We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #68 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a short break and found the hotel was excellent. It is an ideal location for people on business and people wanting to visit the tourist areas and the also City Tour buses stop is one block away. We could not fault the room, however as other people have mentioned "Do not move the items on the snack bar!!" otherwise you will be charged. Another point is that you have you go to the reception area to get the free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robster1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,161 - 2,167 of 3,104 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a great hotel very near the White House. Staff and service were top notch. Our king bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and well kept. Courtyard rooms are more quiet. The hotel restaurant and bar were very nice - though during your stay you should treat yourself to outdoor dinner at Cafe du Parc, on the next block west. Heed the warnings about the wired snack bar - if you pick up something, you bought it (though a call to the front desk cleared that up).

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms (even numbers) are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill-Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed just two blocks from White House and walking distance from most other major sights. Staff helpful, friendly and rooms clean.

Had one issue with a noisy neighber for about 15 minutes, but security resovled immediately. Stayed three nights and all good. Beds comfortable, housekeeping did great job.

Information given about close by restaurants, metro use, and overall map of DC. All great resources.

Had great wings at bar (half price happy hour).

All you can eat breakfast buffet (Marriot Restaurant) was the only sour note in my stay. Staff friendly and helpful, but food cold.. I mean refrigerator cold. Omlet bar much better, and person working ALONE that day was really working hard. It all looked good, just wasn't though... not sure what the issue was. For $25 or so, it should be great and hot hot hot!!

Pool was a big hit with son, after a long day of walking etc.

Air conditioning worked great and was quiet!

Had a great time and hightly recommend.

Room Tip: Use metro(center station 2 blocks from hotel on F street), saves on legs and feet. Do a couple guid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's in a great area, a really short walk to the capital and lots of places to eat. The rooms are on the small side and don't touch the snack bar! $8 for a handful of cashews, but it's what you would expect from a JW. Also the parking was pretty pricey so if you drive in be prepared.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayFangMerkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great hotel which is centrally located and close to tourist sites and restaurants. Had some business at a couple Federal Agencies and they were were within walking distance. Fitness center is well appointed and has a good inventory of equipment and weights. My room was clean and also well appointed. The hotel has a very nice bar. The lobby has plenty of tables and chairs to meet people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My new favorite DC hotel.

Property is very luxurious; staff is super attentive and helpful. On a recent trip I forgot an umbrella but the hotel has some available for guests to use...nice attention to detail.

My only gripe is that the dessert selection in the Concierge Lounge is very limited (cookies & brownies) and for a property of this calibre I would have expected more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had the JW Marriott not "bumped" a colleague, this would have been an excellent stay.
However, despite having prepaid the room and a travel agent having phoned up to confirm the room, my colleague was told the hotel was overbooked and sent to a hotel 25 minutes away by cab in Chevy Chase. We were later told that a party had decided to extend their stay and this had resulted in five other guests also being told there was "no room at the inn". A fairly disgraceful excuse for a fairly shameful incident. My colleague didn't get the chance to get the little cardboard keycard holder which said "One glance at you and we can tell you are elite....". Hmmm. Yes.

Despite this shock to the system, the hotel is very good (which - to be fair - you have to expect when every night costs more than a new iPhone) although I left with a sense that the management rely mainly on their (amazing) location and the fact that this is the flagship of the global Marriott chain. There are a number of irritating aspects that you don't really expect at this price point:
- the room doors don't really fit well meaning that light streams during the night and more importantly, people talking in the corridor are clearly audible in the room
- connecting doors seem thin: I was woken by a man having a phone conversation early on

The room was really spacious, well-lit (a big problem in many hotels these days), and the bed was supremely comfortable.
The bathroom was well equipped, again well-lit if somewhat on the small side.

Food - both in the evening and for breakfast - was excellent.

The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, and even when discussing my colleague's overbooking were respectful, apologetic and tactful.

I would certainly stay again, although my colleague has vowed never to cross the threshold of a Marriott.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look out (off to the right) towards the White House. Ask for a room which does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBrightBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 142 in Washington DC
2,329 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
4,967 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $163 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel in downtown Washington, D.C. benefits from a perfect location in the heart of the nation's capital near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 777 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Stop by our all-day dining restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order a signature cocktail & light fare from 1331 Lounge. If you're in D.C. for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing