We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent three nights at the JW Marriott and were extremely impressed with this hotel. Its location is perfect for exploring all Washington has to offer and the staff and level of service were excellent. Min and Mylene on reception deserve a particular mention for their wonderful welcome and attentive service throughout our stay. Our room, on the 8th floor was a little on the small size, but clean and well appointed with a great view,. The hotel has an excellent, well equipped gym, nice pool (though the water was a little cloudy during our stay) and jacuzzi. Our only complaint would be the lack of free WiFi in the rooms (free in the lobby only) which seems quite petty for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portleynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,164 - 2,170 of 3,150 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was very nice. The staff was helpful. The rooms were extremely clean. Room service was great. The breakfast buffet was great with a wide variety without children playing in the food. Located in the heart of downtown and right across from the White House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErycaBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just returned from a great weekend in DC and stayed three nights at the JW. The hotel is very conveniently located, great services, very clean, and with a nice selection of food and drinks. My only comment would be that the hotel seems to be very museum like. There is not a lot of atmosphere. I would return, especially if there for business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Located 1 block from the entrance to the White House Tour gate. Older hotel, but Marriott always does their best to keep things fresh.
Pros: Location: close to lots of attractions, good restaurants and 3 blocks from the Metro. Great view from the corner room overlooking PA Ave. Concierge lounge offers a full breakfast during the week. Many, fast elevators.
Cons: Only offers valet parking...but you can self park for $30 on the other end of the block. Small, cramped bathroom.
Spend a little extra $$ and upgrade to a corner room overlooking Pennsylvania Ave. It offers a GREAT view...we saw the Presidential motorcade entering the White House grounds!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and upgrade to a corner room overlooking Pennsylvania Ave. Great view...you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFFYG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here on business for three nights. As a woman travelling alone I appreciated the feeling of security around the lobby area and I felt quite comfortable using my laptop to access the free wi-fi (why don't hotels charging room prices like this provide free wi-fi in rooms - it is so niggardly?). The room was comfortable and clean but I never did get the hang of the air con which seemed to blow out either cold or hot air but nothing in between. The bed was lovely. What brings down the satisfaction score is the food costs. The room service charges, with their 22% surcharge, were unacceptable so I went down to the Avenue Grill below the lobby. The menu was the same, the high prices were the same and tax was charged on top of them so I ended up paying nearly $50 for a crab cake main course and a glass of wine. It was much more expensive than the Old Ebbitt Grill with none of the atmosphere and not so good food. So my advice is stay here, but don't eat here.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here one night Nov 3rd. The location is great. The hotel itself is nice, but the location sells it.
We had a view of the Washington Monument and the White House was close. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealTravelAgent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I arranged group reservations for a business association and this hotel was in the ideal location to allow for walking to our activities. It also did not fail to disappoint as a top-of-the line flagship hotel for Marriott. I have never stayed in a JW so this was a real treat.

We received an excellent group rate for the hotel but did not reserve or use any meeting rooms for our trip. It could not have been possible without great help from our Marriott Corporate group travel representative Sheryll Paraiso and we appreciate all her help.

The hotel is right in the heart of DC on Pennsylvania Ave, a couple of blocks from the White House. But when you enter their lobby, you are transported to a luxurious accommodation and world unto it's own. They do have a splash of history abounding as well (see photo below of the Women's Suffrage march on the wall). But this hotel is more about escaping from the daily grind of business for our group and relaxing for the evening.

As the group leader I was fortunately granted a corner executive king room with a two window view out onto the city (yes that's the tip of the Washington Monument in the photo). In leading the group I also received an excellent thank you package of fruit and wine. Truly the royal treatment.

Others in our group seemed very pleased with the hotel as well, perhaps even more well rested than some colleagues who chose an alternate hotel. But that is speculation. I know that our group enjoyed the lounge and breakfast but don't expect complementary in any high end hotel. I also paid for the wi-fi access and it delivered as promised including video conferencing.

I found check-in to be efficient and all employees treated you like a VIP as expected in this establishment. I found the valet to be patient even with our van transport and sluggish loading times for our group. Be sure to check the vehicle height maximums for their valet garage, we were prepared as anyone should in DC.

Even though I was in a corner room only a few floors up from the road, I did not find much noise as all. The windows are thick not letting in sound nor the cold wind.

The elevators are different but great when you get used to them. You have to punch the floor number you want to go to, then the elevator lobby screen will direct you to Elevator A thru E. This is a great system once your brain processes how it works. Also don't forget the -1, -2 and -3 lobby floors (yes negative number floors!)

We would definitely consider this hotel again for our annual trip.

Room Tip: The corner executive king room I had looked out on the corner of 14th street NW and Pennsylvania Ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina0nMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
2,354 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,076 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $208 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel in downtown Washington, D.C. benefits from a perfect location in the heart of the nation's capital near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 777 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Stop by our all-day dining restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order a signature cocktail & light fare from 1331 Lounge. If you're in D.C. for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing