We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Average for NA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #63 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location, Average for NA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend to run a half-marathon. As far as JW goes, it's a nice hotel and is on par with my expectations. The lounge serves good breakfast. What annoys me about Marriott and most North American big chain hotels is that most of them close the lounge on the weekends, which in my opinion is a big disappointment.

I got a corner room, but the hotel is overall nice and quiet. The location is great because it is close to the subway system, and there is no shortage of food around the area. It is also walking distance to the verizon stadium, and that makes it convenient if you manage to combine the weekend with a hockey game like I did.

Service is average, good but no one went above and beyond. So far I have not gone to another hotel in Washington but may start venturing.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingmanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    1,056
    380
    137
    72
See reviews for
904
511
91
929
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Attended a business event the first week of May 2013. Room was not ready when I arrived mid-morning, but they promised to call me when the room was ready. 2 hours later I received that call, simply picked up my key at the front desk, and went to my 10th floor room overlooking Pennsylvania Avenue and the Washington Monument. Good room size, very clean and comfortable. Location was great, 2 blocks from a Metro Station after I had arrived by train at Union Station. Evening walk to the Mall and many interesting sights was a nice break from all-day meetings. YOu can't go wrong staying at this JW Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for room on Pennsylvania Ave. side 9th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on the JW Marriott Washington! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. As the host for hundreds of high level meetings and conferences, we work hard to deliver genuine hospitality for attendees such as yourself. The staff will appreciate your comments, which we will be sharing!

Dan McKeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent 4 days in DC for our anniversary. The hotel upgraded us to a corner window room with views of The US Capital and Washington Monument. They brought up chocolate covered strawberries and champagne which was a very nice touch and so appreciated. DC is a great city and this location is central to all of the sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oehler_melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here and paid what I thought was a pretty steep price (even for DC) for a standard, ordinary room (just over $310 per night with tax) only because it was near an event I was attending. For that price I was put on one of the lowest floors - no view which fortunately I didn't care about since I was going to be there less than 12 hours. I requested a room change because the first one had a strong musty/mildew odor coming from the vent but it was like the desk clerk didn't understand English. He may have been new which is why he insisted the room windows could be opened (they could not) and regardless would not make the mildew problem any better. The 2nd room was fine and like I said, ordinary. Marriott beds are comfortable & rooms are clean and in good condition. This place has the strangest electronic elevators I've ever seen - no one warns you about them when you check in so you're left to figure them out on your own. Valet parking fee is ridiculous ($50) so park yourself in the same garage (under the hotel with direct elevator to lobby level) for a flat $15 daily rate on weekends. If I had known the Willard was across the street I would have stayed there instead.

Room Tip: If I were staying longer or if I were a tourist I would have requested a room with a view on a highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a little late of a review, but it might help those debating which Marriott to stay at while in D.C. since there are quite a few to chose from. My girlfriend and I stayed at this location the past New Years Eve. I am a platinum Marriott member and only got the status due to extensive travel for business. After arriving at the location around 3pm the front desk informed us that our room was not quite ready, but we could leave our bags in a secure room go grab a snack and when we returned our room would be ready or they could offer us another room. I asked should we take another room or wait for this one. The gentleman at the desk advised me to not make a switch. After grabbing a quick snack on the town we arrived back at the hotel and went to our room (about 30 minutes elapsed). The room was amazing! Our view was overlooking the city on Pennsylvania Ave. We even had a partial view of the National Mall. The room was clean not sort of clean like most hotels, but spotless. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for hospitality and a worry free trip. The only downside is that it is a JW which means the price is a little higher than a normal Marriott, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakes419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Downtown DC is just expensive, and the rooms tend to be smaller than in other cities. (except New York) That said, this is a lovely hotel in a great location for walking to almost everything, and convenient for public transportation as well. The hotel gym is very good... the gentleman who was working there even refilled my water for me while I was using one of the machines. As we have no status in the Marriott system, we probably got one of the worst rooms in the hotel, on a low floor overlooking the courtyard. We had requested a king and had to settle for a double. The woman who checked us in was somewhat rude and curt when I asked if there was something better available. But we still had a nice stay. I prefer the W just a block away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the DC JW for quick business/family trip. The hotel location is fantastic. Walking distance to the Mall, White House, Smithsonian, etc. Considering it's neighboring hotels, I would rate the JW as a good value. It is an older building and as such, lacks the beauty of many of the JW properties. The rooms are rather small, but nicely appointed. The staff was wonderful. I did take note from other TA reviews and allowed plenty of time for the car to be brought up in valet. It took about 30 minutes on a day where the hotel was not too busy. We would return to the JW DC for the value and location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSP-HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing