We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good convention hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #73 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a convention hotel near train station and metro. Rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Never had to wait for an elevator. Check in and out was quick and easy. Recomment room on high floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsychSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,885 - 2,891 of 4,249 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am not a world traveler, or a very experienced one. However we enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt very much. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The beds and pillows were one of the most comfortable we have ever experienced in a hotel. We had a room with shower only, and for us that was a big plus, I hate nothing more than taking a shower in a tub with a shower curtain. We ate the buffet breakfast every morning, though a bit pricey, it was very good. They offered a vast amount of choices and the food was hot, fresh and plentiful. The hotel was a short walk to Union Station, and the Capital. Yes there is a homeless shelter near by, but the streets are very well patrolled and presented no problems walking past it. The Hop on trolley also picks up here, was saved you the short walk to Union Station. There were a couple of good places to eat nearby. overall I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel features large well furnished rooms. The room layout was strange. The TV faces the back of the work desk. The comfortable chair does not face the TV. The mirror is not aligned with the sink in the bathroom, etc. The room was clean but the HVAC was noisy. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The location is close to the Capitol but otherwise a bit far east of the major attractions. The homeless shelter and crossing over the highway create a bit of gauntlet for reaching destinations to the west. Walk in a group at night. The work out facilities have taken over a portion of the pool area but even then by 6:00 am most machines are occupied. Overall given the high standards of the Hyatt chain I rate this one average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loki_and_Odin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The location is great AS LONG AS you don't turn left when you walk out of the hotel. To the right the Capitol is a couple of blocks, Union Station is a short easy walk. But if you go the other way you may stumble upon the homeless shelter. Ok but wouldn't walk it at dark. Food is good, shower pressure is best by far out of any hotel I've stayed in.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a clean, well appointed hotel, located in the heart of the Capitol area and a short walk from Union Station. The room was large with a view of the street, bed was comfortable; bathroom was clean with the necessary amenities [although no shower mat], sufficiently long [albeit not wide] towels. I do resent paying for wifi -- 10/day for minimal wifi and 15/day if you want to stream.- but it was stable. There was a multi-plug outlet near the bed, but it was not near the nightstand. The hotel restaurant, reviewed separately, is surprisingly good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during the first week in September. This was a trip to D.C. with my mother. I am in my late 30’s and she is in her late 60’s. The location to Capitol Hill and Union Station was perfect. Both are within walking distance.

The customer service received from the front desk, concierge and restaurant staff was excellent.
The rooms were clean and modern. I would not describe the rooms as “luxurious,” however, “luxurious” was not my expectation. This is a great mid-tier property and my expectations were met. Unfortunately, we did not have a view of the Capitol Building.

Old Time Trolley had a courtesy stop in front of this hotel. This convenient shuttle stop allowed us to easily partake in the Monuments by Night tour and the Hop-On Hop-Off trolley tour.

Restaurants:
West Wing Café is a self-service sandwich shop across the street. The prices are cheaper than the hotel restaurant, but the customer service was bad. As a result, we only solicited the place once. We utilized the hotel restaurant for the duration of our stay. It’s a little pricey, but the food was good and the customer service was excellent.

I cannot comment on nearby nightlife, because that was not our focus. This property was perfect for a trip with my mom. If I was solely rating the rooms I would have given a 4, but coupled with the excellent customer service, my rating increased to a 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Capitol Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback. I am delighted to hear that you and your mother had a great experience at our hotel. We have a great location that perfect for visiting all the major sights and sounds D.C. has to offer. I have shared your kind words regarding the staff and their excellent service with our management team. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Washington in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 days while attending a meeting. The staff was great! There was a couple housekeeping issues and they went out of their way to help. Very impressed with how they handled it. Room service was great and quick!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#17 of 142 in Washington DC
358 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 142 in Washington DC
658 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 142 in Washington DC
4,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
1,572 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,192 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $111 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing