We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location for tourists” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Washington, DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location for tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Spent three nights at the Marriott and noted that it caters for big groups and conferences. Has some nice features such as its location within walking distance to the museums and White House, an on site Starbucks, breakfast was pleasant but not outstanding. Very generic big hotel experience in a safe central location. I would recommend the hotel albeit showing its age now.

Room Tip: not all rooms have in-room safes so make sure at check in that you have one in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,045
    375
    136
    72
See reviews for
896
503
90
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Recerntly stayed at the Marriott during a business trip to DC. Convenient location to Capitol and downtown access. Check-in and Check-out were very fast and friendly. Beds and room were very clean and comfortable. Adequate dining options wihtin hotel as well.
No suprises which is a good thing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
260 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with supreme service, but it is horribly expensive. Yet, it IS D.C. after all, so you know you pay too much for all hotel rooms. This hotel is located close to the White House, so depending on your reason for staying, the location may be excellent for you. My one complaint is that Marriott NEVER offers free wi-fi at any of their upper end chains. This makes no sense to me--that they would charge you an additional $13 a day for internet when you are already gouged on the cost of the room! Yet, stay at one of their lower-level chains for a fraction of the cost, and you get free wi-fi. Can someone explain this reasoning to me?!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Beautiful hotel well representing the JW Marriott brand.

We stayed here for 2 nights. The check-in process was smooth, however, we felt like the front-desk person really should have informed us about the elevators -- you punch in the floor number OUTSIDE the bank of elevators and it tells you which elevator to take. We figured it out quickly after going for a scenic tour.

We had two different reservations, 1 for each night due to the rate/pkg we booked. Unfortunately the front-desk person did not combine the two reservations (even though he pointed out that we had two reservations) and so we were locked out midday after night #1. Not a huge deal just annoying.

One more thing that will make as sound like royal pains, the beddings were very "loud". You will know what I mean when you stay here.

It was overall a good stay, we are just being picky. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdOverIp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed here for business two nights. Check in was very quick, even at 11 at night. The room was on the small side, as was the bathroom, but I could tell from the floor diagram I just missed having a room with a bay window by one room. The size of the room would have bothered me at $299 per night if I was staying on leisure. The room was very clean and well appointed. Pillows were ample but a bit hard. Bathrobes were a nice touch. The room was fairly quiet even on the main street, but because there was a connecting door, I like to turn on the room fan to block out any ambient noise. After four hours, the fan turns off - this meant awakening at 3 AM. All in all I would stay here again for business and perhaps for leisure if I could get a better rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at the JW Marriott, and both times I've been found the stay to be comfortable.

The rooms are modern and clean and well set-up for a business traveler. There are several restaurants in the hotel which are fine places to eat, although there are a number of restaurants in the general vicinity which are better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evanston_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Our 2 night stay at the JW Marriott was wonderful. The hotel is in an excellent location, rooms are gorgeous and everything about the property is there to make your life easier while on vacation. There isn't even a wait for the elevator - it's computer programmed to get you to your room ASAP! The restaurants and concierge desk are great too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing