We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for a overnight trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
The Burg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for a overnight trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Had a train trip to D.C. and this was our hotel for the night. Room was comfy with a view of the area. Went to the bar to get a sandwich for the room and the food was OK. Overall a great stay and would say here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randolph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful room accommodations. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    1,367
    625
    186
    93
See reviews for
827
577
179
1,501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Enjoyed my two day tour of DC. The Hyatt was within walking distance from the Amtrak station and all of the attractions in DC. Great fitness room and restuarant. Will definately be staying there again on my next train trip to DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. I'm happy that you enjoyed the all the amenities our hotel has to offer. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I love visiting DC and decided to visit again before school starts for my son. We took amtrak so I was able to avoid the parking fee. I'm glad we're not addicted to the internet like most people in this country because they charge for that too. The hotel is in a good location. We walked from Union Station to the hotel in about 10 minutes. When we got to the lobby I was very impressed. It's beautiful. There were two long lines at the check in counter but there was no one in line using the self check in kiosks and there were four of them. I used one and it took me about two minutes to check into the hotel and print my room keys out. Quick and easy. I don't know why people stood in line so long holding heavy bags instead of using the kiosks like I did. The room was nice and roomy but there's no microwave or mini refrigerator. It was clean and I didn't hear any noise from other rooms or from outside. I never take my shoes off in any hotel or motel so I can't tell you if the carpet was filthy or not. Basically it all comes down to this....you can pay a huge amount of money for a nice hotel that charges you to park, doesn't offer free wifi, no free complimentary breakfast, no microwave or refrigerator, and is only a skip and a hop from the national mall or you can go to a less pricey motel miles away that offers free parking, free complimentary breakfast, free wifi, a microwave and refrigerator in the room, and take the train or bus to the national mall for a small amount of money. The only reason I chose to stay here is because it's close to union station and the national mall. I wish there were motels close by but there aren't. There's a McDonalds a few blocks down the street and also one inside union station which has quite a few different places to eat. So if you just have to have the internet and don't want to pay $10 for it, you can go to one of those. We ate dinner in the restaurant in the lobby. It was okay. A little pricey but okay. Overall I enjoyed my stay but I'm not sure if I'll stay again. Maybe, maybe not. I don't know. If they either lower the room rates or offer something free like parking or wifi then yes definitely.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's convenient location. I'm also happy you were able to check into your room very quickly. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. We would love to welcome you back.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice .................... Very nice except the wifi should be free in the room altho in the lobby they have free wifi , excellent room service and cleaning services close to everything And very secure i stayed 1 week

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our excellent services. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel was clean and everyone was extremely friendly. The only thing I did not like was when I looked outside I looked at homeless people, and the ice machine was being used throughout the night which made a lot of noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank rosinat273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff. They are truly instrumental in our hotel's success and we are very lucky to have them. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

More than expected - excellent service, great comfortable and quiet rooms. The food was fantastic and the service was top notch. The Hyatt Regency was located within walking distance of so many sites we wanted to visit. Having arrived with such a large group (78 people) we expected total confusion at check-in. Much to our surprise everything was planned & executed like clockwork. Our travel director could not have picked a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. I'm especially thrilled to hear about the service you received during your time at our hotel. We have wonderful associates working with us and they are truly instrumental in our hotels success. I'm glad they were able to make your check in process so easy. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel was one of the most organized hotels that ASME has had their ASME Code week. The meeting rooms were not all over the place and things were very orgainzed and easy to find. It is in a decent part of the city of Washington DC with views of the Capital Building outside the front door.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so happy to hear that your event went so well and that you enjoyed your stay. I'm also happy that you enjoyed our wonderful location. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#69 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,041 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Ave N.W., Washington DC, DC 20001-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails in Article One. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our 24-hour room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing