We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“location, location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“location, location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We only spent 1 night at the JW. I found the interior to be gorgeous, the location excellent, and the service top notch! The lobby is quite gorgeous. We arrived late (almost midnight!) and the front desk agent was very kind and efficiently got us checked in. The room was very clean...maybe a bit small, though. Loved the lavender scented toiletries provided in the bathroom. The mattress and pillows were very hard - not to my liking. The conceirge lounge was very crowded during breakfast, but it was also school vacation week. Our flight was early evening, so we checked our bags while spending the day exploring. Was super pleased with the internal Starbucks, as well. The location cannot be beat - so many things within walking distance!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisgoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    1,019
    370
    134
    67
See reviews for
868
487
90
884
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Were it not for the friendly and accomodating staff in this hotel, I would have rated it average, at best. For the small room size and exhorbitant parking charge ($40.00), I felt that it was really overpriced. Additionally, there is no free Wi-Fi in the room (be careful... I inadvertently signed up for this $24.00 prvilege, but the desk clerk graciously agreed to remove it from my bill when I quickly reported it). The bar is inviting, however, the bartender and one of his cronies were speaking so loudly, that my companion and I had to yell over the din. Of all things, that was really unacceptable (I should have complained to management), so sit far from the bar itself if you choose to stop in and have a drink. Dinner at the Avenue Grill was overpriced but decent. Ditto for breakfast. But again, the wait staff was super attentive and friendly. Overall, it was OK experience, and as others have commented, you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The JW Marriott is a great hotel where you can park your car f the weekend while you explore the Smithsonian museums of our Nation's Capitol. This is a large hotel with many quiet places to sit and think.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

arrived to the hotel with all our best attire to be wined and dined by the company that we work for only to have the bell staff take our bags from us and they never to be seen again. The jw marriotts protocal to looking for the bags is to wait and see if another quest reports having them delivered to their room by mistake. have not seen my belongings since.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank tina243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Every where in the hotel we went she was given stickers, All the staff was very kind to her. Don't touch the mini bar in the room, we were charged over $200 and we never ordered a thing. Staff said they would take care of it. This was a great ocation as well. Clean and friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKrispyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for a work function and while the location is awesome I wasn't impressed with the size of the rooms and thought it could use some updates. The bathroom was seriously cramped, lacked any ventilation. It would have been nice to have a separate vanity area to get ready as 2 people in the bathroom was impossible. Rooms have mini-fridges stocked but you can't remove the items to store any beverages. I also thought the rooms weren't as clean as I would like found dust on a few surfaces. Overall I would not choose to stay here again if the choice was mine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraziek234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

If your goal is to visit the National Mall and White House this location can't be beat.. 2 blocks from the white use and just a couple (long) blocks from the Mall, our Metro cards did not get much use. We could easily walk to everything we wanted to see. Service was great. Club level was a little too crowded for my taste. Tip: if coming from Metro Center metro station, turn right on E street rather than walking down to Pennsylvania. Watch for National Theater signage. The actual hotel signage is bit hidden. Main entry for cars is not on Pennsylvania (think its 14th).

Room Tip: Pennsylvania view will get you a nice street view and and view of Washington Monument from our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhansen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing