the way past the Washington Monument. The room was fine, but that view and all of the open space made up for the mediocre room. There was a small patio set outside and it was nice to have a glass of wine at night up there.

On our second stay last year, the first room we were given had what seemed like paper thin walls. We could hear our neighbor's TV blasting all night, as if it was in our room. We went downstairs the next morning and they quickly moved our room. This room was fine, the beds were acceptable, but the view was nice. It was a corner room and we had a nice view of the Washington Monument.

The staff was pleasant enough, but the valet/bell staff was outstanding. The lobby was pretty, but a little sterile. The close proximity to the food court made grabbing a quick bite a breeze. We did find that the food court closed pretty early, though. The hotel restaurant's food was fine, but again, the staff was superb. The location of this hotel is outstanding, easy walk virtually every where.

The hotel is a little overpriced, but you are paying for your location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardNsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is one block from the White House and is in a great location in the US capital. Otherwise, it is quite an ordinary hotel and a bit of a disappointment. Room was average size and the bed was comfortable. Furniture was a bit worn and scratched. The room was dirty. The dust on the furniture was quite noticeable and the dirt along the carpet edge was quite prominent. The room had one of those stupid electronic minbars taht automatically charge you for moving an item but there was not sign of notice to the customer. The executive lounge was average, at best, and the breakfast was the usually bland scrambled eggs and a few other items. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry your stay was not what you had hoped for, as we certainly strive to make it so. While many appreciate the convenience of the snacks available on the desktop, others do not and we can always remove them at your request prior to your arrival.

There is no excuse for dust having been overlooked and for that I apologize. We will use your feedback to encourage our housekeeping team to be more diligent on behalf of you and other valued JW Marriott guests.

Please contact me if you return to Washington and allow me to try and upgrade your experience on your return.

Many thanks,
Dan McKeon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The location can't be beat for DC business with quick access to DCA. The hotel is very nice, though there could be some small improvements. The HVAC system was loud in the room and some small maintenance issues were present in the hotel that were open for anyone to see and were not addressed in the three days I was there. The room is modern and spacious, the internet worked well and the gym was full of working equipment.
So I would give it a 4star, but the service was always extremely friendly, very accommodating for the requests I had, and the hotel was very well staffed and managed. Thus.. 5 star. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for south facing room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here overnight with my sister on Marriott points and we enjoyed a room with two doubles and a picturesque city view. Very large hotel but not overwhelming as some can be. Easy check-in, warm greeting upon arrival. Very quiet room, decorated very nicely and did not feel worn or outdated at all. Comfortable, but not spacious bathroom. Would definitely return. Great location for exploring the center of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
2,291 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
4,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1330 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $199 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing