We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Jersey Ave N.W., Washington DC, DC 20001 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% off
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
“Great location, Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

This is a good hotel for business/ convention purposes with clean rooms and cozy baths. The water pressure in the shower could have been better but the service and cleanliness was topnotch. I thought the prices in the restaurant for breakfast were steep but there was also bar service for lighter fare and a large gift shop, complete with Starbucks. The location couldn't have been better, really. It was three blocks from the Senate end of the Capitol so it was easy to walk to the Mall and it had wonderful shuttle service to and from the convention center for meetings, plus a whole level of meeting rooms of its own. There is also a fitness center and pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisurereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    1,222
    568
    169
    88
See reviews for
737
518
165
1,333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I've stayed here several times, each time quite pleased. This is a bustling, fairly noisy hotel that caters to people doing business on Capitol Hill, various meetings, and families on vacation. I've always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. While some reviewers have noted run-down rooms, I've always stayed in nice rooms, modern with flat screen TVs. The gift shop is large and well stocked, and the fitness center is spacious and well-equipped, surrounded a somewhat small indoor pool. The restaurants and bars are overpriced, but there are alternatives around the hotel. The immediate surrounding are a mixed bag, with some other upscale hotels, offices, but also some rundown streets. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Union Station, and the US Capitol. Overall this a perfectly reasonable base for either business or sightseeing in DC. If you get a room you don't like, just go down to the front desk and ask for a better one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We choose this Hyatt mainly for its location as it was within easy walking distance to Union Station, the National Mall, and The Smithsonian museums. We had a nice, fun, positive experience and would stay here again.

The hotel: was clean, pleasant, with bright and wide- open spaces in the lobby. We found this to be a good value for its location near The Mall in comparison to other nearby properties of the same category. Property is overall in “good" condition but shows some signs of ageing. You can expect a solid 4-star hotel experience but don’t expect a high-end luxury property type like the Grand Hyatt or you will be disappointed.

The room: was spacious and comfortable, bedding was superb with plush duvets and pillows. Nice flat screen TV. Furniture was adequate but not luxurious. Nicely appointed bathrooms with generous toiletries. Very small shelf space in shower for your products. In-room refrigerators are apparently available upon request at check-in. Request a room facing the back street of hotel for a quieter room. Front facing rooms are much noisier facing major street. Our room on 5th floor had poor sound proofing and we could hear people in the hallway or in room next door. Swimming pool is basic & mostly used by kids under 12.
Front desk staff: was very helpful, friendly, well-informed, professional and accommodating. They allowed us to check in early since we arrived at 8am.

The restaurant: in the lobby area is expensive. Adjacent bar serves decent gastro pub dishes & alcohol. Service was quick & welcoming. Breakfast buffet at $20 per person seemed excessive and breakfast a la carte is very steep. I guess this is Ok if you are on a company expense account.

Gift shop & café is convenient and has adequate selections but very pricey. You can buy the same @ liquor store across the street at 1/2 the price.

The neighborhood around the hotel was clean and safe. We felt comfortable walking to nearby restaurants & shops. Starbucks is literally across the street. Although there are no restaurants next to hotel, there were many restaurants within 5-10 min walking distance on E St. & 7th streets. Union Station is about 2.5 short blocks away and has a food court downstairs for a quick meal. Mostly fast food options.

Concierge desk: was definitely one of the strengths of this hotel. Both Donald & Cherrod are experts about the area restaurants, tours, transportation, shops, museums and other attractions. They have maps, brochures and many invaluable tips to offer

During our stay Hotel crowd was mainly for business travelers for seminars or conventions with a smaller segment of families on vacation. I recommend this hotel for its excellent service and location to major attractions &Smithsonian museums. Only a few minute walk from Union Station for the Metro subway and many tour bus departures.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetreker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My son still raves to people about the awesome time he had in the Hyatt during our trip to DC. It had a very comforatable bed and big/flat screen TV. I loved that they didn't have many channel choices so he didn't fight to much about getting out to explore. It was walking distance to the Union Station where you pick up all the trains, subways, and most tour busses. It is also walking distance to the Smithsonian. Very nice and reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinjjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This hotel is quite beautiful and conveniently located just blocks away from Capitol Hill. The rooms are well appointed. Beds are incredibly comfy. The only negative I can say is that they don't have refrigerators in the rooms and there's very little shelf space for toiletries in the bathroom. Other than that, everything was great (including room service). They do get you the extra "service fee" costs. But it's an upscale hotel in a very expensive town. To be expected.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntie-irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I've stayed here twice over the last year.

Arrival- Pleasant staff. Provided mini-refrigerator upon request.

Room- (952) Carpet could be cleaner.

Bed- Comfortable.

Cleaning- Staff comes by too early in the a.m. Sometimes left toothpaste and soap, sometimes didn't.

Bar- OK but $4.95 for a club soda? Really?

Catering- bagged lunch consisting of a crummy sandwich, apple, chips and cookie for $18 was insane. Go to the Liquor store/deli across the street for a sandwich.

Location- If going to Capital Hill, great. Two blocks from Union Station. Not a hip area of DC. If you're looking for hip and fun, stay near DuPont Circle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank utfiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malawimike
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Washington DC when my business facilitated a meeting for about 200 people. We organized everything and negotiated prices, etc. (this is important in explaining things below).

The room was as expected. Good size for DC, flat screen TV was nice, bathtub with shower and good water pressure, great iHome clock radio. It may just be me -- but all three nights the bedding (bottom sheet and mattress pad) did not stay in place and i kept waking up with my body on the actual mattress. I've never had that happen before, but it may just be me.

Fitness room is quite large and has everything and everything is clean and in good working order. It is combined with the pool area. Locker room for men had a private dry sauna. I am assuming the same was true for the women's locker room.

The meeting room space was just so-so. We reserved numerous rooms for break-out space, and we got shuffled a little bit. I don't know the back-story on that, so I can't explain why (it may have not been the hotel's fault). My biggest issue with the hotel was with the catered lunch. We had to have working lunches with our meeting, and our business will not allow us to pay for the lunches of the participants. The participants had to buy the bagged lunches catered by the hotel. Our business negotiated the cost of the lunches and did the best we could. Bagged lunches were $18 and included a turkey sandwich or a small salad or a veggie wrap. Each came with an apple and a bottle of water. Yes -- a turkey sandwich, an apple, and a bottle of water for $18. I complained, and told the catering that no one minds paying $18 for lunch (we were all getting reimbursements or per diem), and no one minds a sandwich with an apple and water for lunch, but paying $18 for such a small meal is nothing short of highway robbery. (I believe I told the woman in charge of catering that I questioned how she could sleep at night knowing she was charging such amounts for so little food). The following day they added a bag of chips and a cookie to the $18 meals, but not sure if our contracted meeting organizers had to pay for that extra food. I took pictures of the lunch and promised to post on trip advisor, so I encourage you to take a look at what I posted.

Other than that, all was fine. Great location, and courteous staff. I never got my newspaper at my door, as I had requested. Not sure what was up with that. I asked all three days to no avail -- one front desk clerk said it had to do with the way the reservation block of rooms was made.

BTW: if you are in a wheelchair you may want to check with the hotel about access. I am sure they are ADA compliant, but immediately after walking in the front door are stairs and escalator going down (no elevator). Not sure where access is for people in a wheelchair, so you may want to check.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malawimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#77 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,929 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#69 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Ave N.W., Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a full city block in the heart of Capitol Hill, 2 blocks from the U.S. Capitol and Union Station; walking distance to national and cultural attractions, restaurants and theaters. The hotel features a contemporary atrium lobby, Article One - American Grill restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing