We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice rooms and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #68 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location is just perfect for sightseeing and business. All the Museums and important services are just in walking distances. The rooms are nice and spacious - ours with a spectacular view over the Mall. The services are friendly - especially their advices about restaurants etc., too. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raeber-Mendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,776 of 3,104 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

All the employees at this hotel were so thoughtful and polite. They definately made my Sons birthday something for him to remember!! A special thanks to Officer Munday who gave him a birthday gift, card and free breakfast for all of us!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is clean and it is centrally located. It is a very large hotel and not very warm or personal. My room faced another building and there was no light in the room which I found a bit depressing. Marriott uses Aromatherapy bath products which is really nice. The service could be tweaked but they did quickly rectify the issues.

Room Tip: Request a room with light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice hotel, clean rooms, good service. Overall a good place to stay. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was also very good. I was with a conference group and asked if I could get that rate and the front desk was very accomodating since I was a rewards member.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RST1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at the JW for a three day conference and was amazed by the incredible service of the staff. When I walked in I was greeted by at least three staff members even before checking in. All of my time was spent in the hotel because of the conference and I didn't mind at all. The food was excellent and the rooms were very nice.

My only slight complaint is I put the "do not disturb" sign on my door and they called on the phone when I was napping.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

From the minute my cab arrived at this hotel, I was given exceptional service. My stay was only two days, but I felt at home and very welcome. The staff are all great. It's so enjoyable to be in a hotel where everyone seems happy with their job. I will definitely stay there again. The hotel is convenient to Union Station, the Mall and all the sites. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Restaurant downstairs great, I ate there twice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the JW Marriott Washington! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

All the best,
'
Dan McKeon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I am partial to Marriott since I love their rewards program and their hotels. We stayed at this Marriott due to its proximity to Government buildings since we had to attend an official function. The hotel was so well located that we walked to the event in just ten minutes. From the hotel we also walked down to the White House, the mall and all the awesome monuments in the area for sightseeing. The room was nice. The beds were very comfortable (as usual). We ordered room service, which was good but pricey (as usual). Will definitely stay there again during our next DC trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnowandtomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 142 in Washington DC
2,329 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
4,967 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $163 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel in downtown Washington, D.C. benefits from a perfect location in the heart of the nation's capital near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 777 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Stop by our all-day dining restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order a signature cocktail & light fare from 1331 Lounge. If you're in D.C. for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing