We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are going to offer free wi fi do it right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you are going to offer free wi fi do it right”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very friendly staff. Nice touch of the hotel to offer free interne access. The only problem is that it is worth what you pay for. There is not enough bandwidth so it is virtually useless during peak hours. You might be better off using your phone.

Also, yet another hotel that has removed coffee makers from the room. This is not a Motel 6. When you pay well over $300 for a room is it too much to ask for a coffee maker? At six in the morning, with a 7 am conference call looming, should you really have to get dressed and take an elevator into the lobby to buy coffee? Isn't there enough of a profit margin built into the price of the room to handle a coffee maker?

If you want a quiet room, ask for one facing the pool and not the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street and facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishkabibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    1,532
    695
    214
    108
See reviews for
929
634
199
1,769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during spring break. It’s on east end of national mall, 2 long block away from Union Station and US Capital. It offers a DC map marked with 5-min and 10-min walking radius. FYI, it’s about 2 mile from the tidal basin.

It has an unusual architecture, open atrium with stairs/escalator going up from lobby to street level. It has 2 sets of elevators on each side. Lower floor rooms can only be assessed with one side of elevators. The elevator is always quite cool, not sure why,

Room is of decent size with a business table, a sofa, LCD TV, safe but no fridge. Bed is a little bit on the soft side to my liking. It offers better than standard hotel toiletries with toothpaste but no shower cap (you can request). The nicest part is the water pressure of the shower. Unlike many hotel, it is strong with adjustable nozzle. The bathtub can be slippery and there is no handle to hold on when in/out of the tub.

Morning breakfast is good with typical selections. It includes bagel and smoked salmon, so that’s nice. Fruits are also good. The service staff is very attentive. You should opt for a breakfast package if available. The package only covers 2 persons. Each extra person will cost $21. There is a Starbucks (on E St) and West Wing Café (D St) within a block, so you do have other choices.

As a Hyatt Regency property, one will expect free Wi-Fi. Yet, one needs to pay ~ $11/night. For March and April though, there is free Wi-Fi offer. On premise parking is $45. Everything adds up quickly here. You can park on Union Station for a lower rate. If you are lucky enough, you may find street parking (2-hr limit at $2/hr). There is no such limit overnight and on Sunday. DC meter has confused and conflicting signs, pay with the most restricted one just to be safe.

The lobby staff is friendly and helpful. There was a mistake in my bill. They corrected it without much hassle. I appreciate that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with two young children. The hotel itself is not in the best location for getting around on foot but it is clean and comfortable. The staff however seem to really let this hotel down. On check in the bell boy was excellent and couldn't do enough for us but on check out it was a different story. My husband went to pick up the hire car whilst myself and two children waited in the lobby with the cases. We had checked out so he pulled up outside and came inside to collect us but unfortunately was interrogated by the outside by the valet/front entrance staff as to what he was doing and that he couldn't park outside. They then proceeded to watch myself , two children and my husband struggle with 4 cases and a pushchair up the escalator without lifting a finger to help but just stood there tutting about the car being outside . This incident alone will not encourage me to ever return to this hotel let alone book this hotel for my clients. On another note we were woken up at midnight by a phone call from the front desk asking if we requested a change of bedding which we didn't. After waking the whole family up we never got any apology for this great inconvenience even though my husband called the front desk to check it was a legitimate call . This hotel needs to sort out its customer service and learn from the other Hyatt in the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamcholet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was a Washington trip for a convention. There is really nothing remarkable about the property. It is typical Hyatt. What does make this special is its location. You are a few blocks from the capitol as well as a short walk from Union Station and the Metro.

My only comment is about the Hyatt's water saving plan. Most shower heads are rated at 2.5 gallons per minute. I think the ones at this property are even more restrictive and coupled with reduced warm water temp it was sometimes a challenge to get a decent shower. I applaud the conversation efforts up to a point and I think this Hyatt is bordering on what works and what may be taking the concept a little too far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall a nice property. clean rooms, nice interior, good staff. Not in the easiest walking/metro area, but OK. The other side of Capitol Hill is where the restaurants and bars are more common.

My only negative is the extras they charge are numerous and high.

Charge for WiFi/Internet in room - $11 or $12

Charge $350/day for WiFi in a Conference Room you already rented.

Charge $$$ for any IT support (projector, screen, etc).

Of course, this is a very expensive area (DC), especially in the Spring.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Even though I had read mixed reviews about the hotel, I convicted a group of friends to book our rooms (3) at this hotel for our kids Spring break vacation. Big mistake since they have many hit & misses at this Hyatt branded hotel.

HITS:
1. Good location to Capitol Hill Constitution Avenue
2. Karen, at the front desk was genuine and and sincerely trying to help

MISSES:
1. Rooms on the 2nd floor are noisy because of street noise and kids running to the pool on that level
2. Concierge at evenings is not helpful. When asked to assist in printing baseball tickets, he directed me to the printer were I got charged $20 for printing 12 pages.
3. Alarm went off at 12:30 am and no public announcement was made to indicate it was a false alarm. It wasn't until we were outside that found out through other guests.
4. Anthony, at the front desk, was cold and uncaring when we told him about our concern for the previous night's incident.

In his economy, the staff at hotels should be aware that travelers make a a lot of sacrifices to save up money and spend it on vacations. If not treated well, they simply won't return, just like I won't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

You cannot go wrong at the Hyatt Regency. The location is nice and off the beaten path with easy access to the Metro, Capitol, and Union Station. Taxi rides to the museums are inexpensive and easy to get to from the hotel. The dinner at Article One was superb!!
All employees were engaging and handling the big crowds well. Lots of kids everywhere right in the heart of DC.
The pool looks so so but who has time to swim around all of the other choices.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disney1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
271 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,150 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
496 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing