We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ... Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Washington, DC to your Saves list
JW Marriott Washington, DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #67 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location ... Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the JW Marriott this past weekend. The hotel is very well located, just minutes from the White House and Museums. Our room was a little small, but was well maintained and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely go back. The desk staff and Concierge were very helpful. The gym was well equipped.
A very safe choice for a weekend away or a business stay.

Room Tip: Get a room near the elevator. It is a large hotel and it can be a long walk to the lower numbered ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    939
    348
    128
    63
See reviews for
793
432
85
810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
271 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel's staff rolls out the red carpet for visitors. It's quite refreshing that everyone from the maids to bellhops to front-desk clerks are so gracious and helpful. I appreciated the hotel made a mini-fridge available to me for medical needs. The rooms are great, beds comfy, and I had a great view of the Washington Monument. There is a CVS a block or two away, a full Starbucks inside and walkable restaurants, like the Occidental Grill (see my review). My only complaint is that being at this hotel for a conference meant quite a few meals for the masses. A colleague got ill from the potato salad, and although I had been assured the food would be labeled to accommodate gluten/soy/dairy/nut allergies, it never was. I will say that the time I ordered room service, it was hands down above and beyond the conference food - not even comparable really. I highly recommend the hotel, just forewarning to pack some snacks if you are attending for a conference!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked a stay using Marriott Rewards points for the evening of July 4th. I was hoping to land a room looking out over the Mall and Washington Monument to watch the fireworks display. Despite being flooded with people checking in, the superb front desk staff quickly assisted those ahead of us and provided us a choice room overlooking the Monument. Breakfast in the concierge lounge the following morning was good, though a bit crowded with 4th of July revelers like myself. The location and quality of service of this hotel is also hard to beat. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_B_Ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubec maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

JUst stayed at the Marriott. Left my purse in the taxi on arrival from airport. The staff at the front immediatel;y went into action. Checking their surveilance cameras & calling taxis to get it back. Meanwhile the lovely taxi driver found it and was on his return to the hotel!! So nice! The conceire was great at finding us great restaurants within waliking distance. Beds incredibly comfortable. Liquor store immediately to your right & CVS 2 blocks up with inexpensive juice, snack etc. TJMaxx 2 blocks away. All monuments & museums within easy walking distance.Perfect place!

Room Tip: just check your bill for minibar charges. Staff great at taking them off no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnelubec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the JW on a recent business trip. A couple of blocks from the White House. Walking distance to the Metro. Even had a view of the Washington Monument from my room window. Would definitely stay again. In fact, I've already made a reservation there for my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTexasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is only 5 mins walk from the white house and very near the mall. From what i could tell all the sights within Washington are fairly compact so this was a great base. Its a very pleasant stroll along the Mall where all the key sights are. The hotel is very large and well equipped.

My only quibble was this was a pricey place yet didn't have free wifi in the rooms. It was free down in the lobby but not that useful if you quickly wanted to check out where good restaurants were.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyschecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent spot to explore the city from.
Starters there is a Starbucks in the lobby so is easy to start the day nicely!
We used the trolley bus to get about. The stop is just across the road. It was so easy to get around. The White House is just a block away and then you can walk to the Washington monument and Abraham Lincoln memorial such a gorgeous walk to do!
Used the hotel gym which was very very good. Lots of equipment and good weights. The pool and spa were great too.
Room service was quick and tasty. The restaurants on the hotel were good too. Very happy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,930 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,823 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing