We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, in need for serious renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, in need for serious renovation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Friendly staff, in need for serious renovation.
Hotel is centrally located. Nice gym with flexible hours
Rooms are big and clean, but need serious touch up.
Hotel itself requires renovation.
Staff including all is extremely friendly

Room Tip: Not infront of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    1,456
    662
    200
    102
See reviews for
876
602
193
1,661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My friends and I were in town for the Odyssey Washington, D. C. Cruise for my sister's birthday. I booked the room at the Hyatt because of its proximity to the pier and convenient location downtown. The advance purchase rate was unbelievable ($89.95 plus tax)! Valet parking was $48/night, but for the room rate we paid we had no complaints. My sister parked at Union Station for $22/night, but you do not have in/out privileges (as you do at the hotel with valet parking). Union Station is only 2 blocks away.

Matt (valet) welcomed us as we arrived at the property. He was exceptionally friendly and helpful! Meagan welcomed us at the front desk and she made us feel like valued guest; her service was superb! Holly checked us out and she was friendly as well! She noted that she would be in our home state this weekend. I do not recall the name of the valet who delivered our car and helped with our luggage, but he was an older gentleman with a kind-spirit! As for service, this hotel exceeded our expectations...way to go Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill staff!!!

The room wasn't very large, but it was big enough to accommodate us. Our room was facing New Jersey Avenue. The Capitol was a few blocks (maybe 2 or so) from the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the shower was perfect!

While we did not have time to sight see, we could have easily access local attractions by foot or by Metro. Next time we're in the downtown Washington, D.C. area, we will staff here. Give this beautiful establishment a try!

Notes:
-There is no self-parking option on-site (only Union Station 2 blocks away).
-Starbucks located on the corner across the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPearl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share input on your stay with us. I’m so glad to hear you were able to stay with us at such an amazing rate and share your sister’s birthday celebration with us. It is great to hear that Matt, Meagan and Holly all did such an excellent job of welcoming you to the hotel and making you feel at home. I am pleased that you found your beds to be comfortable and our location to be so convenient for your cruise. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again on your next trip to DC.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent the last two nights at the Hyatt Regency on Capital Hill. Wonderful location to be near the mall. 2 blocks from our nations Capital Building and the start of one end of the Mall.
Made a reservation on Hotwire and this hotel popped up. Great rate except for the valet parking at $48.00 per night. The system to get the car is good and we didn't have to wait.
Check-in was on a kiosk that was fast and had us on our way to our King Room. Lighting was good, carpet clean, no smell in room or hallway, no noise from the outside or hallway. Overall a good room and experience.
All interaction with hotel staff from front desk, bellman, restaurants were pleasant and above average.
Would stay her again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The perfect location for getting around the city and sights while in DC. Short walk to Union Station for train, metro, bus, or to catch the next tour. Plenty of options to eat and shop at Union Station too, while taking in its beautiful architecture. I've been here numerous times over the years, and appreciate the renovations that have been made, although they were painful for guests during the process. There are plenty of meeting room spaces for hosting or attending large meetings held here. The staff are all friendly and helpful, and the hotel provides a lot of open areas with small sitting/gathering areas. The major drawback is that the restaurant struggles with large crowds during lunch breaks because of limited tables. And there needs to be a better method for moving large crowds up and down from the meeting level to lobby when meetings are adjourned. Maybe having both escalators going up for a short amount of time for a quicker exit? Ive seen it done quite efficiently at other hotels. Rooms are nice, beds are on the firm side. Will definitely be staying here again, as long as our meetings continue to be hosted here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

could have been a hotel anywhere anyplace, most things just okay; there were exceptions. The restaurant staff, especially at breakfast, were great, check-in staff were effective and friendly; generally service was okay plus. The hotel does feel as though it has come out of an IKEA hotel construction kit. rooms okay but look a bit tired, good convention facilities. So no real character – however just a few minutes walk from so many locations around the Capitol and that counts for a lot. And the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Capitol is a 10min stroll down the road. Great location for sightseeing. Rooms are modern and clean as you would expect. The concierge couldn't be more helpful, I had parcels arriving for me, they kindly helped even tracked the location for me. All-in-all we had a pleasant experience. Maybe one minor fault was the check-in. Had to queue for over 20mins even though we checked-in at 11pm, more receptionist needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutcha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Check in was easy and quick. The desk staff explained the Business Plan and where my room was quickly and professionally. I called housekeeping and spoke to Mark to have a blouse drycleaned. He had someone at the door before I could finish putting the blouse in the bag. The maid, Janice, insured my room was cleaned almost immediately after I left in the mornings so I could come back during breaks to freshen up. Neville and his staff in the restaraunt took excellent care of me at the restaurant. They even helped my friend with take out when we had to leave early for a spontaneous meeting. Their pan de higo almendrado was wonderful. As were the goat cheese and brie.
The concierge helped us find a movie theater and how to get there.
The location was very close to the hill for visits to legislators and union station for sight seeing. The whole trip worked out very well.

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor away from the elevator and such. There was no noise however the view was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding our staff at the Hyatt Regency Washington, DC. It is always a pleasure to hear that you were impressed by the excellent and efficient service offered during your stay. Please be assured that all staff members who helped on this trip will be recognized for his/her great job. I am glad that your whole trip worked out very well and hope to welcoming you in the near future for other Legislative Convention in the area.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,375 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing