We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's okay, but just”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
451 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“it's okay, but just”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

i really struggled with how to review this place, my plane was late and they obviously gave away my room because they gave me a wheelchair accessible room right off the elevator, which they seem to give single women. What's that about?

I had them move me, which they accepted, but that was a lower standard room and they charged me the higher price, I also hated he location. In a word yuck!

FYI: lobby smells like an old vegas casino

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Greetings ThatchersBiscuit,

I am so sorry to hear about the challenges you faced during your past visit to Hyatt Regency Washington. I am appalled that the hotel still charged you an upgraded price for a downgraded but I hope hotel management was able to assist you with this issue while you were in house. If not, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department. We look forward to assisting you with your next visit.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    1,488
    677
    204
    103
See reviews for
893
615
196
1,712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Road, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Hyatt capital is located on the DC capital hill. It is an old property and could be nice but for the poor maintenance and bad service. The hotel plumbing is bad and rooms have bad smell. However even after a complaint there is no action to clean the room. Even $300 room does not have a bath tub and the shower works some times

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BharatBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
It is disappointing to hear that your recent experience at our property did not meet expectations. I apologize your room was not cleaned daily. I have shared your comments with the Housekeeping Manager. I have also shared your comments regarding the plumbing and odor with our maintenance team. Please know this is not the sort of experience our guests should come to expect while staying at our property. I hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Washington to show you our true Hyatt hospitality.

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came for a weekend trip and the hotel itself was very nice. Rooms were very very clean and well kept. the downstairs grill has really good food..a tad on the pricier side, but not lacking in quality whatsoever. the location of the hotel was really good too with it being just minutes from the museums

We did have an issue with noise on our last night and were up basically all night and I did have to make a call down to the front desk in regards to the people "partying" at 3am in the hallway. Mind you, we did have a big drive home the next day as we live out of state so sleep was necessary. When we checked out I brought it to the attention of the manager and she did credit us towards our stay which I felt was very generous as I didn't even ask for a refund it was offered.

my only real complaint is that parking should be included...I did not know that it would cost me over 50 a night to park..I would be okay with maybe $20 a night to park, but over $50 is just excessive

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences from your past visit to Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. What great news, that you and your family really enjoyed this location and received awesome customer service. I am also very thrilled to hear about how management handle an issue so promptly and you left a every satisfed guest. We cannot wait for you to return.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed in this hotel while on a business trip for a week. This hotel is a typical american business hotel with no real suprises. Check-in went quickly in the large and inviting reception area. The lobby offers free wi-fi which is great. I just wished that the free wifi would be in the rooms as well. Its so outdated these days to charge for wi-fi.
There's a shop in the lobby that offers all you need inculding Starbucks coffee and some snacks. I got my breakfast here in the morning since I dont need much and it was not worth having the pricey breakfast that the hotel offers.
There's an ATM, PCs with printers, a shoe clean service and of course a hotel bar.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The only thing I was missing was a mini bar. There wasn't even a fridge in my room which is quite suprising for a hotel in this standard.

The location of this hotel is great and within walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Overall, the staff was very friendly. I didnt have much time to spend in the hotel. So for the time I was there, everything was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairytella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was perfect. The valet service was very efficient and polite, as the staff at the check in.
The fitness room was very well equipped, airy and one of the better I have ever tried (still sore muscels.... :) ). The rooms was large enough, and the bathroom very nice!
Waiting for the but? I find it a strange policy to charge wifi in the rooms, and quite a lot too. Free wifi in the lobby is ok, but this is the first hotel that will charge wifi in the rooms.
Breakfast buffet is also quite pricy.
Otherwise a very nice stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a business meeting. I was able to quickly get from the airport to the hotel using the Metro to Union Station, and then walking 5 minutes from the station to the hotel. I arrived very early in the morning (about 8:30), and my room was not ready, as expected. I left my bags with the friendly bell staff, and went to explore. They called me at 9:45 to say that my room was ready, far earlier than I expected.

The room was very nice. It was large and mostly comfortable. I found that the a/c was not efficient due to the curtains blocking the vents. If you sit near the window, it is cool. But the bed area was still quite warm. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large and very nice, and there were tons of outlets for plugging in electronics.

I did not plan to use the Wifi because of the charge (which I think is ridiculous). But I had a lower level room, and was able to access the free public Wifi from there. Bonus!

I did not eat here. Prices were quite high. There is a great cafe/deli next door (West Wing Cafe), and the prices were incredibly reasonable. There is a Starbucks nearby (cheaper than the Starbucks in the hotel lobby), but many other choices within a few blocks.

The location was perfect. An easy walk to the Capitol, the mall, and lots of restaurants, and others sights. It was also an easy walk from Union Station. I took a taxi to get back to the airport because the Metro wasn't running that early, and the fare was only $15.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful hotel. I'm very happy you enjoyed our convenient location. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team.

I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I loved the new check-in, check-out system and notification of room being ready. Staff was very professional. Food was very good during the meetings. The location of the hotel is with in walking distance to the metro and Capital Hill. Did not need to take a taxi at all. Plenty of restaurants with-in walking distance. I did not eat at the hotel only the food provided for the meeting. I recommend this hotel for business trips or if your just site-seeing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. I am delighted to hear how accommodating our location was for your business needs. We hope you have the opportunity to return to the Hyatt Regency Washington.
Best Regards,
Annah E., Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,479 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing